We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Ranked #129 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“March 2012”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was what I would consider a lower option. Although it was clean which is my first priority, the furnishings could be updated and the floors are tiles (cold). The room itself was darker than I like, but in staying with the "theme" of the hotel it was okay. After looking at the pictures on the site, I was very unsure, but having stayed there I will admit that I could do it again. The staff was very helpful. Our original room was on the fifth floor and it looked like a converted attic I think. When I asked for a lower floor, there was no problem and changed immediately.
Breakfast was good and the breakfast room was clean. Large lobby, but furnishings there too were reminiscent of my great-grandmothers'.

Room Tip: 3 blocks from the train station. Cab cost 12 euro coming, but going back we walked and it was easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valrieabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    381
    176
    30
    11
See reviews for
229
320
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Good location near the train station and within blocks of all of the major sights in Florence and next door to the outdoor leather market. Great price, nice size rooms, breakfast was ok but the cappuccino was really good, you have to ask for it. We were able to store our luggage with the front desk for a small fee while we toured the city. Be sure to climb to the top of the tower at the duoma for a small fee for a great view of the city. Florence is a great walkable city and this hotel is close to it all.

Room Tip: The quad rooms are very large, 1 king and 2 twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cadillac5549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/ Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very well located with easy access to the train station and all the sights. It was great walking straight out into the market as there was always a certain hustle and bustle going on. The room was fine, simple and clean with a big bathroom. It did show it's age a little and could do with a lick of paint - the decor was also very dark which doesn't help.
The hairdryer is fairly useless - but that's a minor niggle.
The staff are helpful and charming, breakfast is fine but having lived in Italy I do find 'continental' breakfasts rather lacklustre.
Generally this is a sound, mid-range hotel in the centre of Florence with clean sheets, hot water and nice staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catcalraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Very clean and well run hotel. The staff are efficient, friendly and courteous. Continental breakfast had a good range. The rooms were very clean with tiled floors and good decor but a little dark. A slight niggle was the 700 watt hairdryer which was useless - definitely bring your own travel one. It was unusually cold for the time of the year - unfortunately the heating in the rooms had fans which were too noisy to leave on all night but an extra blanket was provided aand we were warm enough. The location was perfect only a five minute walk to the train station and a few minutes from all the main attractions.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room which was around an atrium so not near the road and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Travelled with senior parents 80 and 78. They loved it! We stayed for 6 nights and took our time. You will need an afternoon for each of the musuems.
Makesure to sit and watch in Piazza di Signoria near the Uffizi.

Hotel is Very convenient. Close to the train station - a 5 minute walk.
A stone's throw to the Duomo. Close to the Galleria, and the Uffizi, and the Ponte di Vechio bridge.
Lobby was very inviting. Location superb! around the corner 5 leisurely minutes the Duomo- brilliant in the day ; enchanting at night. So close to the hotel.
Staff: Very helpful.
Rooms: Very clean, bathroom very spacious, ample toilettries.
Fridge in the room
Negative: No coffee maker in the room
Breakfast : A bit cramped. Tables are too close. Food is ample. Ask for Capuccino you will get it. Breakfast staff are courteous and obliging. They are overworked at breakfast.

The Galleria museum (The David) is only a 15 minute leisurely walk from the hotel.
The Uffizi is 20 minutes or less from the hotel...again a leisurely walk...pass the Uffizi and you will get to the famous Ponte Vechio bridge.
Restaurants: Typical spaghetti and pizza...gets boring. But there are Chinese takeouts to the right as you exit hotel. There's one which is 2 streets over ...I think via Guida/guilia which is on the way to the Galleria ..the guy there is so sweet and nice. The food is delicious.
Firenze is a delight! History and art all around you . Just pick up your jaw as you walk through Florence ;0)

Thanks to the staff for making our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nerak1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#195 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#133 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#77 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#113 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#132 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#83 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona D'Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona D'Italia

Property: Hotel Corona D'Italia
Address: Via Nazionale 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $125 - $303
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corona D'Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Corona d’Italia 3 stars in Florence is set in a three-level, 19th-century palazzo, which features sober and harmonious design, bright and spacious interiors, detailed with marble from Carrara and elegant stucco trim.The hotel staff is available to help guests organize their visit, offering museum reservations, restaurant's suggestions, tours, and guided visits of the city and the Chianti region.The American Bar is ideal for relaxing and planning a visit to the Florence monuments over an espresso or a cocktail, prepared to perfection by our barman.If you desire internet access, the interior of the Hotel Corona d’Italia boasts an efficient Wi-Fi Internet service.Our Breakfast features a delicious buffet, including an extensive variety of cheese, cold cuts, yoghurt, seasonal fruit, fresh pastries and delicious cakes.The hotel also includes the Meeting Hall (max 35 people) for business meetings and work sessions. Upon request, state-of-the-art technical support may be added to the hall's standard devices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Corona D'Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Corona d Italia
Corona d Italia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing