We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, luxury hotel with outstanding staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #7 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, luxury hotel with outstanding staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I took our two children (aged 7 and 5) to stay at the Villa Cora for a few days before Christmas. We got a very good rate for the room, booking through Mr & Mrs Smith. The welcome that we received and the service throughout were outstanding and our children were made to feel incredibly welcome from the start. The hotel is beautiful and quite grand, with a number of highly decorated historic state rooms as well as a delightful pool and surrounding gardens. Our kids made use of the jacuzzi, sauna etc in the spa and thoroughly enjoyed themselves! The spa is small but perfectly formed with marble and wood throughout. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated and had a frescoed ceiling and nice antique furniture and paintings. We had a duplex, with the kids sleeping in a galleried area upstairs - a very sensible setup. There were two bathrooms so that there was no need to share! Also wonderful Anik Goutal toiletries in generous quantities. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and fresh and staff were happy to replenish food or to make food to order.
Overall a superb hotel choice for a city like Florence, where hotels are often small and not suitable for children. It would also be perfect in the summer when you could spend the day by the pool and go into the city in the evening when it is cooler. Also, there is a hotel shuttle which is on-hand to take you into the city or collect you if tired legs don't fancy the walk back. Our only problem with the hotel was that it was so nice that the kids didn't want to go into Florence!

Room Tip: I would choose a room in the main villa as the historic interiors are so wonderful. I didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelwithkidsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa18, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your very detailed review.
We like to consider the Grand Hotel Villa Cora as a "City Resort" where our guest can relax after a long day walking around our beautiful city centre. We are happy to hear that you feel this warm athmosphere during your stay and we very appreciate your comments on the hotel staff. They always work with true passion in order to give you the best and personal service.
We really hope to see you next summer to enjoy our beautiful swimming pool.

Kind Regards,
Mr. Claudio Delli - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    80
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
168
433
11
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My partner and I booked this hotel for one night, on Wednesday 29th Dec, I fell in love with the hotel as soon as I walked in, it smelt wonderful and was so clean. Each public room downstairs had amazing detail from the decor on the ceiling to the colour changing table in one of the rooms. The staff were amazing and helpful especially Marco the manager. We booked two rooms one for my twin daughters after staying one night we decided to book for the rest of our stay in Florence which was till Tuesday the 3rd Jan. The rooms are clean and spacious, the maids clean your room every day and each evening they prepare your room for the night. The restaurant below was beautiful and the food was lovely, the staff cater to your every whim. We used the spa and sauna a few times and they were clean and very relaxing. We had no problems and I am a very fussy person, this hotel catered to all our needs, me and my daughters did not want to leave. Florence was just a ten minute walk from the hotel there is a free shuttle bus, but we loved walking. The hotel, the location, the staff, the service was ten out of ten.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and the views from the windows are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayeeda_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa18, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guest!
Your comments have been received with great appreciation and we are so pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards,

Mr. Claudio Delli - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

we recently visited The Grand Hotel Villa Cora and we were amazed at the service and wonderful decor. I had visited the property years ago before renovation and just want to say that the attention to every detail was made. This is a flawless property with the highest level of sincere service and caring. The concierges went out of their way to make everything about our stay enjoyable.
European hospitality at its finest !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morello33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa18, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your worderful review of the Grand Hotel Villa Cora and we are very delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We worked hard on the details during the renovation and we are happy to hear that you liked our dynamic interpretation of this beautiful neoclassical Villa.
We have been very grateful for your return and we look forward to welcoming you again.

King Regards,
Mr. Claudio Delli - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

from the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff. throughout our stay the staff were amazing with great local knowledge of florence and the property itself ( a recent face lift has left the villa looking amazing - awesome views from the top of the villa, accessible to any guest- would be an even more glorious view in summer, with a few drinks! )

relax in the afternoon like we did at the turkish bath, or at the heated pool.

The location is away from the hustle of the city, but not even a 10 min walk to the city edge. Or get a lift with the hotels car free of charge!

the restaurant located underneath the villa has a great fit out, and the staff are very knowledge the dinner we had was very enjoyable.

I struggle to see any of the negative comments made below, by a few recent guests, throughout my entire stay I felt very welcomed and staff were very accommodating!




  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clancy-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa18, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear Guest,
we very much appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a feedback on your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.
We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our staff to be friendly and the quality of our restaurant "Il Pasha" to be such a high standard.
We hope you'll consider us on your next trip to Florence and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,
Mr. Claudio Delli - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

If you have opportunity this is great choice
Very helpful staff
Beautiful hotel with stunning rooms
Public areas of hotel have great atmosphere and really feel like you are staying in a luxury villa
200 years ago but with modern uptake
Nice resturant

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AjmMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa18, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your post, it' s nice to hear that you feel like in a Villa, as the history is very important for us and we always wish to transfer to the clilent. Your comments help us to keep safe and improve all our standards and services.

We really hope to welcoming you back in Florence (maybe in summer),

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,634 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $449 - $1,601
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing