We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #35 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, very friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I just spent 3 nights in Florence, staying at Hotel Alessandra. The location is even more convenient than I imagined. It is one short block from the Arno River, one long block from the Ponte Vecchio, and a few minutes walk to the Palazzo Vecchio and Piazza della Signoria. It was magical to conveniently walk around the old Renaissance streets and have ready access to most of the best sights of art and history in Florence. When I look for accommodations, I look for (1) interesting architecture and (2) wifi (free, if possible.) This hotel had my requirements and more, with very welcoming personnel as well. The room was comfortable, with a private bath and shower. The only drawback is the walk up one flight to the tiny elevator that went to the next flight where the hotel office is located. No big deal as long as you have no problems with steps. It actually lent more charm to the place. Every employee we interacted with was very friendly and accommodating, helping us with any questions and gave good advice about the rest of our trip. I would come back here in a heart beat. I have a rule that each time I visit a foreign city, I like to stay in different neighborhoods in order to learn the city better. I would have a hard time not returning to this place if I am fortunate to return to Florence.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ArtLover27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
We completely agree that our stairs add charm to the building, and we're so glad you feel that way! We wouldn't be Hotel Alessandra without them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    450
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
347
809
149
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had a fantastic time here on our honeymoon; after getting off the train and stumbling up the four flights of stairs, we were greeted by the fabulous Monti, who welcomed us with a little bottle of Prosecco. The room was very spacious, although nothing fancy; bed was comfortable. The location of this hotel is central to everything in Firenze and for an excellent rate. Would definitely stay again. Would not recommend for anyone with a disability, as the elevator is accessed only after 1 1/2 flights of stairs!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbinoSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
We're so honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us! Wishing you many years of happiness in your marriage, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We have just spent two weeks staying at Hotel Alessandra and would highly recommend this delightful pensione right in the centre of Florence. Andrea and Anna made us very welcome and they were always happy to assist with any questions about places to visit and local restaurants etc. The night concierge were also welcoming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and cosy. We have stayed in this pensione before and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
Thank you for choosing us time and time again, we're always so glad to have you! Come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Clean, comfortable rooms. Extremely spacious by European standards! The furniture is a little dated but does the job. Great location. Should warn the hotel is located on the third floor of the building with a tiny, tiny lift. Also one flight of stairs leading up to the lift. Didn't bother us as staff were on hand to help us carry bags up the stairs - but may bother some. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - rare for many italian hotels! A special thank you to Monty who's charm and service is exceptional. Highly recommended. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine1_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
We're glad that our stairs didn't bother you, we like to think they're part of our charm! We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Nothing better than telling my friend: Must not miss Florence if you travel to Italy, must not miss this hotel if you visit Florence.
Friendly, attentive and helpful staff made my trip with such a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor in advance if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xiaopengabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
Thank you so much for your kind recommendation! We hope you come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): $135 - $291
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing