We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #44 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel Berchielli last week for three days. The hotel is next to the Arno river, and has rooms that face the river which is Euro 90 dollars more compared with the other rooms. We did not stay at the room facing the river, but our room is nice because It has a spacious balcony. The bathroom has been remodeled and we like the color of tile very much. The breakfast serves start from 7 to 11, and the selection is pretty good. Various of pantry, juice, and the coffee we got has chocolate decoration!! The staff is professional, but they are not as friendly as the staff we met in Rome. They will do what you ask for, i.e. reserve restaurants, dry clean, reserve guide tours, however, they make you feel as if you are in a business trip.
Overall, I still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    483
    58
    16
    11
See reviews for
297
800
71
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I always use tripadvisor as my bench mark and I am extremely disappointed that on this occasion I was let down. Although the location is superb, I had a dingy old room in the back of the hotel. It is exceptionally noisy, there is no natural light as it overlooks an alleyway and their is no extractor fan in the bathroom. Room was extremely old and in desperate need of a re-vamp. So all I can say, is if you are staying here, make sure you get a room with a view as clearly my experience was awful in comparison to the rave reviews

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Dear Mrs. Claudia E.,
we are sorry that you did not like your room on the 4th floor.
We wish to describe the room:
double single use on the 4th floor facing the side street with natural light coming from 2 windows being 115x85 cm and 53x85cm wide.
Room measures: 15 sqm.
All of our our 76 rooms have extractor fans with no exceptions.
All of our bathrooms have been renewed in the last 2 years using top quality tiles from a named designer.
That room is very comforatble for 1 person and we sell it almost daily.
Kind regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My wife and I visited Florence in late September 2011. Our room in the hotel had two balconies overlooking the Arno River. If we looked one way we saw the Ponte Vecchio and the other way was the Michaelangelo bridge. At sunset we sat with a glass of wine and listened to live music from the ponte vecchio and the conversations of the people walking on the streets below. With the doors shut you could hear nothing. In the morning our server drew a flower in my wife's capucino and a turtle in mine. It only enhanced what we saw in Florence from the Pitti palace and gardens to a Sunday competition of marching bands made up of people of all ages.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kidelmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I was prepared to be a little disappointed in this hotel given that it ranks in the mid teens in the tripadvisor ratings, but we loved it.

We arrived at the hotel having abandoned our hire car a block away driving the wrong way up a one way street. The hotel can be a little difficult to get to since they recently limited access to the city and reversed some one way streets, evidently after our satnav was last updated. We were rescued charmingly by a porter, who fetched the car, took it to a parking station and brought our luggage to the hotel. After a long drive to Florence, it was a great start to our stay.

We were booked in at the front desk swiftly and professionally by reception staff and taken to our rooms. The decor of the hotel was very new, but in quite a dark, heavy, traditional Italian style. We weren't initially overly impressed with the decor, however, after we were taken to our room and the porter opened the curtains to reveal a spectacular view of the river, including the Ponte Vecchio, we were just stunned. It was so atmospheric, by day and night, exactly what you'd imagine of a stay in Florence.

The room and hotel generally were spotless. After three days spent there, extended by a further two days, we began to feel very much at home and enjoyed the quiet, cool charm of the hotel as a respite from the heat and bustle outside. We found the beds to be very comfortable. They were firmer than a traditional American bed, in the European style. The rooms were generously sized and we were able to fit a rollaway for our son without any feeling of lost space.

The hotel faces onto a road which runs between the hotel and the river. As there is limited traffic on the road and windows are double glazed, there was no noise at night when the windows were closed.

Apart from the hotel's location on the river, it was also perfectly located for sightseeing and shopping. It sits a few doors down from the Ferrigamo building and in the midst of many of the upmarket designer stores of Florence among cobblestoned streets. The Ponte Vecchio and the main street were about 50 metres along the river. A little further was the Uffizi Gallery and the Palace. We could easily wander back and forth between the sites and the hotel during the day. There were also a number of excellent restaurants within short walking distance.

Breakfast was great. We had family members with allergies and dairy and gluten intolerances. They were happy to cater for these and were very flexible about adapting other items for us. The service was charming and friendly.

We had lots of assistance from the front desk when we needed to book restaurants or tours. Their English was excellent.

The Berchielli is not a typical five star hotel that one would find amongst the international chains, with a checklist of facilities and international style service; but it is a charming old style Italian hotel, in a wonderful location and with the most inviting ambience and hospitality. I would highly recommend it for a traditional Italian stay in Florence, particularly for the over 35s.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank laillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Great location, easy to walk to everything including the train station. Reception was adaquate, room clean and roomy. upgraded to room with view for free. View was amazing! Breakfast was fantastic with sweet and savory items and hot and cold items. Only reason I mark it down is b/c the beds were uncomfortably hard..both my husband and I had stiff backs after our first night. They did however take good care to have the cot prepared and in our room for our 14 month old. Room and hotel in general seemed quiet...we were on the 4th floor and we heard some street noise but not enough to disturb any of us.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#42 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Property: Hotel Berchielli
Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $203 - $543
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing