We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and Friendly helpful hotel staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #73 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Just returned from a trip to Florence (May 12) and stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful and every request we made was dealt with quickly and effectively. The location of the hotel is excellent, within a ten minute walk of all the attractions and a short stroll to the cathedral. The setting for breakfast (roof terrace) was magical and although not overly large, on all three occassions had no trouble securing a table outside where we could take in the amazing view. if I ever return UI will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Sirs,

thanks for the nice compliments about our hotel and our staff.
We really hope you can come back and visit our beautiful city, of course, still choosing our Hotel!

Greetings from your friendly and helpful staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 717 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

My daughter and I came to Florence as part of our Italian vacation. So far our hotels had turned out great until Hitel Laurus. Even though the location is good, the beds, & pillows are uncomfortable. Rooms are small with a set air temperature. Front desk is awful. They are the most unfriendly and unhelpful staff. It's definitely a One star hotel in my book

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homesbyneda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Sirs,

Thanks to let us know about your experience with us.
Guest satisfaction is the aim of our Management, for this reason comments, either positive or negative, are always appreciated.
We are concerned that our room conditions and our staff did not meet your expectations; please accept our apologies.
We are sorry if you did not enjoy your stay in Florence and we look forward to a future opportunity to better serve you.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Great room, great location, great staff. Amazing how quiet it was in there - we didn't realize how quiet until we opened the window and were bowled over by the street noise. Special thanks to Graziella, who seemed to always be at the desk during our stay. She guided us to a great restaurant when we were looking for a good steak to eat. If I were to go to Florence again, I would stay here - it's worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Sirs,

so many thanks for nice compliments!
We are waiting for you again during your next trip to Florence!

Greetings from Grazielaa and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel as a group of friends on a reunion and we felt that we had been very well treated. It was not easy to find the hotel with our Tom Tom and we happened upon it quite by chance and it was difficult to park outside. However, on arrival our car was taken and put into a parking lot so we did not have to worry about it, though it was expensive 60€ for 2 nights. Our room was on the 6th floor and opposite the roof top terrace restaurant, which surprisingly we heard no noise from either in the evening or first thing in the morning when they were setting up breakfast. Our room was very simple and clean with a really comfortable bed.The shower room was clean and modern and there were plenty of shampoos, towels etc. We ate dinner there on our first night which was good and breakfast was more than adequate with lots of choice. All the staff we met could speak very good English and were extremely kind and helpful. Our group was really well looked after. The hotel is very close to all the major sights and was an excellent choice.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Sirs,

we remember very well your group of friends!
We thank all of you for choosing our hotel and for the kind comments you wrote on Tripadvisor!
Thank you for considering us as "excellent choice"!
Hoping to welcoming you soon, we remain.

Greetings from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here primarily because of the location. As it turned out, that was just one of the many positives. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast there in the morning and it was fine. Even with our Garmin, we had some difficulty getting to the hotel due to the tight streets which were often one way. Once there, the valet service took the car to the parking location (not on site). We left it there during our visit. The hotel is located within easy walking distance to all of the attractions and great little restaurant

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgtchaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Sirs,
thanks for kind comments about our Hotel and for the compliments to our staff!
We really hope to welcoming you again in our beautiful Florence.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,843 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,984 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#67 of 410 in Florence
830 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $157 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing