We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Ranked #186 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. Unfortunately, we had a room on the street side of the hotel and it was quite noisy (pedestrian traffic echoes up the buildings). The room itself was big and beautiful, but next time I will request a back room overlooking the quiet garden. Other than that, it was a wonderful place to stay with helpful staff. We thought that there would be someone who spoke English at the front desk (said the lonely planet) but when we were there no one did. But everything was ok anyway, and it was a FANTASTIC location. Definitely the best in that respect. I would recommend this place for sure. A very authentic Florentine place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a back room for quiet sleeps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel with two teenage children. We had a room with a queen & two single beds. It was large, quiet, delightfully decorated & perfect for us. We all loved it. Other reviews mentioned street noise - we didn't have any, although I was next to the bathroom wall, so was aware when the first guests had their morning shower. This didn't bother me. The location of the hotel could not be better. We were completely charmed by the hotel itself & Miranda & Silvana who were patient & kind about our many queries. We took up their offer to prebook tickets to the Accademia & Uffizi The hotel was really great value for our budget conscious family. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alial11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I went to Firenze with friends for the weekend. We are students and so we try to optimize a tight budget. Staying in the Orchidea was the best choice of the weekend. We were 3 girls and paid 25 euros per person for one room with 3 beds. We did not make any reservation beforehand and just booked the hotel by arrival. The hostess was very kind and took care of our bags while we were discovering the beautiful city. The hotel has a good location and so we came back to enter our room at 17.00 rest a bit and went out again. Check-out time was also very reasonable at 11.30 am. The only obstacle was that there are 2 shared bathrooms for all of the guests staying there. Although neat and cleaned one of my friends had trouble getting over that obstacle. Ans if you want to take a douche, you best bring your own towels.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximeMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This was the second time that we stayed here. Miranda, the owner of the hotel, was extremely helpful with whatever question we had. She was also able to get us into the same room we had last time. There is also a lot of information in the hotel foyer about trips that you can do, and a communal fridge. The hotel is situated right in the heart of things. It is a small walk to everything in Florence. The shared bathroom was always clean. We couldn't really find any faults for the value of the room. Other reviews have said that it is by a back alley and unlit. This is completely untrue as it is a pedestrian only area. Rooms have fans and huge windows.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, just request one away from the main pedestrain street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gralice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Nice location with cute, clean, character-filled rooms. In room basin, but all other bathroom facilities shared. I had a single overlooking the street which was a little noisy at night (lots of restauants/bars around here) but not an issue once I put some ear-plugs in. The rooms near the back of the hotel would be much quieter I imagine. I would definitely recommend to others looking for comfortable, budget accommodation in the center of Florence. Would be nice if they had a kettle with tea/coffee available.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are doubles at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#136 of 411 in Florence
674 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#208 of 411 in Florence
601 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
#184 of 411 in Florence
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#198 of 411 in Florence
306 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Cardinal of Florence
Hotel Cardinal of Florence
#179 of 411 in Florence
325 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#187 of 411 in Florence
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Orchidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Orchidea

Address: Borgo Degli Albizi 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $97 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Locanda Orchidea 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Wotif.com so you can book your Hotel Locanda Orchidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orchidea Florence
Locanda Orchidea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing