We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in Florence with outstanding hosts!”
Review of Il Giglio d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giglio d'Oro
Ranked #5 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2016

My husband and I started our trip in Italy this past September with a short stay in Florence. Thank goodness we picked Hotel Il Giglio D'Oro! Eduardo literally saved our vacation, as when we arrived, late at night after about 30 hours of traveling from the U.S., it turned out that we didn't actually have a confirmed reservation. We were exhausted, and the taxi driver had dropped us off on the quiet street and already left. .It was obvious that the hosts had already retired for the night. But despite having no idea who we were, and after apologizing profusely for not having a room that night, Edo called the Hotel Emma across the street and arranged a room for the night for us, and even walked us over there to make sure we got into our room OK. He also gave us a recommendation for a place to get something to eat.

The following morning we went back across the street, and were able to check into the lovely garden room (the Purple Room) in the back of the hotel. The room was absolutely charming, private and quiet. Edo walked us around the neighborhood to orient us, showing us places to eat, where to catch the bus, etc. He, Celia and Jennifer could not have been more gracious hosts. They were just so warm and welcoming, and treated us like old friends or family. The neighborhood was a perfect place to stay, away from the touristy areas but with easy access to everything. I only wish we had been able to stay longer! Thanks for such a wonderful introduction to Italy!

Be aware that this hotel does not do instant bookings online at this time. Make sure you get a confirmation email directly from the hosts.

Room Tip: The Purple Room in the back was very quiet and private.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Il Giglio d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2016

Eduardo and Celia welcome you into their home as though you were a friend of the family. They go over and above to make you feel welcome. Our suitcases did not arrive in Florence. Eduardo made calls for us to the airport and even offered to go to the airport to retrieve them! He was at the B&B to accept them when they were delivered. Our room was cozy, clean, with a modern bathroom. Eduardo showed us around the neighborhood, introduced us to the owners of local restaurants and cafes, and showed us the bus stops into the old city. Who could ask for more? We chose Il Giglio d'Oro because of the reviews and they were right.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradiseellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Спасибо огромное, Эдоардо? Селия и Дженнифер)) Очень гостеприимная и добрая семья! Мне пришлось по душе это место. Чистая и большая комната с отдельной ванной и душем. Каждое утро красиво заправлялась постель. Маленькие кромки живут во дворике внизу)) Я очень Рада, что остановилась в этом месте и познакомилась с такими замечательными людьми и незабываемой Флоренцией и Тосканой))) Я точно посоветую это место своим друзьям и знакомым! Отличное сочетание цены и качества. Из России с любовью!!!

Thank you, Edoardo&Celia+Jennifer))) Such a lovely and hospitable family. Edoardo is very kind and attentive. Always eager to help. He acquainted me with his lovely friends, showed the nearby places, suggested where to have breakfast & dinner, what places is better to visit, even helped me to choose and buy the tour through amazing Toscana. My staying in Edoardo's house was unforgettable. Yellow room on the second floor is big & very clean. Celia was so kind and made my bad every day. The lovely little rabbits are living in the yard. I'm so pleased that I've met this family and visited such a beautiful Florence and Toscana region. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends. Great thanks to Edoardo, Celia & little Jennifer))) From Russia with love!!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank elykam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My wife and I chose Il Giglio D'oro because of the great reviews it received and we were not disappointed. Edoardo, Celia and their daughter Jennifer were terrific hosts.Upon arrival, Edo explained the neighbourhood and bus routes and provided us with maps and books on Florence. He then took us on a quick tour of the neighbourhood introducing us to a number of people running the stores, restaurants and bakeries (even helping us to get our bus tickets).

We had originally booked the "Yellow Room" but the separate garden room was available due to a cancellation. He showed us both rooms and we chose the separatted room as it was very private with your own little sitting area. The room was very comfortable.

Getting to the city centre couldn't be easier. The bus stop was just across the street and it took just minutes to get to the centre. On one occasion we ended up just walking back to the room and it took about 20 minutes.

We enjoyed eating in the neighbourhood. It is away from the busy tourist areas and the food was good. At the local pizzeria they made us feel very much at home sharing stories and a few laughs.

As for Edo, he always greets you with a big smile and asks if everything is alright. He says that he enjoys meeting people and would go out of his way to ensure everything was OK.

I highly recommend Il Giglio D'oro for anyone Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Len W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Eduardo and his family were so kind! He was more than willing to help out with questions and gave lots of recommendations of places to eat around the B&B. He showed us where to buy bus tickets and explained how to get to the sites and back. The popular Florence sites were only about a 5 minute bus ride away. The rooms were personalized and very cozy. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Florence!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,251 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 656 in Florence
814 reviews
B&B Monte Oliveto
#2 of 656 in Florence
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Grillo di Firenze
#12 of 656 in Florence
479 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 656 in Florence
928 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 656 in Florence
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio d'Oro

Address: Via Antonio Pacinotti 11, 50131, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $89 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A CHARMING GUESTHOUSE WITH GARDEN IN THE CENTRE OF FLORENCE, HAVE A LOOK AT THE PICTURES AND SEND US A E MAIL TO CHECK THE AVAILABILITY!!!!Edo and Celia are delighted to welcome you in their typical tuscan home recenlty renovated and is situated close to the historical center of florence. This brend new guest house typical italian style, offers its guests warm and elegant hospitality at very advantageous prices, just few steps away from the town center. The building has been completely renovated strictly following the rules of tuscan old craft's style and Its charme can be recognized in the red tuscan tiles, the pietra serena staircase, and the intimate walled garden. The bedrooms, furnished in delicate pastel colours, terracotta tilling, and the original doors, are all euqipped with en-suite bathrooms, Colour Tv, Wi-fi internet acces, and full bath & bedlinen's set. Edo and celia will be glad to inform guests about monuments, sites of interest and florence surroundings, as well as on the schedule of all events exhibitons, shows and concerts. "Giglio d'oro" as your own private home in florence, gives you the freedom of come and go 24 hours a day. Please inform us on your arrival time and will be glad to welcome you and leave you both the room and the front door key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Giglio d`Oro Bed And Breakfast
Il Giglio d`Oro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing