We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing hotel; one of my all-time favorites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #67 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“An amazing hotel; one of my all-time favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Staying at this hotel was a highlight of the trip in itself. The proximity to the sights literally cannot be beat. It is maybe a 5 minute walk to the Duomo and the views you can get of the cathedral on the rooftop terrace are amazing.

To me the rooftop bar/cafe was the best feature of this hotel. We ended up capping off every night with a drink while just staring out at the cathedral lit up in the night. If you are lucky enough to have Claudio wait on you while you're up there, be sure to put his extensive wine knowledge to use in helping you select the perfect glass to suite your tastes. We were going to end our last night there with a bottle of red and asked his advice. He listened to what we liked and brought out 10 bottles letting us look at each one, explaining the subtleties of each, until we had narrowed it down the one we wanted. He was right, it was wonderful! He is truly a wine aficionado, and it shows in his work.

Again, this was by far my favorite hotel, and I can't imagine that we'll stay anywhere else when returning to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Sirs,

thanks for choosing our Hotel during your stay in Florence!
We are proud to be one of your favorite hotels of all time and we look forward to welcoming you next time!
Claudio will be waiting for you to still enjoy our wines!

Greetings from Claudio and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    600
    111
    28
    19
See reviews for
274
910
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

If you are planning to spend little time in your hotel room, choose this one. My husband and I are traveling through Italy over the course of two weeks and want to come home at the end of a long day touring and relax. Unfortunately, we can hear EVERY word said by anyone in the room next to us or in the hallway as clearly as if they were sitting across the table from us. If someone flushes their toilet, it sounds like a waterfall in our bathroom. All this I could handle with earplugs at night (I get that it's an old building), but the absolute deal breaker for me is the horrible wifi. If it works 5 minutes every hour, you're lucky. We asked for a network cable and were told that they wouldn't loan us one by one person at the desk, then a day later when we complained about the wifi not working at all, we were told many guests reported this and it was a result of the rain (light sprinkles and we're talking internet here people, not satellite tv). I've never been at a hotel that won't let you use a network cable (however they did bring a cable up to the room to prove that if we got our own the internet would work). Ultimately, if you just want to come here and crash at night you'll be fine. But if you're like me and you want to write some emails, book tours, check the weather and upload pictures, be prepared to have to go to an internet cafe and pay to do it (where I am writing this review from now!).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the compliments for our location and for cleaning.
Sorry that you have found our rooms noisy (although soundproofed) and for any inconvenience caused by the malfunction of the free wifi. We are happy to inform you that our engineers have solved the problem.
Hoping you'll want to give us another opportunity to serve you better, we remain.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boynton beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We were ending our 3 week stay in Europe and spent our last 3 nights at this hotel. The last day we had to cnfirm our seats. We panicked when we couldn't confirm by phone or e-mail. My husband was on the verge of spending our last day traveling to the airport to make sure we could get home. In stepped our "Angel" Francesca at the front desk. She spent well over an hour on the phone trying to get us our seats. (Unfortunately, we don't speak Italian.) She new how hysterical we were and was truely a blessing. I don't know what we would have done without her! The hotel was perfectly situated for walking to every place we wanted to go to and had a lovely view of the Duomo, but all this wouldn't have mattered without this caring and attentive woman.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkayboyntonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Sirs,

we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the kind comments!
It 's been a pleasure to host and serve you.

Greetings from your "Angel" Francesca and all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Hotel Laurus was an excellent location - 5 minutes from Duomo, (10-15 mins from central station where airport shuttle drops you off) and no more than 20 mins walk from the furthest main sights. The room was a pleasant surprise - roomy - bedroom, bathroom and a little sitting room, loads of light from the windows overlooking the Florence rooftops. It was also quiet at night, despite the central location. The staff were wonderful... they could not have been more helpful - we received excellent recommendations for dinner and they ordered taxis, looked after luggage... well, to be honest, anything we asked, they provided with courtesy and always with a smile - they were just so welcoming. This was the 1st visit to Florence and the city is wonderful, beautiful and the people very friendly... Pleasantly surprised how easy it was to walk everywhere and felt safe walking home at night after dinner. Will definitely return, to both Florence and the Hotel Duomo.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZLappin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Sir,

how to respond to a review so fantastic?
We can only thank with all heart and hope to meet you soon again as our welcome guest!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

The location couldn't be better, the accommodations were nice and clean, and the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
GRAZIE! THANKS!

Greetings from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $176 - $393
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing