We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Rooms, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #40 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

My wife and I loved staying at the Hotel Orto de Medici for our honeymoon. The staff was amazing, and decorated our room with an open bottle of champagne, some salted peanuts, and a note wishing us a happy honeymoon. The room was very spacious and not at all cramped. The hotel is amazingly close to the Academia Gallery, and the walk to other locations isn't bad at all. We had some issues with the wi-fi when we went to watch Netflix at night, but the hotel staff was very great about getting our issues resolved. With that said, the only reason this hotel gets a four instead of a five is because the wi-fi, even once fixed, seemed to have bandwidth issues (it would go from high-speed to a crawl, then back again). Overall, a great hotel with spacious, elegant rooms that is within great walking distance to most of Florence's attractions and has a great staff.

Room Tip: Spring for the deluxe room with garden view. It's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Spencer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Spencer,
Thanks for your great review! Especially for the positive mention to staff and the room! Your note about the wi-fi has already been registered and the issue has been solved. We apologize for the inconvenience!
Thanks for visiting us!!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 2,280 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Hotel Orto De Medici is a very comfortable hotel a short walk from both the centre of town and the railway station, excellent value for money with very helpful staff. Good breakfast provided - but sometimes a little cramped.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Waverley392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Really nice hotel, with friendly help on the desk, fantastic location near Piazza San Marco , beautifully quiet, enormous room overlooking the garden. We didn't think the breakfast quite lived up to the rest of it however.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Martha,
Thanks for your great review. Thanks from all the staff for your positive mention and for the sugegstion you leave.
Grazie! Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

A great break lovely rooms ,great service , bathrooms clean and fresh,very convenient for getting around Florence. Good breakfast and little bar on terrace was lovely . Staff all seemed pleasant and very happy to help .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gillb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Found this hotel on the tripexpert.com site. My husband and I stayed here for three nights in late September/2017. The hotel is in a great location with easy walking to art museums, historical sites and restaurants. Located on a quieter street and offers rooms overlooking the inner courtyard, so you can be assured of a more peaceful stay. Modern amenities in a nicely appointed setting . The reception staff are welcoming and helpful with directions and recommendations. Our garden level room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, with one of the largest bathrooms we've ever seen while travelling in Europe, however a note to hotel maintenance to repair the lower wall near the shower (water leakage/damage and possible source of mildew odour).
Concur with other guests' comments that the breakfast room does get very busy and congested, and the table placement right up against walls meant not all spaces could be accessed......this seemed to bring out some bad manners by a few grumpy diners.....
Aside from that, we would stay here again and recommend to others. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard/garden are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laurelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Laurelle,
Thanks for visiting us and leaving your feedback. We do appreciate your suggestions and we thank you for all the appreciations you leave about the staffa and the convenient location.
Grazie!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,418 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,883 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 410 in Florence
1,241 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#38 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: AU$148 - AU$384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing