We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“4.75 Rating Lovely Hotel Great Location Fab Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #19 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“4.75 Rating Lovely Hotel Great Location Fab Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

A fabulous hotel with great service lovely staff incredible service. Fantastic breakfast, lovely sheets and linens and towels. Would have given it a 5 but very very occasionally the room was slightly whiffy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 420Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,919
    504
    103
    30
    30
See reviews for
482
1,456
80
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at.
The layout is a little confusing, but the rooms are pure heaven! And you must try their aperitifs - they are delicious! I wish I could have stayed longer. This is where I will always stay when I am in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The word is out! Dang it, Tripadvisor, you are blessing and a curse! This hotel is a GEM! It is a newly rehabbed hotel, modern and classy. It was a women's prison, the tower the oldest building in Florence. The biggest plus in an European hotel, it's quiet! The windows are topnotch and when closed, feel like you are in a tomb. The location is a few blocks from the Duomo and perfect in every way.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lummen, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed here last week in a deluxe room.
Very nice room: design furniture, we just saw the Duomo from our window. Morning and turndown service always perfect. Breakfast (certainly by Italian standards) was excellent.
5 star service by the staff, just with a bit of an Italian flair.
Also the best possible location you can find in Firenze.
Only little minor complaint... When eating in the Osteria downstairs we asked the Maitre what 'Trippa' was, and he told us this was dish with intestines. I reacted with a 'no thank you', he just walked away and told with his back to us in very arrogant way 'well, you can always take the chicken'. Very arrogant and disdaining, while the rest of his staff was very nice. So I don't really know why someone would put that man in charge.
But since that was the only setback, just stay away from the downstairs restaurant and all the rest will be just excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

The customers who afford leading hotels are ones who also don't blink at spending 150 euros a person for dinner. I just sent a NEWLYWED couple to stay at this leading hotel and despite my going there a week before to let them know they were newlyweds and despite their TELLING ME THEY WOULD UPGRADE THEM, NOTHING HAPPENED! Not even one single flower of congratulations. When I called to purchase a bottle of white wine for the couple to toast their arrival in Florence, the hotel said they didn't have that wine, nor did they offer an alternative (there is a gourmet restaurant, a trattoria, a bar, and numerous shops right outside their door). So I trekked downtown, bought the wine and brought it to the hotel, begging them to put it on ice and put it in their room. They did put it on ice but they gave the couple a really hard time about giving them a corkscrew to open it!!!
Room service is non-existant and my clients were not happy about having to call numerous times just to get a couple of glasses. They also ended up with three ice buckets and dirty coffee cups SITTING IN THEIR ROOM FOR DAYS.
On the breakfast side, if you're making it for Americans please be advised that they like their scrambled eggs COOKED and FIRM, not runny. My client dropped a hint in the hotel suggestion box on the second day....
Lastly, if you have been in tourism for some time and if you have dealt with a number of Americans, then you know that Americans like their ice. But charging 10 euros for someone to carry it up to the room? Maybe that's why all the dirty dishes sat for so long .... too far to travel even for housekeeping!
If Hotel Brunelleschi is a leading hotel, it wasn't a leader here. They missed their chance for good reviews with my high-end customers and for continued business with me.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Bonnie,
We are in receipt of your comments and as always it is highly important to us to give you our feedbacks:

1- Room upgrades rely to daily availability. When your Clients checked-in our Hotel was fully booked and there was no chance to upgrade them.

2- The reason why the wine you requested is not available in our Hotel is that does not respect the quality standards of our Wine list.

3- Each room is equipped with a corkscrew, it is next to the in-room minibar. In any case, if they had troubles in opening the wine, our staff would have been pleased to help them.

The room service is available 24/h a day as stated in the room directory.

4- Lastly, the US is one of our key markets. We operate in the market from more than 20 years. We travel in the USA more than 4 times a year and we are represented in that market from a very well known Company operating in the luxury segment.

For all these reasons the Hotel Brunelleschi and its staff are very well known for the deep knowledge in American travelers behaviors and tastes.

We remain at your disposal for any further information you may need.

Best Regards.

Claudio Catani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,372 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Property: Hotel Brunelleschi
Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $291 - $869
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing