We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a good night sleep”
Review of Il Giglio d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giglio d'Oro
Ranked #5 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We had a large room in the back with a patio. Very quiet and peaceful all night long. Comfortable bed, and extremely helpful and generous host, and a neighborhood cafe that beats the big boys right across the street at he bus stop.

The cafe is a pizza man but they have huge, huge, harping sod pasta and entre . Their house wine is a beautiful red Tuscan that was extraordinary and only 5euro per half liter.

The bus stops directly across from the hotel. Number 11 and 17 from San Marco plaza both stop there and less than ten minutes from downtown.

Will most definitely stay here next trip.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are extremely quiet
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 13,050,336,757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Il Giglio d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

We loved staying at this beautiful guest house with Edo and his family. First of all, we couldn't have asked for a better host than Edo, who went OUT of his way to help us. Not only was he warm and welcoming on our first day -- introducing us to the best places to eat, and giving us tips for exploring the city -- but he also helped us coordinate other parts of our trip to Tuscany. For example, we needed help figuring out the best way to get from Florence to other areas in Italy, and he sat down with us, made calls, and generally did everything he could to help. We really appreciate it, Edo!

As for the guest house, the accommodations were warm, comfortable and friendly. Although the guest house itself doesn't serve breakfast, that wasn't a problem at all because there are patisseries and cafes literally feet away from the front door of the house. The guest house is also located right next to a bus stop that takes you right into the heart of Florence. The buses run late, so getting into and out of the city was no problem.

We loved staying in this beautiful guest house with Edo, his wife, and their lovely daughter Jennifer. Thank you so much for everything, and we so look forward to returning :)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnjS510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Staying with Eduardo and his family was like staying with a long lost cousin. He welcomed into his house and introduced to the neighborhood. Showed us where to get coffee in the morning, where to catch the buses to the city center (a 10 minute ride), made sure we had bus tickets before the weekend and best of all got us last minute reservations with the highly rated restaurant across the street. They were booked! he was warm and friendly and I haven't even mentioned the rabbits or the magical courtyard!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank redmarenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We enjoyed our stay at this guesthouse. Edo and his family are wonderful hosts, very hospitable and thoughtful. It is within walking distance to the major sites, yet not at all crowded. Our room was clean and spacious. There is no continental breakfast at this place, so we ate breakfast at the local "Lorenzo" bakery, and it was great. All in all, this guesthouse is safe, convenient and charming. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank petrova_natasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife spent 3 nights at this great little guesthouse. Edo was an absolute first class host. As previously stated in other reviews, Edo, took the time to show us around the local neighbourhood and introduce us to the local shop owners. The pizza place directly across the road served the best pizza we had outside of Naples and the local patisserie was perfect for breakfast (amazing pastries and coffee). We would also recommend hopping on the bus and heading to fiesole for a change of pace and the best views of Florence.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gazgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,251 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 656 in Florence
814 reviews
B&B Monte Oliveto
#2 of 656 in Florence
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Grillo di Firenze
#13 of 656 in Florence
479 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 656 in Florence
655 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 656 in Florence
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio d'Oro

Address: Via Antonio Pacinotti 11, 50131, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $81 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A CHARMING GUESTHOUSE WITH GARDEN IN THE CENTRE OF FLORENCE, HAVE A LOOK AT THE PICTURES AND SEND US A E MAIL TO CHECK THE AVAILABILITY!!!!Edo and Celia are delighted to welcome you in their typical tuscan home recenlty renovated and is situated close to the historical center of florence. This brend new guest house typical italian style, offers its guests warm and elegant hospitality at very advantageous prices, just few steps away from the town center. The building has been completely renovated strictly following the rules of tuscan old craft's style and Its charme can be recognized in the red tuscan tiles, the pietra serena staircase, and the intimate walled garden. The bedrooms, furnished in delicate pastel colours, terracotta tilling, and the original doors, are all euqipped with en-suite bathrooms, Colour Tv, Wi-fi internet acces, and full bath & bedlinen's set. Edo and celia will be glad to inform guests about monuments, sites of interest and florence surroundings, as well as on the schedule of all events exhibitons, shows and concerts. "Giglio d'oro" as your own private home in florence, gives you the freedom of come and go 24 hours a day. Please inform us on your arrival time and will be glad to welcome you and leave you both the room and the front door key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Giglio d`Oro Bed And Breakfast
Il Giglio d`Oro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing