We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very good!”

Antica Gelateria Fiorentina
Ranked #12 of 207 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: San Lorenzo
Bruchmühlbach, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very, very good!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Second time in Florence, first time at Antica Gelateria. Stumbled upon it...one look at the gelato and we made a point to come back after dinner. So glad we did! Very good gelato, definitely ranked in my top 2 ever tried!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mkdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    115
    27
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The best so far!”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We have been eating gelatos everyday since our first day in italy. This is so far the best and cheapest!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beargoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in Italy”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We had gelato every night during our weeklong trip to Italy...and once in the daytime too! We had gelato in Rome, Florence, and Venice, and this was our favorite. It was so good we walked all the way across the city on our second night to get it again. Delicious!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Unusual flavor names - but bland flavors and just okay texture”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I went to Antica Gelateria Fiorentina on October 6th, 2011, with my wife. We’ve been in Florence now since September 1st and have visited 16 gelaterias in the city and have tasted upwards of 100 flavors between the 2 of us. I don’t think Antica Gelateria Fiorentina could be considered in the Top 5.

The have a small, but lovely shop with a few small tables and stools inside and a thin bench outside. There is a posted listing details of 4 flavors. I assume they’re either their most interesting or are unique to the shop. We tried 3 of them:

Cuor di Pardula – Cream with ricotta, lemon and orange peel, and saffron
Ambrosia – Yogurt with apple and cinnamon
Buontalenti – A typical Florentine cream

We also tried Datteri e Noci (Dates and Walnuts).

The €2 cones provided us with the standard portion size you’d expect from the second to the smallest size they offer. Some shops charge more for this size, like GROM (€3,50) and Neri (€2,50), while others charge less, like La Carraia 2 (€1,50). I’ve posted an photo of their cup sizes along with prices.

The citrus peel, crumbed nuts, and tiny bits of fruit have the gelato a rough texture. This is not what you’d expect. The flavors did not pop in your mouth either. They were the basic cream base with very little additional flavor. Only the Ambrosia with its yogurt left a tangy, somewhat sour, aftertaste – and not in a good way either.

If you’re looking for top shelf gelato in Florence we’d suggest trying La Carraia 2 or Neri. I just can’t rate Antica Gelateria Fiorentina as high as those two. They’re really not in the top 5 gelaterias either.

Sorry guys.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alpha1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaosAD, Proprietario at Antica Gelateria Fiorentina, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear alpha1243 ,

don't be sorry: thanks for expressing your opinions sincerely and thank you for your passion for gelato. I don't know how many ice cream shop working in the city of Florence, but always sincere, we would be happy to be considered among the top ten. The Gelateria dei Neri is great and I think Carraia 2 gives the same delights of Carraia (1). There is the world famous Gelateria Vivoli, the Gelateria Perché no!, the Badiani, the Gelateria De' Medici... In other words, in Florence you can't really say that there is no choice of where to go for gelato :) Unfortunately, or fortunately, the rankings with subjective parameters can differ quite sharply between them (happens always TripAdvisor for the Galleria degli Uffizi). Those who prefer a sweeter gelato, put in first place the ice cream shop that serves ice cream sweeter, those who prefer a sorbet with fruit pieces, put the ice cream shop in the first place that mixes fruit less refined than other...

Also for this reason, in our ice cream shop (as many others) you can taste flavors before deciding to buy or try on another shop. We try to work in the way that we would expect that other workers do not forget that this can't like everyone because we too have our tastes and preferences.

Best regards,
Francesco Sini.

-----------

Caro alpha1243,

non devi dispiacerti: grazie per aver espresso sinceramente le tue opinioni e grazie anche per la tua passione per il gelato. Non so nemmeno quante gelaterie operano nella città di Firenze, ma, sempre sinceramente, saremmo felici di essere considerati tra i primi dieci. La gelateria dei Neri è ottima, La Carraia 2 credo offra le stesse prelibatezze della Carraia (1). C'è il famosissimo Vivoli, la gelateria Perché no! la gelateria Badiani, la gelateria De' Medici... Insomma a Firenze non si può proprio dire che non ci sia la possibilità di scegliere dove andare a mangiare il gelato :) Purtroppo o per fortuna, le classifiche stilate con parametri soggettivi possono differire anche in modo piuttosto netto tra loro (succede, semp. Chi preferisce un gelato più dolce, metterà al primo posto la gelateria che serve il gelato più dolce, chi preferisce un sorbetto con pezzi di frutta, metterà al primo posto la gelateria che mixa la frutta in maniera più grossolana e meno raffinata...

Anche per questo motivo, nella nostra come in tante gelaterie è possibile assaggiare i gusti prima di decidere se acquistare il gelato o provare in un'altra gelateria. Cerchiamo di lavorare nel modo in cui ci aspetteremmo che gli altri lavorassero non dimenticandoci mai che questo può non piacere a tutti perché anche noi abbiamo i nostri gusti e le nostre preferenze.

Cordiali saluti,
Francesco Sini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best it is!”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We've been traveling around Italy for a while now and have eaten a lot of gelato, and sure enough, this was the best! There are flavours that you don't find anywhere else, and the very friendly owner wanted us to taste many of them so that we'd get the one we really liked! Try this place in Florence!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Gelateria Fiorentina also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Antica Gelateria Fiorentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing