We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big roooms, nice walk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Firenze Anglo American
Ranked #112 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Big roooms, nice walk”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed in two rooms in January 2012 with good winter prices. The room and bath are of outstanding size, The hotel is an adaptation of an old convent and has some nice common areas, like the bar and room to have breakfast. But its location is not inside the historical center. We did most of the walking to the center through the beautiful edges of the Arno river. Only once we took a taxi to a restaurant but returned walking. For those who are travelling by car, it can be easier to park, due to the quieter neighbourhood. When we arrived, the taxis were on strike but we could reach the hotel walking from the station. We passed through a not so beautiful area but the street where the hotel is located is nice, with sophisticated hotels around. The hotel will be kind to recommend some restaurants around the neighbourhood that may help you to feel a little less touristy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augusto53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    519
    217
    71
    55
See reviews for
219
548
48
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
706 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed several nights. The rooms are big, very comfortable beds. But rooms are old designed, wallpapers need to be replaced. In general, it was ok.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Great location. Quiet and a nice area. The hotel did not however live up to the four stars. The room was huge and clean but with a slight worn feeling to it. It felt as it's heyday had come and gone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is above street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x_simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel we had to wait about 30 minutes in a que before we could check in, we were not sure if this was because the staff were slow or if the people checking in had a list of demands. When we arrived in our room it was decent and a good size, for the price we paid for two nights we could not complain. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the Duomo and most of Florence's main attractions. We probably would not have picked this hotel if were were choosing ourself, but we got a great deal using a mystery hotel website. Overall a little far away from everything but a decent stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights after getting it booked via Priceline. The moment we got the booking, we searched for reviews on TripAdvisor and found mostly negative comments. That was a bad sign but we thought, 'Hey, how bad can a branded hotel be?'. We were about to be proven wrong. I will get down to a list of things of what makes this such a terrible deal.

What can bake your noodle:
1. The fact that you can get other great hotels booked at the SAME price in Florence.
2. The building is old and the rooms have that slightly antique look. Thats fine for me. But is that an excuse for having really bad bathroom fittings? or door handles?. I had to pluck out the sink stopper as it was collecting water in the wash basin (yes this is a branded property)
3. The room cleaning seemed to be done by an extremely disinterested person. All the things were usually just bunched and thrown together on the chair and the bed seemed badly put together. It just makes you pissed off after a long tiring night to notice these little things.
4. The breakfast! They had a spread which looked decent, but only on the surface. It was old and smelly and the worst breakfast I have ever seen served in a hotel. The sausages were old, the bacon was suspect, the eggs smelled so badly that I couldn't put a spoonful in my mouth.
5. They dole out free internet in the lobby for 30 minutes and you have to keep going back to the desk to ask for more. Then they give you a ,Shoo beggar shoo' stare.
6. The staff is mostly disinterested in you and it depends solely on their mood as to how they behave with you.

I am an extremely resilient traveler, but seriously, i am not paying money in an NH property to get my patience tested. I am here for a holiday and not live in a grubby hotel overflowing with apathy. Everywhere you look you notice that the whole staff is demotivated, the cleaning sucks, the breakfast is horrible, the doors creak, the beds move when you lean on the wall with your back. I mean cmon!

Good thing:
1. Location is in a nicer part of Florence, which doesn't look like a grubby cousin of Rome, close to the city center and Ponte Vecchio. But there are other good properties around and if you choose this, I gaurantee you will rue your booking whenever you pass through one of the beautiful quaint hotels thinking 'I could have booked this instead'

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 422 in Florence
987 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 422 in Florence
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#126 of 422 in Florence
777 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 422 in Florence
1,119 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#85 of 422 in Florence
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Firenze Anglo American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Firenze Anglo American

Property: NH Firenze Anglo American
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 9 | Porta al Prato, Borgo Ognisanti Area, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Anglo American)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#115 Family Hotel in Florence
#116 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $155 - $332
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Firenze Anglo American 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Firenze Anglo American is set in a quiet yet central location in Florence, between the Lungarno area and Borgo Ognissanti. The classically-styled hotel preserves all of its unique original features and reflects a fascinating age of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Firenze Anglo American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Anglo American Hotel Florence
Nh Hotels Florence
Nh Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing