We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , food terrible, staff friendly”
Review of De Lanzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Lanzi
Ranked #222 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This was in a great location, the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms were very clean but a little old and tired looking. If you don't eat here it would be a great place to stay. The breakfast was very poor. I couldn't eat anything even fruit was frozen , cheese was dry and old and the bread stale. plenty of cafes for a nice breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 158 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

The hotel is in a GREAT location, it is steps from Piazza del Doumo and walking distance from the Historic City Center (Piazza Segnoria, Uffizzi, Ponte Veccio) and the Train Station. We agree with other Trip Advisor Guests we did love the location!! The service was good but future guests need to know the hotel is VERY simple and the rooms seem old, breakfast is very plain and not very tasty. The biggest complaint we had was that they seem to turn off the AC in the middle of the night and we woke up a couple of times sweating. Also they turn the AC off at around 8:30 am so it is hot/humid while you are getting ready/dressed. Because of the heat of the Italian Summer this, to me, was extremely annoying (I understand they want to save electricity but it should not be done at the expense of the guest's comfort. We had to call the front dest continuously to have them turn on the AC (There is AC control in the room but it does not really work) If they address the AC situation I would rate them higher. Also, as other Trip Advisor members pointed the GROM gelatto shop across from the hotel was AMAZING, a must have!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Excellent location, just off the Duomo and quite easy to find. Definitely would recommend this to anyone visiting florence as you cannot get better location than this. I was suprised how quiet it was inside, (but the cathedrale rings at 7am and 8am in the week and at 8am on sundays, but didn't find this a problem for the excellent location). Air-con worked, Clean room and ensuite bathroom clean (cleaned+stocked daily), breakfast was good, bread, crossiants, some ham/cheese and coffee/hot chocolate and juice limitless. Staff were friendly and spoke good english. A good place to stay for a city-break, reliable, safe and clean. ps A self-coding safe in bedroom which was handy! I booked this through lastminute.com.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

One block from the Duomo, yet quiet. Decent rooms and bathrooms. Very clean and an excellent value. A/C did not work in one of our two rooms. Friendly staff and an average breakfast buffet. Pet friendly. 5 euros extra for wi fi.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collazzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This hotel was pretty difficult to find. We found the street, but the numbers are all out of order, so we pretty much knocked on every door on the street asking for this hotel. In the night however, you can probably see it quite easily from the tacky neon lit sign. When we walked in, I was pretty disappointed from what I saw from the photos, but sheets and bathroom were clean, which were most important. The decor was just very dated.
The location is wonderful. From the breakfast room, you can see a small sliver of the Duomo, which is great when you want to take a mid-day shower. Breakfast was included, and it was pretty good, with coffees, teas, fruit, pastries, salami and cheeses, yogourt, etc
One thing to note though is that the staff is completely useless. We asked for directions to a restaurant, and the young man pointed us in the complete wrong direction... we asked the hotel to book advanced tickets to Uffizi and they couldn't, and didn't follow up on it, so we had no idea whether it was booked or not. Only the morning staff (the manager) handled things, so if you asked anyone else, they weren't able to help. We asked to change the room because the air conditioning wasn't strong enough and was told to ask the manager the next morning, we asked about the Chianti wine tours, and they didn't know the price, etc
Overall, we think this hotel was pretty reasonable, it was good value. If they had free internet access I would be tempted to give it a 4-star considering its price but the lack of internet and service did prove to be a little inconvenient.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTravelBugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#169 of 410 in Florence
401 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#203 of 410 in Florence
594 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#220 of 410 in Florence
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#349 of 410 in Florence
214 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#213 of 410 in Florence
680 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#302 of 410 in Florence
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanzi

Address: Via Dell'Oche 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $103 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Lanzi 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Lanzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanzi Florence
De Lanzi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing