We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long live Francesco”

Florence Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Florence Youth Hostel
Ranked #212 of 305 Speciality Lodging in Florence
montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“long live Francesco”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

owing to a mistake I made in my booking coupled with a stollen credit card-my booking at the Hostel was cancelled. When my wife arrived with our two bikes and no reservations Francesco quickly intervened and solved our problem within 20 minutes. He got us another hotel room nearby and did so with a great attitude and cheer. We stayed in the Hostel 6 days later after our bike trip in Tuscany. The location is great-but the noise from the street below can be quite loud- bring earplugs. Overall I would recommend this hostel to budget travellers who don't need luxuries-but are interested in being in the heart of the action as well as being taken good care of by the staff.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tenskibik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
200 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

the location is perfect. it is in the center of the florence. the rooms are a little bit small but they are ok. i would go there again. the bathrooms were shared but they were clean. there is lock out form 10 am to 2 pm but you are going to florence you should be visiting some places during these hours. i stayed in a 3 bed private room and there was a fridge and a tap in our room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kubraso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed in Florence Youth Hostel in February for 2 nights. It was a last-minute change of plan as our other accommodation had been cancelled on us so we booked online and sent a direct email to the hostel in the morning to notify them of our arrival that evening. When we arrived to check in nobody answered the door. Thankfully there was a restaurant across the street that phoned the hostel to inform them we were waiting on their doorstep. The owner met us on the street and took us upstairs to our room. The room was fairly clean but we were only provided with one towel. The shared amenities were small but very clean. There was wi-fi internet access included in the price, as well as a communal computer for guests without their own. The breakfast was not included but was only 2.50 euro for a full breakfast of toast, scrambled eggs, cereal, cake, coffee, tea, fruit. The hostel itself was not noisy at night but the street below was particularly loud, even with the windows closed. It was close to many attractions of Florence.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed at 5 different places in Italy and this was one of my favorites. Even though I was only here for a night, it felt like a week. The staff here were so kind and generous with their time. Francesco especially really helped us with things that were well above and beyond the call of duty.

The vibe of the place is great and you can see it's well cared for. It's right around the corner from the Uffizi, and centrally located for lots of other fun sights. We had a double private room and I slept great. You can hear stuff from other rooms so I do recommend ear plugs. It didn't bother me though. Our room had a ceiling fan and was cool. I would think it would be a very nice break from the heat during the summer months. One thing to note is that they discontinued the breakfast, they said about a week before we got there. I was very disappointed by this because we had chosen to stay here partly based on that. But everything else more than made up for that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I kind of felt like I was on a high school overnight field trip where the teacher forces you turn out lights at a certain time, you can't be trusted,etc - you know what I'm talking about? This place locks you out from 10-14h, there's no great communal room for everyone to meet and greet like many of the better hostels I've stayed at, & the wifi TURNS OFF @midnight...and I'm unable to think of a valid reason for this happening, especially at a price much higher than other hostels I've stayed in. It was nice that they clean up your bed and fold your towel... Overall, it was fine, and the location can't be beat. Just be prepared for limited freedom while there...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosselliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Youth Hostel Firenze 2000
#410 of 675 in Florence
117 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#24 of 305 in Florence
374 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#10 of 305 in Florence
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#19 of 305 in Florence
187 reviews
Ostello del Chianti
#8 of 32 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
49 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#13 of 305 in Florence
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Youth Hostel

Property: Florence Youth Hostel
Address: Via della Condotta 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 305 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price range (per night): $30 - $133
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Florence Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Youth Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing