We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading...”
Review of Select Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Select Hotel
Ranked #334 of 410 Hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Don't be fooled-- there are multiple (7, perhaps?) best westerns in Florence. I was hoping to have booked the premier best western that is only steps from the duomo, but ended up staying here, instead. (with that being said, the lady i traveled with booked through a travel agent, so it could have gotten lost in translation...)

However, this hotel was fine for my needs. First, it was quite confusing to get to from the train station (get a cab!!). The entrance/lobby is in dire need of updating-- we did have to wait to get to our room because they were putting down new carpet--hopefully they will be redoing the rest of the hotel. The employees at the front desk were not overly helpful, but curteous enough. The breakfast staff was nice/accomodating.

Our room was a nice size, but the beds were not that comfortable. I'm not much of a breakfast eater, so it was perfect for me. There was a selection of luncheon meats, breads/pastries and yogurt. There were coffee and juice machines as well.

Like I said, it was confusing to get from the train station (basically the city center) to this hotel, but it was really only a 20 minute walk to the duomo. about another 20 minute walk (different direction) to the ponte vecchio.

Also of note, there is a dog (neighbor, I assume.. the street is quite residential) that barks early in the morning, and there is a daycare next to the hotel... my window opened right to their playground area. This was not much of a problem, as we were awake and getting ready to go out for the day. However, if you sleep late or need to be doing work in the room, this is something to consider. They have a computer in the lobby of the hotel--you get 1hr free.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweeetiepie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

Good place near attraction, can walk to many atractions.
We stayed one night here on the way to Rome from Pisa.We booked 3 rooms. We were able to walk to many beautiful places. Very convenient place.
But corridor carpets are dirty, must be replaced. Rooms carpets are below Ok conditions.Washrooms are renovated. So we were little satisfied.
Reception area is not a good place sit or relax. Dirty sofa in reception area.
Car parking is not available but they arrange for valet parking. Breakfast is included, OK
Anyhow, standard is low for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank suerama13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Surprised to one of the two rooms next to the reception and TV room - therefore v noisy indeed!

Room not great. V small bathroom. Hard mattress.

It is a 25 min walk to the Duomo and I am young and fit. I felt this was too far away from the centre.

However, free wifi.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the downstairs floor!!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank edvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This hotel was perfect for us, since we just wanted to visit museums and common tourist destinations. It was 2 blocks from a bus stop, which connected directly to the train station as well as common tourist destinations. Getting our luggage to and from the hotel via bus was easy. The hotel was in a quiet residential neighborhood, which was away from all the tourist and city noise and traffic. There were plenty of places to eat, with a grocery and laundry also within walking distance. Free unlimited wi-fi, but you just had to ask. The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful. There was always a staff member available who spoke English well. It was a great value for the money, since it was half the price of the hotels in the downtown tourist area. The only problem we had was discovering that some US-based credit cards did not work in Italy. Have a back-up plan for paying if the first (or second) card did not work.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tgbrfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Disappointing! The hotel needs upgraded. Carpets are badly stained and tile floors are cracked. The air conditioning in our room didn't work. Computer network connection continually lost. The beds were like concrete. It was sufficiently clean in the room and staff was friendly but would not recommend unless remodeling is done.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelforfun918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Best Western Plus CHC Florence
#279 of 410 in Florence
39 reviews
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#228 of 410 in Florence
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alex
#227 of 410 in Florence
270 reviews
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#201 of 410 in Florence
687 reviews
Hotel Panama
#244 of 410 in Florence
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel

Address: Via Giuseppe Galliano 24, 50144, Florence, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Select)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $63 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Select Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel housed in 19th-century villa decorated with frescoes & antique porcelain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Select
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing