We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Berchielli
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
USD 750*
USD 728*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
USD 288*
USD 218*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Room Mate Luca(Florence)
USD 150*
USD 144*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 145*
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 1,188*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
USD 400*
USD 341*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 288*
USD 208*
Maria Novella
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
USD 226*
USD 220*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 429*
USD 379*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel David(Florence)
USD 216*
USD 188*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,636)
Filter reviews
1,636 results
Traveller rating
1,027
516
64
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,027
516
64
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarno riverponte vecchiogreat locationa river view roomlovely hotelbreakfast buffetwithin walking distancereception stafflovely roomroom was largepastriesroof terraceuffizi galleryshort walkexploring florencewould highly recommend this hotelwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
959 - 964 of 1,636 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I always use tripadvisor as my bench mark and I am extremely disappointed that on this occasion I was let down. Although the location is superb, I had a dingy old room in the back of the hotel. It is exceptionally noisy, there is no natural light as it overlooks an alleyway and their is no extractor fan in the bathroom. Room was extremely old and in desperate need of a re-vamp. So all I can say, is if you are staying here, make sure you get a room with a view as clearly my experience was awful in comparison to the rave reviews

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012

Dear Mrs. Claudia E.,
we are sorry that you did not like your room on the 4th floor.
We wish to describe the room:
double single use on the 4th floor facing the side street with natural light coming from 2 windows being 115x85 cm and 53x85cm wide.
Room measures: 15 sqm.
All of our our 76 rooms have extractor fans with no exceptions.
All of our bathrooms have been renewed in the last 2 years using top quality tiles from a named designer.
That room is very comforatble for 1 person and we sell it almost daily.
Kind regards.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My wife and I visited Florence in late September 2011. Our room in the hotel had two balconies overlooking the Arno River. If we looked one way we saw the Ponte Vecchio and the other way was the Michaelangelo bridge. At sunset we sat with a glass of wine and listened to live music from the ponte vecchio and the conversations of the people walking on the streets below. With the doors shut you could hear nothing. In the morning our server drew a flower in my wife's capucino and a turtle in mine. It only enhanced what we saw in Florence from the Pitti palace and gardens to a Sunday competition of marching bands made up of people of all ages.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kidelmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I was prepared to be a little disappointed in this hotel given that it ranks in the mid teens in the tripadvisor ratings, but we loved it.

We arrived at the hotel having abandoned our hire car a block away driving the wrong way up a one way street. The hotel can be a little difficult to get to since they recently limited access to the city and reversed some one way streets, evidently after our satnav was last updated. We were rescued charmingly by a porter, who fetched the car, took it to a parking station and brought our luggage to the hotel. After a long drive to Florence, it was a great start to our stay.

We were booked in at the front desk swiftly and professionally by reception staff and taken to our rooms. The decor of the hotel was very new, but in quite a dark, heavy, traditional Italian style. We weren't initially overly impressed with the decor, however, after we were taken to our room and the porter opened the curtains to reveal a spectacular view of the river, including the Ponte Vecchio, we were just stunned. It was so atmospheric, by day and night, exactly what you'd imagine of a stay in Florence.

The room and hotel generally were spotless. After three days spent there, extended by a further two days, we began to feel very much at home and enjoyed the quiet, cool charm of the hotel as a respite from the heat and bustle outside. We found the beds to be very comfortable. They were firmer than a traditional American bed, in the European style. The rooms were generously sized and we were able to fit a rollaway for our son without any feeling of lost space.

The hotel faces onto a road which runs between the hotel and the river. As there is limited traffic on the road and windows are double glazed, there was no noise at night when the windows were closed.

Apart from the hotel's location on the river, it was also perfectly located for sightseeing and shopping. It sits a few doors down from the Ferrigamo building and in the midst of many of the upmarket designer stores of Florence among cobblestoned streets. The Ponte Vecchio and the main street were about 50 metres along the river. A little further was the Uffizi Gallery and the Palace. We could easily wander back and forth between the sites and the hotel during the day. There were also a number of excellent restaurants within short walking distance.

Breakfast was great. We had family members with allergies and dairy and gluten intolerances. They were happy to cater for these and were very flexible about adapting other items for us. The service was charming and friendly.

We had lots of assistance from the front desk when we needed to book restaurants or tours. Their English was excellent.

The Berchielli is not a typical five star hotel that one would find amongst the international chains, with a checklist of facilities and international style service; but it is a charming old style Italian hotel, in a wonderful location and with the most inviting ambience and hospitality. I would highly recommend it for a traditional Italian stay in Florence, particularly for the over 35s.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank laillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Great location, easy to walk to everything including the train station. Reception was adaquate, room clean and roomy. upgraded to room with view for free. View was amazing! Breakfast was fantastic with sweet and savory items and hot and cold items. Only reason I mark it down is b/c the beds were uncomfortably hard..both my husband and I had stiff backs after our first night. They did however take good care to have the cot prepared and in our room for our 14 month old. Room and hotel in general seemed quiet...we were on the 4th floor and we heard some street noise but not enough to disturb any of us.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We have a room with view over the river and pontevechio. The room was big, well equipated and clean. Sevice was good and the breakfast pretty complete. Could be hard to find the door if u travel by your own.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leopoldo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews