We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, fresh pasta”
Review of Trattoria Mario

Trattoria Mario
Ranked #66 of 2,703 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: San Lorenzo
Description: From 1st March 1953. We are open only for lunch, we haven't the freezer, we don't make reservation. No credit card and bancomat. ATTENZIONE SIAMO APERTI SOLO A PRANZO DAL LUNEDI AL SABATO COMPRESI E CHIUSI LA DOMENICA E TUTTI I GIORNI FESTIVI OLTRE AL MESE DI AGOSTO PER FERIE. NO BRUNCH NO COLAZIONI NO CONSEGNA NO CENA NO DOPO MEZZANOTTE.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh pasta”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My friend and I went were in Florence and this restaurant was recommend to us. We took some time to find this gem but it was worth it! The pasta is so fresh and delicious. The steaks were definitely a popular menu item. Get there early to beat the local lunch crowd. The inside is small and be prepared to share your table with other diners, which just adds to the vibrant and bustling atmosphere. I just referred some friends to this restaurant for their upcoming trip. Will definitely be back here whenever I go back to Firenze.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rhi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,470
    952
    184
    55
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ingleby Barwick UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Itaian Experience”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This is not a restaurant for a romantic lunch but an experience in Tuscan hopsitality. Get there early as it is full immediately with a mixture of locals, workmen and a variety of tourists who you will share a table with as every seat is at a premium here.

The menu is on the wall in Italian and the staff make an effort to try and explain the dishes to you, but this is an experience of culture and getting to know your neighbour.

The food is delicious and so rustic....the wine good and all for a very reasonable price.....I shall be returning as marios is where the Florentines eat...just make sure you avoid Mario's meat cleaver as he chops your steak!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harryc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, nice ambiance!”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed in line for 20min then joined two persone at their table which was great experience. I enjoyed the food really much. Sides were simple and much lower than the quality of the food.
We tried beef stew and ravioli and both were great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Semomir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I was expecting more”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

When I read all the excellent reviews this restaurant had on tripadvisor, I decided to go ahead and try it. This little hole in the wall only opens for lunch and is so famous it can take up to 2 hours to get in! I dont know if it was for the waiting and me starving or what. But I didn't love it. It was not bad, but it wasn't great. I had the pasta and someone else was having beef ... that looked really good. I regret not ordering that. Anyway, they change the menu everyday so probably I had bad luck that day.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anabella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santarem, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of my greatest food experiences”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The bad things first: getting a table can be complicate and takes time.
Relax, sit down in the sidewalk and wait for your turn.
Choose a dish of each kind (there are not so many choice) and enjoy the real and great taste of food.
Congrats. Great restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PauloTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Mario also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing