We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hotel,good location.”
Review of Orcagna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orcagna Hotel
Ranked #35 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel,good location.”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed for 6 days in this hotel and we were happy to choose it.It is a bit far from the historic centre but with bus n.14 we were there in 5 minutes.It is in a quiet ,residential area with a Coop super market nearby(very handy if you travel with kids) and lots of shops and trattorias(we went to La Taverna where the food was delicious).We stayed in n10 room(a triple )which was spacious enough for the 3 of us plus our 3 luggage.Towels were changed everyday and the older maid was very nice but the younger one with the rasta hair not so polite nor honest.We had a little incident with a small package of pistacchios that she said that we had taken from the mini-bar but in stead we even hadn't see that it was there.A word of advice:check the mini bar when you first enter the room because the last day we found out that another client had left in there a half empty bottle of wine.If also have the chance stay in a high floor because we were on the 1st floor and I was up every morning at 6.00 when the garbage truck was under our balkony.There are also rooms at the backyard which will be probably more quiet.We left our car in their garage(18euros/day) but if you are on the move and you go back to the hotel after 20.00 it is free to park in the blue zone.Signora Costanza in the reception was helpful and informative.She gave us good advice and helped us the best way she could.They also rent bicycles for 5 euros/day so you can visit the city easily cycling along the Arno river.We had non problems with mosquitos but we had our anti-mosquitos device so did the hotel room.The hotel is 2 blocks away from the river so you can have a nice walk after dinner.The only negative thing was the poor breakfast even for a 2 stars hotel.I come from Greece and even in small hotels you can find ham and cheese in breakfast but in this hotel no.There were only cereals,butter,honey, jam and precooked,heated sweet croissants.You could order your coffee which was nice.
All in all it is a nice,value for money hotel away from the city noise with the thousands of tourists!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lianaharala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    271
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
181
357
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here in April of 2010. We picked the hotel based on price, location and reviews, more or less in that order. It didn't dissappoint. While it is an older hotel, it did provide for a comfortable stay. Located on a quite urban street, we enjoyed having a nightcap on the small balcony, watching the locals coming home for the evening. The location is a pleasant walk to the duomo, but bus stop is nearby as well.
Having the mini bar made it possible to store cheese and olives for a snack. The breakfast was typical Italian fare, nothing substantial, but a good start to your day.
Probably the best part are the staff, always helpful with a smile. Made the stay a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzyKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Overall the hotel was just an ok experience, and we had one problem, the A/C was broken in our room. The hotel was full and they could not move us to another room. The temperature was 30C inside the room, it was cooler outside! After reporting that the A/C was broken they said someone would look into it the following day. It was not fixed, we never got an updated on what they were doing or if someone even tried to look at it, received not even an apology or anything.

The hotel is a little far from the main train station, taking about 30 minutes to walk. Because the bus that runs by the hotel makes so many stops, it is just as fast to walk the distance so we found it a little far.

On the plus side, the price was reasonable, and the day staff recommended an excellent restaurant nearby (osteria cocotrippone). The room itself was clean and the bed comfortable (except for the excessive heat from the broken A/C). The breakfast provided was adequate as well.

Next time we will try to find another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaming_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Receptionist at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear Customer,
we regret infinitivelyt for what happened at your room during your stay in our property .
It is true, we had troubles with the air conditioning system of one room in June but we solved the problem in a few days (sometimes the possibility to have a technic in case of urgent problem is very rare).

I hope that you will be understanding of this possibility and we can now guarantee to all future guests that all our conditioning systems are active and well operating now.
We hope to welcome you here again.

Best regards,
Costanza - Hotel Orcagna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in a triple room in mid-May 2011. Booked through booking.com for ~£110/night.

This hotel was quite a mixed bag. I did not expect a 2-star hotel to have as many facilities as it did. We picked the hotel due to reading previous reviews and having to make a compromise on price.

First of all please be aware that this hotel is quite a distance from the central train station, Santa Maria Novella; this is something we only found out when we arrived in Florence. You can take a #14 bus to get close to the hotel or take another train (destination - Arezzo) and get off at the first stop, Firenze Campo di Marte, and take the 15 minute walk from there. The hotel is situated in a residential area, about 15-20 minutes walk from the cathedral/city centre.

The daytime reception staff are friendly and speak good English but do be warned that although they operate a 24-hour reception, the gentleman who we encountered that appeared to be on duty between 8pm - 8am speaks very little English. One evening we had a problem whereby we had a hire car and wanted to obtain a permit to park the car in one of the parking bays close to the hotel. As the gentleman did not speak much English and my level of Italian was not at a high enough level to communicate what we needed, we were forced to park our car in an 8pm - 8am bay and take it back to the hire car agency at 7:30am on a Sunday morning. Now I am aware you cannot expect everyone in a foreign country to speak the same language as you, but I do not see the point of operating a 24-hour reception if you can't get some level of assistance.

The room was fine, clean, if a little dilapidated, and of a generous size. A double and single bed was provided, both of which were comfortable. In addition, the room had a safe, small fridge and air-conditioning; although the unit generated cool air and was perfectly adequate we did note that the part that directs the air current was broken.

The bathroom was a good size with a toilet, sink, bidet and shower. Some complimentary toiletries were provided. The shower was very disappointing with a poor flow and did not reach particularly high temperatures; the shower area was quite small meaning the shower curtain stuck to you whilst you were showering.

A simple continental breakfast was also provided with pastries and fresh rolls; no toaster was present.

One thing which the staff did for us which we are very grateful for is that they contacted us after we had checked out and travelled to Bologna to inform us we had left some keys in the safe.

In summary, the hotel was not as I expected but for a 2-star hotel there is a lot on offer, however, I don't feel our stay was value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillyhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We booked 4 nights at Orcagna, after reading reviews here on Tripadvisor. We booked room 51 with private terrace and sitting on the terrace looking at the Duomo was the best part of the stay. The view was amazing! The hotel staff were very helpful, gave us maps and information on our arrival. Room was clean and spacious. The breakfast could have been better. They only had cereals, croissants, bread, cheese and coffee (but it is a 2 star hotel after all so it was ok). Make sure to order a cappuchino or espresso from the waiter! We didn't realize they had that the first days (they made them in the kitchen). Much better than the american coffee on the table!

It is a 15-20 minute walk to the Duomo, along a shopping street. If you need a supermarket or pharmacy, you have it just around the corner.

It didn't feel like a 2 star hotel at all! I will definitely stay at Orcagna when I return!

P.S Dont miss the sunset from Piazzale Michelangelo (take a taxi from the hotel, not expensive at all), AMAZING view over the entire city!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_AJ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,271 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,896 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 422 in Florence
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 422 in Florence
2,026 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,673 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#41 of 422 in Florence
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcagna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcagna Hotel

Property: Orcagna Hotel
Address: Via Orcagna 57, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#44 Family Hotel in Florence
#66 Business Hotel in Florence
#69 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $95 - $472
Hotel Class:2 star — Orcagna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Orcagna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orcagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing