We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, private setting for a restful vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Front Entrance La Colonica
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Entrance La Colonica
Living Room La Colonica Living Room - facing the garden - La Colonica
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Front Entrance La Colonica
Living Room La Colonica
Living Room - facing the garden - La Colonica
Living Room with log-burning fireplace - but there is also AC
Bedroom: Four Poster bed La Colonica
Four Poster bed La Colonica
This bedroom can be Twin or Double
This Bedroom can be Double or Twin
Dining La Colonica
Kitchen La Colonica
Bathroom: La Colonica has 2 bathrooms and 1 half-bath
View from Dining Patio
Dining Patio
Front Garden La Colonica
Secret Garden La Colonica
Front Garden La Colonica
Sculpture Garden La Colonica
Garden
Garden
On the way to Cortona ...
Cortona is minutes away
Siena - a short drive through beautiful countryside
Explore San Gimignano and Chianti region
Assisi - a lovely drive passing Lake Trasimeno, Perugia, poppies
Florence is 1 hour away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dee H
Puslinch, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, private setting for a restful vacation”
Reviewed 3 December 2011 for a stay in May 2011

A wonderful Villa!

This villa is wonderful! I wholeheartedly agree with everything all the other reviewers have said! You will fall in love with the villa, the people, the markets, the hill towns, the food and the wine. David and Cesare made us feel welcome right from the get-go, allowing us to drop off our luggage (we arrived too early to check in) while we went to explore our first town and market.
This was the first of 3 villas that we stayed at on our Italy-France adventure. By far, it was the best! It was just wonderful to sit on our patio in the evening and watch the twinkling of lights of distant hill towns across the valley.
Don't hesitate to visit La Colonica. We hope to be back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, security, backyard privacy
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed 3 December 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Your previous review
Special times
Your warm trusting hospitality starts via e-mail long before we enter the haven that La Colonica provides. Following a magical visit in 2008, we are back.
We love the calm, peaceful, quiet of La Colonica with the only sounds being happy sounds of birdsong, churchbells…
We love the darkness at night when sleep comes easily and the soft light of day that reflects the gently colours of early Spring.
We are in awe of the age of the buildings we see – so rare in a young country like South Africa.
We have valued each of your recommendations – the tour list is brilliant. Florence’s irresistible beauty; we did so appreciate your booking our Uffizi visit for us and found the Botticelli hall worth the effort. We quickly reverted to the Café Concerto Paskowsky on the Piazza della Repubblica where we could escape the huge crowds.
We love Cortona and it is worth the walk up to Santa Margherita and the Fortress; also Lucignano, Montepulciano, Pienza and the very quiet 4 magical villages (not even a cappucino to be had on a Sunday!). So enjoyed the local restaurants.
Thanks for attending to all our needs so willingly and kindly. Special times!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Warm hospitality and access to such beautiful Tuscan villages and recommendations for restuarants and day trips by hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueweave...
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Peace, Joy and Beauty”
Reviewed 3 December 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Set at the south end of the tiny town of Marciano della Chiana in Tuscany, La Colonica is amazingly ideal for exploring this part of Italy, and for relaxing, if ever you want a quiet day to revitalize during your touring. David and Cesare, the owners, are as good as it gets for touring advice and directions, and are readily available to help. They have many car tours to share, from Cortona to Assisi to Siena and Orvieto. David has many great restaurant suggestions nearby.

We have stayed there twice now in the past 4 years and have nothing but praise for all. I was under the weather during our last visit, and David (who is English) and their housekeeper went with me into the town, introduced me to the Doctor they had contacted, and waited with me until I had a prescription, then walked me to the drug store...wonderful attention and hospitality!
La Colonica has all the amenities, great privacy, beautiful views to east to Cortona and the mountains, particularly in the evenings and it's really well located, south of Florence, just a few kilometers from the A1 Autostrada to Florence and Rome, yet so quiet and removed from the bustle of towns and cities.

This is one of our two most favorite places to go the Europe...ahh, Italia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the thoroughness of the owners
Liked least: Nothing really..one has to unlock the gates to the compound to enter and exit, yet that security provides a great sense of peace and privacy.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla...
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect way to enjoy Italy!”
Reviewed 2 December 2011 for a stay in April 2010

La Colonica is perfect,.... beautifully decorated, gorgeous view of the countryside, centrally located. It is the perfect location whether you're looking to stay put or travel around Tuscany. David and Cesare are wonderful hosts with suggestions for anything. We spent the first week in April at La Colonica, the weather was gorgeous every day. Our visit could not have been better. You will love La Colonica!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting outside, looking at the countryside.... morning, afternoon or evening!
Liked least: Having to leave this beautiful little villa and return home!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Tuscany”
Reviewed 1 December 2011 for a stay in January 2011

"This is a well equipped, very comfortable house in a lovely setting. Our 2 week stay in winter was great and the house is very warm and cosy with the open fire a real bonus on cold nights. Everything listed in the description was provided and the ideas for day trips and restaurants were great. The house is in a perfect location to visit Cortona, Assisi,San Gimignano, and many other intersting towns. A day trip to Florence is easy with a short drive to the railway station. David's recommendation of a local pasta shop was good and we went there several times to buy lovely home made pasta and sauces. We loved the house and it was a home away from home. It would be ideal to share with friends as there is plenty of room and even two bathrooms. We will recommend it to our friends. "

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the house and the peaceful setting.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing