We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Florence”
Review of Il Giglio d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giglio d'Oro
Ranked #10 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My wife and I chose Il Giglio D'oro because of the great reviews it received and we were not disappointed. Edoardo, Celia and their daughter Jennifer were terrific hosts.Upon arrival, Edo explained the neighbourhood and bus routes and provided us with maps and books on Florence. He then took us on a quick tour of the neighbourhood introducing us to a number of people running the stores, restaurants and bakeries (even helping us to get our bus tickets).

We had originally booked the "Yellow Room" but the separate garden room was available due to a cancellation. He showed us both rooms and we chose the separatted room as it was very private with your own little sitting area. The room was very comfortable.

Getting to the city centre couldn't be easier. The bus stop was just across the street and it took just minutes to get to the centre. On one occasion we ended up just walking back to the room and it took about 20 minutes.

We enjoyed eating in the neighbourhood. It is away from the busy tourist areas and the food was good. At the local pizzeria they made us feel very much at home sharing stories and a few laughs.

As for Edo, he always greets you with a big smile and asks if everything is alright. He says that he enjoys meeting people and would go out of his way to ensure everything was OK.

I highly recommend Il Giglio D'oro for anyone Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Len W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2016

Eduardo and his family were so kind! He was more than willing to help out with questions and gave lots of recommendations of places to eat around the B&B. He showed us where to buy bus tickets and explained how to get to the sites and back. The popular Florence sites were only about a 5 minute bus ride away. The rooms were personalized and very cozy. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Florence!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed in Florence for a Weekend (Saturday to Monday) and choose this B&B because of the good references in tripadvisor and the promising photos-and we were not deluded!! We are a Italian-Swiss couple so immagine that it is not easy to please both ;-) Edo and his wife were perfectly nice hosts, Edo managed to introduce us in 5 min into the neighborhod (breakfast-cafe, Pizzeria, Restaurants), helped us with parking and every other question we had. The room with bathroom had lovely furniture, was perfectly clean and even wifi worked in the room (we were told before that as our room was the one farest away from the router that it would work only in the garden). It's about 20 min walking distance from the historical center but a lot of autobuses are go this way and we never had to wait more than 10 min. We definitely hope to stay there again soon!!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank d0rak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Where do I begin?? This place was an excellent find!! The price was fantastic for the comfortable & clean accommodations!! Edoardo & his wife Celia are wonderful hosts!! They live on the premises with their adorable daughter Jennifer. Edoardo gave us a fantastic tour of the neighborhood and many recommendations for places to eat and to visit and which buses to take! It was wonderful! We felt so welcomed like we were visiting family!! We loved our room (the yellow room) which was situated at the front of the house on the street. With the windows closed and the air conditioner on the noise level was just fine for us at night. One morning we even slept in until 10:30am no problem! But remember, Florence is a city, you're not out in the countryside so, if you're ultra-sensitive to noise just request a room at the back of the house away from the street. But this neighborhood is pretty quiet at night for a city neighborhood, much more so than the more touristy areas. It is just a quick bus ride to anything you'd want to see making this location perfect when visiting Florence! The garden was lovely (complete with bunnies!!) and we enjoyed breakfast & a cappuccino everyday right next door. We would definitely come here again and would recommend this lovely guesthouse to anyone without hesitation!! Grazie mille Edoardo e Celia! You helped make our stay in Firenza perfect!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank the-way-2-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

A quality meal with stunning scenery of what I call the pyjama church.
I had stuffed rabbit followed by park and cannelloni beans which WA fantastic.
A great little stop over between Rome and Florence.
The ride up from the freeway rovers great views overlooking greenery. Simply stunning

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lianne y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 659 in Florence
830 reviews
B&B Monte Oliveto
#2 of 659 in Florence
409 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 659 in Florence
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
3B Bed & Breakfast
3B Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 659 in Florence
207 reviews
Santa Croce
La Maison du Sage
La Maison du Sage
#5 of 659 in Florence
241 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#4 of 659 in Florence
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio d'Oro

Address: Via Antonio Pacinotti 11, 50131, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $83 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A CHARMING GUESTHOUSE WITH GARDEN IN THE CENTRE OF FLORENCE, HAVE A LOOK AT THE PICTURES AND SEND US A E MAIL TO CHECK THE AVAILABILITY!!!!Edo and Celia are delighted to welcome you in their typical tuscan home recenlty renovated and is situated close to the historical center of florence. This brend new guest house typical italian style, offers its guests warm and elegant hospitality at very advantageous prices, just few steps away from the town center. The building has been completely renovated strictly following the rules of tuscan old craft's style and Its charme can be recognized in the red tuscan tiles, the pietra serena staircase, and the intimate walled garden. The bedrooms, furnished in delicate pastel colours, terracotta tilling, and the original doors, are all euqipped with en-suite bathrooms, Colour Tv, Wi-fi internet acces, and full bath & bedlinen's set. Edo and celia will be glad to inform guests about monuments, sites of interest and florence surroundings, as well as on the schedule of all events exhibitons, shows and concerts. "Giglio d'oro" as your own private home in florence, gives you the freedom of come and go 24 hours a day. Please inform us on your arrival time and will be glad to welcome you and leave you both the room and the front door key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Giglio d`Oro Bed And Breakfast
Il Giglio d`Oro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing