We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to stay on a short break to Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
Ranked #71 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel to stay on a short break to Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel was situated conveniently for all the attractions in Florence - not too far to walk. The hotel was exceptionaly clean, the rooms was a little on the small side but this did not matter as we were sight-seeing in Florence most of the time. The staff helpful and very friendly and a very good selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your rate! We are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    631
    100
    19
    6
See reviews for
372
593
103
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester Uk
Level Contributor
172 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I spent five nights here during the February half term. the location was great, just a few minutes walk from the train station and within walking distance of all the main attractions. The hotel staff were friendly and hospitable, giving us a kettle for our room when we requested one and ringing up restaurants to book us tables and checking availability of an opera (which unfortunately was fully booked.). The room was light, airy comfortable and clean with a balcony overlooking the central courtyard and a large bath with shower (ideal for long soaks in the evening!)

The breakfast was of pretty good quality, with a good choice of fresh pastries and cakes. Whereas other hotels we have stayed in in European cities have usually included some hot food for breakfast such as scrambled egg, sausage etc. No hot food or attempt at cooked breakfast is made, the only not item being toast. Having said that, it was perfectly adequate for what we wanted.

There are some good cheapish restaurants very close to the hotel where many locals go and a 99 cent shop around the corner (where the CITA buses leave the bus station) which was handy for snacks and cheap cans of coke etc which we found really expensive in lots of bars and restaurants (as much as 5 Euros a glass!).

Overall really good value for money and an excellent service.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony and a bath, both which we got
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your contribution and for appreciating our hospitality!We are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Very short walk from Santa Novella train station. Beautiful room and fantastic bath. Clean and comfortable. Staff is helpful and kind. Breakfast is fresh and plentiful. The shower is incredible. Nothing but positives for this hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 003 is a quad with a king bed on first level and two twins in loft. It is large enough to comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your contribution! Thanks for your appreciative words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Very easy to find, just a 5 minute walk from the train station, 10 minute walk from the Duomo
and plenty of restaurants. Despite the room over looking the road, the quadruple glazing ensured a blissfully quiet nights sleep in the comfortable bed. The breakfast was typical but plentiful. The staff were very helpful and thankfully their English was much better than our Italian! We would stay again and recommend it to anyone wishing to explore Florence.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruroTraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your rate and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

A charming hotel in a wonderfully convenient location. Super spacious room with huge loft and patio. Our room had lots of personality with brick wall, painted furniture, iron staircase and french doors opening out to a patio area. The bath was modern and large - bright, clean and lots of towels and toiletries. The front desk staff has helpful and welcoming. Asked for a dinner recommendation and was directed to what I felt was a tourist destination - OK recommendation but hoping for more a quaint spot. Breakfast was good - a step up from typical continental expectation. Lobby furniture needs an update and the lobby bar looked fun but lonely. An easy walk to all the sites in Florence as well as the train station. I would certainly stay again and would have no reservations about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you a lot of comment. We always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible for our customers!
We expect you back at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#77 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#76 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Property: Hotel Alba Palace
Address: Via della Scala 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#71 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $139 - $306
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing