We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous apartment, great amenities, clean...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
luckykari...
Margaret River Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment, great amenities, clean, modern and in a good location.”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about this apartment was wonderful. From the welcome I received when I was picked up at the train station and to any contact or questions I needed answered with the owner. I stayed a total of 6 weeks in this apartment. Although it is located just outside the wall of Cortona, it is only a 5 minute uphill walk to the centre piazza. It is in a quiet and safe location, and privacy was maintained at all times. There were a few days that the wifi could be a bit random, but that was in the whole town and not just where I was staying. Most of the time it was excellent.
Mirko and Vanna, the owners were excellent, and very hospitable. They both went out of their way to ensure I was happy with everything. There is a TV but I could only find programs in Italian.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The authentic character of the apartment.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood2...
Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous choice”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at 'Under The Tuscan Sun' and could not have wished for a better location. The apartment, whilst small was well equipped for the two of us and the view is simply breath taking! Great location, wonderful host, perfect! I was a little apprehensive to stay in Cortona after having visited other parts of Tuscany I thought I maybe disappointed. I did not need to worry as Cortona is simply 'beautiful'! Would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“The apartment was perfect: Great location, view, newly remodeled”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and son stayed 9 days at this apartment. It was perfect for our small family. It had one bedroom and a fold out couch for our son. It has a great view; was located in a great place; had good parking nearby; kitchen, small refrigerator, and washing machine. Mirko, his wife and Mom are super nice people and very helpful anything we needed. One night we took Mirko`s Mom`s, Vanna`s, cooking class. It was a great time; one of the highlights of our trip. To top off the great food, wine, and champagne, we were treated to a double rainbow on Vanna`s incredible terrace. This apartment is a great find and I highly recommend it. It is priced reasonably and was one of the nicest properties we stayed in our 3 weeks in Italy. We did a bunch of laundry so the washing machine was very helpful to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I liked everything about the property! I highly recommend it.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn`t like
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NotReadyF...
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tuscany Hill Towns Home Base”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Mirko and his mom Vanna were terrific hosts: funny, fascinating, genuine and welcoming. Their Cortona apartment has a living room and kitchen with a postcard view complete with stunning sunsets and sunrises. Great kitchen, bath, bedroom and courtyard. Free parking across the street, and two minutes from the main gate to the walled city. From their windows and courtyard you can see Montepulciano and Lake Trasimeno - rolling hills of small farms in hues of green, yellow, and brown stitched together like a quilt that changes with the sun. Cortona is a great base of operations for touring Tuscany's hill towns - most within an hour's drive and none more than two hours. Be sure to take the drive (approx 1.5 hrs) south to see Civita di Bagnoregio and Pitigliano.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tuscany in spring, Italian wine, cheese, pizza and fresh fruit/veggies.
Liked least: Italians (and most Europeans with AutoStrada's) drive like Indy drivers on crack. Road signs with numbers and names would be nice!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Words cannot describe our trip to Cortona. Mirko and Vanna (the owners) were two of the nicest people you will ever meet and we now consider them our friends. The views from the apartment are spectacular. Like a painting. The town of Cortona is beautiful. If Vanna offers her cooking class you must do it. Best meal we had Italy by far and the friendship we made was priceless. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mirko and Vanna9The owners) The view
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing