We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #45 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I had a very pleasant 2-night stay here. The big, secured entrance doors and then the 3-floors up (stairs or elevator) to reach the reception can be daunting, but once you are given the passkey, it's quite simple. The room was spacious and clean and the breakfast was very sufficient. There is a lovely terrace where you can sit anytime, overlooking Piazza Santo Spirito (there can be a bit of street-level noise, but really not that bad). Several nice restaurants are located a few steps away.
It's location near the Pitti Palace is perfect. . . you find yourself on a slightly less hussle-bussled side of the river, but it's two minutes to walk and cross the Arno to the heavy tourist areas.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 463 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

We loved the Hotel Palazzo Guadagni! The views are spectacular, and having a large terrace where you can relax in the afternoon (and have some Prosecco or Chianit) is wonderful. The staff was lovely - helped us find a good walking tour and made the reservations and overall had a wonderful attitude. Our room was very comfortable - we did not pay for a "view", but we still had a lovely view outside the room.

The location is also terrific - not completely touristy, but close enough to the tourist locations that you can easily walk there. The only thing no one warned us about is that there is no big sign out front - we almost couldn't find it! - and when we walked into the building, we were a bit put off by the dark hall. But once we emerged from the elevator and saw the light, bright, lovely, old-world space, we could not have been happier.

We highly recommend the Palazzo Guadagni - and will be staying there again on our next visit to Florence!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esp313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Of all the hotels we stayed at during a 3 week exploration of Tuscany we found our room at this hotel to be the most spacious with the best view. Go for the rooms with a view of the Duomo. It was awesome!. Many others have rightfully complimented this hotel for the terrace/loggia . A great view and a period gem. From the time you enter the hotel you get the impression that you are going back in time. In fact, the hotel is a period palazzo which adjoins the residence halls of the nearby Spirito Santo church and other private offices. Some might think the hotel and the rooms are dated and in fact they do ooze old world charm from every pore but everything works and the bathrooms while tiled in faux renaissance style have in fact been updated. Ours had a little window in the shower from which to see the Duomo along with a larger window in the bedroom which provided a roof top terrace view of the Duomo and tower. The location of this hotel could not be better from which to explore the main tourist sites of Florence. You are within a 5 minute walk of the Palazzo Pitti/Palatine Museum and Boboli Gardens and the Ponte Vechio. The Duomo/Tower/ Baptistry/Piazza de la Signoria and the Bargello is just a few minutes further away. We thoroughly enjoyed walking across the Ponte Vechio every day to see all the sights across the Arno. The hotel faces a square with numerous restaurants of which the Osteria Santo Spirito is the best. My wife and I had two very good lunches at this restaurant which was recommended by the hotel staff. In fact, the service at the Guadagni is excellent and very friendly. We especially want to compliment Rita who greeted us every morning and made us feel welcome. She arranged our early breakfast upon departure and our taxi to take us to the train station. It was 10 Euros as the hotel is more than a kilometer from the train station. We highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to book here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the Duomo.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamusaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This hotel has the best view of florence from the top floor and the loggia. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely helpful. Some people had mentioned out of date bathrooms but theyve been modernized. The location is right on a main square but the windows are amazing and block out the noise. Somyoubget atmosphere but can sleep when youre ready. Also you can walk to the palazzo pitti in five minutes, the ponte vecchio in 10 minutes, and there are lots of reataurants nearby. We recommend this hotel!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank jande_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I cant recommend The Palazzo more. Wonderful setting, right side of town...plenty of good restaurants locally. The staff at Guadagni are SO helpful, and so very nice. This is a very special place to stay, unbelievably reasonable in price. The gem is the the loggia/terrace. Sitting in the early evening sun, prosecco in hand, looking at the rooftops of Florence. has to be one of life's pleasure....do go there!

Room Tip: Would recommend the top floor...what views!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#36 of 411 in Florence
1,790 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 411 in Florence
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 411 in Florence
801 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 411 in Florence
1,524 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#11 of 411 in Florence
3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $150 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing