We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #40 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a fabulous time in Florence, and the Orto De Medici was a great place to stay. We had two rooms, one for my new husband and myself, and a triple for the kids and my mom. The triple was a fabulous room, huge for the three of them, it was great!! Breakfast was great, and as I said the location to everything was a short walking distance. Would stay there again!

Thanks to the staff! 8-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkhenjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Dear Guest, thanks for the review. For families we actually have large triple and quad rooms, including a great Junior suite room, which can fit up to 4 people. We don't have connecting rooms, but the hotel is rather small, so floors have no more than eight rooms or less each. And all the rooms have telephone you can call room to room for free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,189 - 1,193 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

My family enjoyed our stay at Orto De Medici, which was recommended to us by friends. The neighborhood was handy to sights, the train station, a plaza with bus stops and the market. There were several good restaurants nearby that weren't too expensive. The breakfast room gave us lots of choices for food, coffee and juice and a relaxed setting in which to start the day. One day when I was too tired to walk much further I stayed back and read on the shady upper terrace, which was a welcome and tranquil oasis. Having internet access downstairs (two computers) was very helpful and there are pleasant public spaces on the two lower levels. Our rooms were somewhat small and a bit dark but perfectly comfortable, and the bathroom facilities were spacious and clean. We were never troubled by noise from the street or other guests and really enjoyed the sense of peace the hotel offered. Staff at the front desk were helpful and courteous. Nice spot.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Madame,
Thanks a lot for your review! I am pleased to read you enjoyed many features of the hotel, especially the breakfast, which was recently reprogrammed, with more variety of food, new design of the room and a new welcome staff to help you not to quickly find the nicest table for you.
I hope you will have the chance to recommend us when your friends will come to Florence. Thank you.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed for 5 nights on the deluxe room with garden view. The staff is very helpful and promptly. The room is quite, big and very comfortable. The breadfast is above average because it has much more choice (juice/coffee/expresso/corn flakes/fruits/prosciutto/croissant) than a continental breadfast in America. The only exception is the entrance of the door is a little narrow.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Guest, I am very pleased to read your special appreciation for the choice at the breakfast. The breakfast room and the service has been recently renovated and I am pleased to find we found a good way of improving. Thank you!!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed for 3 weeks, and would definitely recommend this hotel. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming, and always helpful. I studied across the road at the art school so location was extremely convenient. Its a short walk from the Duomo, and many other beautiful attractions Florence has to offer. I stayed in one of the deluxe rooms just off the garden, size was perfect and rooms were clean, bright and well decorated. I enjoyed the continental breakfast on the terrace, and staff were always friendly. I will definitely be coming back here, thanks so much to everyone at the Hotel Orto De Medici for a truly memorable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Printmaker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Thanks to you for your friendly feedback. I am glad to read you enjoyed the stay in deluxe room. We look forward to seeing you back to Florence, then. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Our extended family (grandparents, parents, and adult children) booked three rooms for a weekend in June. We were very pleasantly surprised by this little gem of a hotel! We had previously spent a week at an incredibly lovely villa in Chianti, so we were expecting a bit of a let down. Not so. After returning our rental car to the airport (forewarned to avoid driving in Florence at all costs), we hailed two taxis ~ think NASCAR drivers on steroids ~ and literally flew to the hotel. After prying my mother-in-law's finger nails out of the back of the seat, we collected our luggage and entered the lobby..... ahhh, air-conditioned serenity, subdued lighting, and a cordial reception; a good start. Even though it was before noon, we were able to check-in to our rooms. Although all were of a decent size, the garden room was by far the superior choice; with upgraded furnishings and amenities. My favorite feature of the Hotel was the interior garden courtyard (with fountain, terraces and lounge chairs with umbrellas), a fantastic respite from the bustling city, just a stones throw away. Great location, a block from San Marco Plaza, and two from Accademia; ten minute walk from the Duomo, and twenty from the Ufittzi. A plethora of restaurants are within an easy walk. As an added surprise/treat, we sat down to breakfast right next to our down-the street-neighbors (had no idea they were in Florence) who bragged that "the Orto" is the ONLY place they stay. Hmmmm, it's a small world after all...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmGoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Guest, thanks for your nice review. It was funny to read it. I just don't understand why if you say had a very pleasant stay at the hotel, you liked the garden, the location, the breakfast, then you rate us 4 out of 5 points.. Just curious. Maybe it was a mistake, but the most important this is to read you nice memories of Florence, with a lot of suggestions for next guests. Thank you!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,833 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 409 in Florence
1,192 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 409 in Florence
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#23 of 409 in Florence
2,021 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 409 in Florence
830 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $137 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing