We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locanda Orchidea is a lovely place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Ranked #197 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Charming decor, cozy and centrally located. The hotel looks and feels more like a home, and the staff are friendly and helpful. I stayed in a single room facing the garden which was very quiet. I know this is not necessarily true of the rooms facing the street. Because the hotel is in an old building with old windows, my room was quite drafty and cold. But there were many layers of blankets and a duvet on the bed so I was very warm when sleeping. There are no meals served here but they have complimentary tea and coffee. It was really nice to settle into bed at night with a cup of hot tea and a book. My stay was very comfortable and I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Florence.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindabelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Locanda Orchidea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2007

Spartan but spotless hotel in a fantastic location in Florence. Stayed here for five nights and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a clean, centrally located hotel in Florence. Prices very reasonable and the proprietor was quite friendly and took my booking via email. My room overlooking the street was quite loud but tolerable. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank geoffk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Was a very quaint hotel/pension run by a friendly local. However keep in mind that it does not have alot of amentities - no internet/tv/aircon. However the price is very attractive. also keep in mind that in florence you really shouldnt be bothered with amentities because the city is so incredibly romantic and exciting on its own.

Sylvia, the owner, was helpful with arranging bookings to hotels and offering tips. The room was so so. Washrooms are shared and there is hot water. the hotel is run down however and could do with a makeover. the garden definitely needs some urgent TLC.

Overall a decent stay if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank expat247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2007

I stayed at this great family hotel in April 2007 during my 6 weeks trip around Italy, spending 4 days in Florence. Booked early and was able to have the single garden room, and what a delight that was. Walked from the station following the directions on the web site. The staff were very helpful and unintrusive. The medieval building with the huge wood door just exceeded my expectations about staying in the old part of town. My room was so cute, tiled floor, with a washbasin, a comfy doona covered bed, writing desk and chair and a huge window that opened onto garden. There was a comfortable lounge with coffee and tea facilities and I can tell you that is like gold to be able to make an early morning cup of tea and get back into bed with travel info to plan the day ahead. The location was excellent, near everything one required, internet cafe, just a stroll to the Ponte Vecchio, Palace Veccho, Ufitzi, Bargello, with plenty of little supermarkets and coffee shops around, not to mention the gelati shops. I could have lived in this room for ever. The bathroom was shared but never a problem as there was another bathroom one could use in another part of the hotel. It was a pleasure to come home at the end of the day and find a warm, clean and comfortable place to lay one's head, Lots of helpful information pinned up in the little lounge and ones own key to come and go as I pleased. I would highly recommend this accommodation to a lone traveller on a budget, I always felt safe and doubt if one could fine a place to stay in Florence that give such good value. I can't wait to return to Florence and stay in this little haven.

Stayed: April 2006
1  Thank iitaliangodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2007

I was recommended this hotel by a friend of mine. I wanted a well priced, family-run hotel in the heart of the city. Locanda Orchidea was a perfect match. Although the room was basic it was a good size and very clean, as were the shared bathrooms. The service was friendly and I found the staff extremely helpful - offering me tips on what to do, where to go and what to see. The location was absolutely perfect. I just stepped outside the door and I was in the heart of it all - a stone's throw away from all the major sights.

It's not easy to find a standard hotel in a major city which offers good quality service, clean rooms, prime location AND all at a great price but Locanda Orchidea satisfies on all accounts.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelinaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#141 of 411 in Florence
660 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#213 of 411 in Florence
169 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#203 of 411 in Florence
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#205 of 411 in Florence
106 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#200 of 411 in Florence
592 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Cardinal of Florence
Hotel Cardinal of Florence
#183 of 411 in Florence
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Orchidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Orchidea

Address: Borgo Degli Albizi 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $97 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Locanda Orchidea 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Locanda Orchidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orchidea Florence
Locanda Orchidea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing