We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Best in Florence”
Review of B.O.r.G.O.

B.O.r.G.O.
Reserve with
B.O.r.G.O. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #160 of 3,063 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: USD 28 - USD 45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Description: An extra-ordinary journey to rediscover the taste of the ordinary.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited B.O.r.G.O last month as part of a week in Italy for my partner's 30th birthday and it was the best food we had all week. The restaurant decor makes a really nice setting for the meals they serve.

The menu is the perfect (and really cute as it's hand written) and has some very unique dishes that have taken inspiration from all over Italy and beyond.

And the owner Gabriele is absolutely incredible (sorry for keeping you for a full hour talking about your restaurant and the incredible things you are doing) with impeccable service.

You really must visit B.O.r.G.O as Gabriele and the Head Chef are really going places. Wish I could go back regularly! Thanks B.O.r.G.O

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 43adamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrieleO291, Proprietario at B.O.r.G.O., responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Adam,
Thank you so very much for your nice words about B.O.r.G.O and me. Really!!!! Could not find a better way to explain what we are trying to do at B.O.r.G.O, and sincerely we hope to deserve all what you have written and described.
We hope also to be able to see you again and we will do our utmost to keep doing as best as we can knowing that we will make mistakes and learn from them.
Thank you again from us all!
Fondly
Gabriele Orsolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

My wife and I ate here our last night in Florence and it was an amazing meal to end an amazing visit. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the food was some of the best we had during our stay in Italy. Next time we are in Florence, we definitely plan on coming back to B.O.r.G.O.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Ezekiel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrieleO291, Proprietario at B.O.r.G.O., responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your experience and that you decided to share with others.
We hope to welcome you soon.
Yours
Gabriele Orsolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

My family and I are not usually ones to write a lot of Trip Advisor reviews - mostly because we know how some people don't usually trust the site at all - but we needed to come back and write a few words about BORGO. We have been in Florence for a few nights & this was easily one of our favourite meals. Serious attention to detail, great organic selection of food, blends of flavours, great music and really a home feeling in the small restaurant. Top, top, top - go check it out!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rag06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

The most wonderful experience in Firenze !
Unbelievable food , new original recipes with the best ingredients . Gabriel the owner makes you feel at home and he is the master head of this amazing culinary experience !!!
We can’t wait to come back !! Thank you so much for your Hospitality!!!
Sergio, Denysse & Nicholas from Florida , US

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank denyssealvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrieleO291, Proprietario at B.O.r.G.O., responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Wow!!! Denysse and Nicholas can't stop reading you review about B.O.r.G.O.
Thank you so very much. Hope to see you soon.
Fondly
Gabriele Orsolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

This restaurant is located in San Frediano, a rather hip and on-the-radar neighbourhood in Florence. It is slightly off the beaten path and on the two occasions I visited for lunch there were no tourists. And yet, it is within 15 min walking to some of the most intense tourist streets.
Food is eclectic, and there should be something for everyone but without a crazy large menu. There is clearly a respect for tradition and choice ingredients, but also a willingness to experiment with flavors. Presentation could be improved, as the colors of dishes seem somewhat monochrome. I also sometimes wish for more contrast in flavors, they are treading cautiously. On the other hand this means that flavors are coherent and balanced, if a bit safe.
Service has been courteous, friendly and competent. At 40-50 euro per person I think you get good value and a full meal with good wine.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RobbieJey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriele O, Proprietario at B.O.r.G.O., responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Robbie
Thank you for your review and for sharing with us your opinion about what we could do to improve.
Next week we will start with the new menu and hope you have the chance to come back and see if we have done a good job (either with colors and contrasts In flavors).
Thank you very much again.
Gabriele Orsolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed B.O.r.G.O. also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to B.O.r.G.O.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing