We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
340
223
54
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
223
54
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia faenzatrain stationyogurtno lifthome away from homelovely little hotelrecommend hotelfirst floorquiet streethotel is locatedroom was clean and comfortablemain stationthe hotel staffyour luggagewould definitely stay here againenjoyed my stayprivate bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was lovely. You do have to drag your bag(s) up one flight of stairs in order to check in, but other than that, no real complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvh119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Hotel Marios is located within metres of the Santa Maria Novella train station which makes it very convenient for transport. It's only 5 minutes walk from the Duomo, markets etc. and only a few minutes further to the Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi Galleries. There are many restaurants just below the hotel so food is never far away.

CONS:
The hotel has retained lots of original features which I think adds to its unique charm. However, if you think you'll enjoy brand new furniture, plasma screens and outdoor pools etc. more then this probably isn't the hotel for you.
The breakfast is fine but not the greatest. There is no orange juice but red coloured sweet sugary water instead. You get square ham, cheese, yoghurt, one type of cereal, white rolls and a small range of packaged biscuits. There are also boiled eggs on offer if you make it before 8am! The exception was the coffee which is freshly brewed and of course, great.
The Wi-Fi is relatively expensive at €3 an hour - you're better off using the internet cafe 2 minutes down the road for €1.50 an hour.
There is no lift so be prepared to carry your bags up some stairs - not a problem as it's only on the first floor but those with mobility issues may struggle.

PROS:
I've mentioned the traditional decor including wooden beams and shutters in addition, the bathroom is clean and modern with power showers. The rooms are very clean and cleaned daily as you'd expect.
The location as mentioned is great. The Via Faenza is safe at night and obviously home to lots of other hostels and hotels so packed with tourists milling about. People mention that the area around the train station is a bit sketchy at night. Despite the hotel's proximity to the station the area still feels very safe.
The staff are very friendly here. They are very knowledgeable about the area, speak good English and nothing seems to much trouble when looking for recommendations or information. They're quite relaxed in appearance but offer service which is well on par with much fancier hotels. Our air con stopped working one night during an extremely hot night. We were put into another room and an electrician called the next day to fix it very quickly. Inconvenient and unfortunate but staff were apologetic and helpful.

We chose Hotel Marios mostly because of its relatively low cost and high popularity rating. I think it deserves this. It isn't cheap compared to hotels in other cities but Florentine hotels are expensive so I consider this good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Me and my wife we stayed in this hotel for one night. We have arrived from Rome by train and got down in . SMN railway station. Mario hotel is just 100 meters away if you choose a right exit from railway station. You should choose the bus station exit. The map on the hotel website is not that very clear. Cross the bus station and follow the map.

Entrance to the hotel is very small and you can easily miss the one if you are not that careful. When you enter, you need to climb to the first floor to reach reception. There was no one and I have to ring the bell. This was at 11:00AM.

The only bad thing is that there is no lift. So you have to carry yourself upstairs. It is very narrow and will be a challenge if luggage is very heavy or you are old to carry them. Receptionist will help you. In our case, he carried the heavy suitcase up some 20 stairs. Good.

Receptionist opened the door and check-in was complete. Since they did not had the room ready, we kept our luggage and wanted to roam in Florence. He gave all the details to see Florence, guidance and also gave some print outs with Florence history. We followed the advice including the restaurant choice. Just perfect.

Next day morning 6:00AM, we checked out. Receptionist gave us the Pisa map and directions to reach the tower. Also he gave us the Pisa history and other details to read in the train. All perfect.

Our room is very cosy, and we had a good sleep. Rooms are clean,and just perfect for a one night stay. We recommend if you are going to stay for a day or two. and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harishlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

A very nice family run hotel , the staff are very helpful and gave us wonderful restaraunt reccomendations and helpful advice re trains and buses. The room was spotlessly clean and although very small perfect for what was a sightseeing break.The closeness to the train and bus station is also a big plus,less than 5 minutes walk from SMN station .The attractions are all close by and I have to say that we would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I have stayed here so many times over the past 6 years I have lost count! I have also stayed in other Florence hotels, but this one wins my heart. The 3 young brothers that own and run it are eager to assist you with luggage, restaurant and tour reservations, a glass of wine in their cozy lobby, or any request you have. Nice breakfast with coffee/cappuccino. I suggest a room that is not on the street side. A walk straight up Via Faenza takes you to the duomo, and it is only 2 blocks from the train station and the San Lorenzo market and the Mercato Centrale. One of the best deals around, with the most sincere service.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews