We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very accommodating, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #69 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very accommodating, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Laurus a few years ago, so when we took our kids to Italy last July, the Laurus was our hotel of choice in Florence.

We had our two kids in a separate adjoining room. Both rooms overlooked the street, but were very quiet.

The location of the hotel is excellent, being just down the street from the Duomo. The breakfast balcony has a great view of the Duomo, which starts the day off right, every day. The balcony is also an awesome place to have a glass of wine while the breeze cools off the city after sunset.

The Laurus won our lasting appreciation, however, with their extremely accommodating staff. There were a couple of days where the kids were tired out after a day of touring and they just wanted some plain pasta or something simple for dinner. The kitchen had no problems whipping up what the kids wanted, which made our stay there that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Sirs,
thanks for visiting us years ago and thanks for returned us with your children last July!
We really hope we can soon return to our beautiful city.
Our staff is at your disposal to satisfy all your needs.
We want to continue to be your favorite hotel!

Greetings from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    603
    111
    28
    19
See reviews for
276
910
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed for four nights in room 304. We echo the comments of most other reviews. The location could not be better, being midway between the railway station and cathedral, and no more than a 15-20 minute walk to all the major attractions in the city. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and efficient throughout our stay. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast which offered a good variety of items that set us up for a hard day's sightseeing! All-in-all we had no criticisms and enjoyed our visit; this is not a luxury hotel but provides a warm welcome and all that is needed for a good holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seeking_Shangri-La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Sirs,

thanks for taking time and let us know about your experience with us.
Your very kind comments are really appreciated.
All the staff are looking to welcoming you again.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I went to Florence for the second time for business. The hotel is very well located, 5 min by foot from the train station and 10-15 min from the main locations. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the double windows isolate well the room from the outside noise. They have free internet and the terrace on the sixth floor has a view of the duome. Nice place for having your breackfast or are drink once you come back from a day walking around.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have a small balcony to stand up outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RioMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing about your stay at the Hotel Laurus.
We are pleased that you had nice time with us: your favourite opinion about facilities, service and staff help us to do everything better.

We hope to welcoming you again in Florence and have the opportunity to show your other beautiful corner of our city, and please let us know in time about your next visit so we shall do our best to put at your disposal one of the rooms on the second floor!

yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel several times, fits the bill on every level. Well appointed bathroom, comfortable beds, spotless. We have breakfast on the roof restaurant which has a very good broad choice of food " even a bacon sandwich!! overlooks the Duomo and is central to everything important and interesting. Nice cafe bar, lovely helpfull staff. Like the old saying " don't mend it if it ain't broken" worth every penny.......

Room Tip: They are all just as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borderbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for spending time to write about your experience in Florence.

We are very glad to read that everytime you spent your stay at Hotel Laurus, you were satisfy about our faciliteis, service and staff.

We hope to welcome you again in Florence and help you to have a pleasant stay!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This hotel offers everything a traveller to Florence needs. the location is superb; the staff are exceptional; the rooms comfortable and the breakfast and evening selection 100%.

We must say that the reception guys go the extra mile; my wife's shoe broke when we were in Florence and they even found a shoe repairer for her, what more can you want.

Room Tip: Just leave it to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FREDANDWILMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Sirs,
thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our Hotel and our Staff!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcoming you again soon.
Greetings from your "exceptional" staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $180 - $405
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing