We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience & Quality; Would Stay Again”
Review of Hotel Boccaccio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Boccaccio
Ranked #216 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Florence, especially the historic center, is a very compact and walkable city. With so many of the best attractions and even local favorites in such close proximity, convenience and location are key when choosing your accommodations.

The Hotel Boccaccio is located only a few steps away from the main entrance to Santa Maria Novella Station, which is Florence's main transportation hub. This convenient location makes it possible to arrive by train & be luggage free, and ready to explore the city, in a matter of minutes. In addition to the rail station, nearly all of the major rental car companies are very close by to create a moderately stress free exit of the city when venturing out to see the Tuscan countryside.

The Boccaccio certainly does not specialize in luxury lodging, and at times the reception staff could stand to be a little more patient and polite, but overall is a great choice for a short stay in Florence. Rooms are well maintained and have adequate space. The breakfast buffet is sufficient and comfortable for guests.

If you are looking for affordability, good quality, and convenient location, Hotel Boccaccio is among the nicest lodging options in the area.

Room Tip: Consistantly great online rates that may be better than directly contacting the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _MichaelGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Boccaccio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 123 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed with friends, the location was excellent, so close to the train station and very easy to find. The reception staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them (I had trouble with bank ATMs and they were so polite and helpful, I really appreciated it). The rooms and bathrooms were a really good size and very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend Hotel Boccaccio - good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

and the staff was delightful. Great breakfast, and we loved the terrace -- a great place for wine at the end of the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Boccaccio with a group of friends on our last night in Italy. One couple was leaving from the train station the next day so we opted to stay near there. The rest of us flew out, and the hotel arranged for a van to take us so we could all go together instead of in multiple taxis. The hotel staff also booked our tickets for the Accademia and the Uffuzi. The location isn't too far from the Duomo.

The breakfast was typical, but good luck on getting a 2nd cup of coffee. We don't drink coffee, but the man next to us wanted a 2nd cup and was told no. He offered to buy a cup and was told no again. I thought that was very odd.

The rooms were very standard, but this hotel was the 1st one we had on our trip that had a constant water temperature while you were showering. That was nice.

I can't say it's the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but it's far from the worst! We'd stay there again if we needed to be close to the train station. Noise from the street was minimal.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here 2 nights. The hotel is very nice - rooms and lobby are nicely decorated. Great location - across from the train station and 10 minute or less walk to Duomo and tourist district. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Nice breakfast included - assortment of breads, yogurt, cheeses. Bathroom was nice - no issues with hot water, etc. Located on a busy street but did not notice the street noise at night. Lots of restaurants within a few blocks. There is a wonderful tour agency around the corner - a very sweet, helpful woman runs it. She gave us a wonderful restaurant recommendation.

My only complaints was that their computer for paid internet was difficult to use - had an old keyboard that made typing slow - very frustrating when you are paying by the minute. Also, one of the blankets on my bed was really stinky - that kinda grossed me out. If I was traveling alone, I would not walk the neighborhood alone at night - a little shady.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#183 of 411 in Florence
698 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#167 of 411 in Florence
393 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#82 of 411 in Florence
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#115 of 411 in Florence
123 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#137 of 411 in Florence
817 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#88 of 411 in Florence
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boccaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boccaccio

Address: Via della Scala 59, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $112 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boccaccio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boccaccio is in the heart of the historic city centre, a stone's throw from the railway station, from Piazza Duomo and from the Church of Santa Maria Novella. The extremely recent and diligent re-structuring, valorized by the original Carrara marble, has made the presence of more modern comforts possible harmoniously combined with the authentic Florentine style. Elevator, internet point, garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boccaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boccaccio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing