We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks here for a conference”
Review of Hotel Oasi Neumann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oasi Neumann
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2017

My wife and I shared a room here for two weeks while I attended a conference at the nearby Palazzone. The staff at the hotel was incredibly nice and helpful. The rooms were always clean, and the breakfasts were good. However, no air conditioning, and the Wi-Fi was pretty poor. It is about a kilometer downhill from the cute little town of Cortona, which we visited every day of our trip and never really grew bored of.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2014

The setting of the hotel is spectacular and our room had a great view of both the well-manicured garden and the valley beyond. That said, the rooms are quite spartan and the bathrooms are very small. Others have mentioned a mini-bar but we lacked that and a small fridge would have been nice to cool water for hiking. The tap water never runs really cold. There is an elevator and not every Italian hotel has one. The staff were friendly and helpful. You can borrow glasses from the bar area (which you would want to enjoy purchased Tuscan wines). The meals were generally quite plain. There was no toaster available at breakfast and the bread was somewhat dry. We were there for a week and, after the first couple of days, they did provide boiled eggs to augment the cold meat, cheese and pastries. The dinners were tasty but never anything notable. Our best meals were at two local restaurants in Cortina. The hotel is outside the town and it is an uphill walk into Cortina but there is an escalator for part of the climb. They do provide a laundry service but it is expensive and does take two full days as they air dry the clothes. They also have some problems keeping clothing sorted - two of my husband's shirts were returned to two other rooms. Overall it is a decent 3 star hotel that depends rather heavily on its setting and history to appeal to tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Fairly big hotel located in the thick walls of an old monastery. Quite clean, with a pleasant garden. A bit below the town proper; requires a 15-minute hike (a bit uphill) to reach the main square. Lain on a hillside, offers nice sweeping views of the town and countryside. Decent service. The cleaners and kitchen staff typically speak no English. Breakfasts are rather simple (bread, croissants, sausage, cheese, yoghurt), lunches and dinners mean typical simple Italian fare as the locals know it. Generally ok, but not highly inspirational. Other than the pleasant garden, no sports facilities. Free WiFi, but only in the foyer and hallways, doesn't reach into the rooms.Fairly spacious rooms with heavy furniture, austere design. Equiped with bathroom (and Italian sockets). Clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nostramadeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

For a 3 star, great----garden and terrace in back beautiful with stunning view---rooms very sparse, simple but clean. Front desk staff superb, free wifi in common area. Small clean bathroom
Only drawback food-breakfast buffet only ok and meals there not recommended. Perfect launch to to see Cortona without being in middle of town. I had beautiful view of countryside fields. No a/c but being old stone monastery kept temp not too bad!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Folkgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

When we arrived we were asked if we wanted a view of the countryside or the garden. We said the countryside but were disappointed with the room's view, so they moved us to a garden view room. The view was of the garden and in the distance the Tuscan hills and a lake. We knew at that point why we had come to Tuscany. BEAUTIFUL! In unison we said "Aaaaahhhhh! There is nothing like opening the window and the shutters to such magnificence. It was a very peaceful stay. This is probably not the hotel for you if you are looking for excitement. The room was very simple but with an Italian flair. There were wonderfully extra heavy blankets for cold nights. There were very few people when we were there and the breakfast was simple but sufficient. We walked the 15 minutes up the hill to Cortona several times and it was quite a walk uphill when you are out of shape, but well worth taking in the wildflowers, Wisteria covered arbors (we were there mid April), and the patchwork countryside. The staff was very professional, friendly, and helpful. We loved our stay and would most definitely return. Be sure to read the history of the hotel before you go and it will enhance your appreciation of where you are. The only slight negative was that the shower was very small but we found this to be true throughout Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Traveler032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortona
0.8 km away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 23 in Cortona
458 reviews
2.3 km away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#6 of 23 in Cortona
415 reviews
3.5 km away
Residence Il Casale
Residence Il Casale
#18 of 23 in Cortona
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#4 of 23 in Cortona
416 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
323 reviews
4.6 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasi Neumann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasi Neumann

Address: Via Le Contesse n. 1, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range: AU$111 - AU$743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasi Neumann 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
…A few yards from the mighty Etruscan/Medieval walls of Cortona, in a beautiful, unique panoramic spot stands the ancient Santa Maria alle Contesse Monastery (the present-day Hotel Oasi Neumann). The interesting history of this venue, destined to last more than seven centuries, started between 1225 and 1230. Ideal for a holiday devoted to art, culture and mysticism, and particularly suited for those seeking peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Oasi Neumann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasi Neumann Cortona
Oasi Neumann Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing