We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
President Hotel Splendid
Nearby Hotels
USD 415
USD 382
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
USD 150
USD 126
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 238
USD 226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 564
USD 548
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Continental(Taormina)
USD 167
USD 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Panoramic Hotel(Taormina)
USD 289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Paradiso(Taormina)
USD 274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Taodomus(Taormina)
USD 235
USD 202
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 958
USD 778
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 1,331/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 1,028
USD 906
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
50
98
84
53
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
98
84
53
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomsea viewhotel voucherthe buscable carporta messinaclean towelspool bartop floorfantastic locationsmall poolhamsconvenient locationsun terracegranitamain corsorestaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

we love going to Taormina since it is a very short flight from Malta. this hotel is situated just a few mins walk from the bus station so you don't even need a taxi to get there once you arrive from Catania airport with the shuttle bus. there is a direct bus just outside the airport which costs little and takes about one hour.
breakfast is basic but good. staff are all great and ready to help. we had booked a room which is also very basic and nothing fancy but this does not bother us since we spend very little time at the hotel. However the terrace and the view were splendid!
we recommend you go on the tours to Mt Etna but especially on the one that takes you to the Aeolian islands. It's marvellous! hotel is also just a few mins walk past Porta Messina from where you start your leisure walk in Corso Umberto.
Restaurants are plenty so fish around for menu prices first!

Room Tip: we recommend you book a room with a view as others tend to be dull
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea12303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in the President Hotel Splendid in Taormina, Sicily for the first week in August. It is a good 2 star hotel. I had to remind myself of this, as at times I expected perhaps 4 star standards and needed to keep reminding myself that this hotel is really good value for a 2 star, no frills hotel. While we were there, sunbeds were being replaced from plastic to really good wooden beds and the general pool area was given a good cleaning which was needed. The pool area itself is small but functional. In August, this area lost the sun sometime after 2 o'clock. However, there is a public terrace area on the 5th floor where the sun remained until nearly six. The beaches below may be accessed using the Cable car which is 5-10 minute walk if you prefer the beach. Towels for the beach or pool may be rented from the hotel for €3. Rooms to the front of the hotel on the 5th floor have private terraces. We were on the 2nd floor with a balcony to the front of the hotel with a limited good view of the sea and nearby mountains. Rooms on the higher floors to the front of the hotel have the better views. The hotel is ideally situated for Taormina and visiting the surrounding areas. The main street and interesting sights are all within walking distance. The room was cleaned everyday to a high standard. Towels are changed only every 3 days but when I asked at reception for clean towels, they were delivered to the room. The room we were in was basic but very clean and somewhat larger than I've come to expect in Italy generally. Breakfast was 2 star and maybe a bit disappointing. Cornflakes were the only cereal offered. However, we brought fruit to the breakfast room each morning ourselves and there was fruit juice, cheese, ham, yogourts and boiled eggs available. Breakfast was adequate to start the day. The bread and croissants were freshly baked and were good. We did the evening tour of Mt. Etna and would definitely recommend this tour. Our guide, Christy was one of the best guides we have come across and certainly added to this excellent tour. We booked the tour with our Sunway rep. using Noema Viaggi excursions. We also did the Godfather tour, which was a very pleasant tour. It was most enjoyable travelling far up to the nearby mountains to see, in particular, the village of Savoca. From Taormina itself, it is worth taking the local bus from the main bus station to Castel Mola high up above Taormina. The bus station is near the cable car station and is 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. Check the bus times first. Staff in the hotel were friendly for the most part and requests were dealt with well in general. At times, we may have had to wait. If you are looking for good accommodation, a no frills hotel that is clean and good value, then the President Hotel Splendid is the one to stay. Taormina can be expensive.

Room Tip: If you would like a private terrace with sunbeds, might be worth paying the extra for rooms on the 5th floor to the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMOP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is a great little 2* hotel located a few hundred yards from the main shopping street in Toarmina. The rooms are basic enough and small and the balconies even smaller but the good location, freindly staff and pool make up for it. The breakfast is served in a top floor room with panoramic views of the coast but be warned - if your not there before 10am sharp the grouchy guy that runs the breakfast room locks the door and throughs a strop if you try to get in at 10.02 !!

The area around the pool is very compact and everything is a tight squeeze with sunbeds, tables & chairs, but the hotel staff seem to manage it well.

The cable car that brings you down to Toarmina Mere is about a 5min walk downhill ,the bus terminal is also in the same area. The main shopping area is a 2min walk away from the hotel and there are plenty of bars / restaurants / cafes to choose from. Most of the restaurants that have a panoramic view have an additional "entree" fee ranging from €2 - €4 per person - regardless if your having a coffee or a meal you will still have to pay the fee. There are lovely little shops and eateries to be found down the side streets.

If your not too fussy about your accommodation and want a central hotel in Toarmina thats walking distance to everything this is the place to stay !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rathcoole24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Just back from week long stay in Splendid. Hotel room was basic but spotless. Hotel is perfectly situated, very central to everything. We had a sea view room with Balcony which I would recommend paying the little extra for. No air conditioning is a pain but the fan on the ceiling cooled us down a little. Pool area is lovely, as is breakfast room. Breakfast could be better, very limited selection. Staff nice & helpful. Overall would definitely recommend as a reasonably priced, clean, very central place to stay in Taormina.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TalieF74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Absolutely loved the pool which was on the second floor of the hotel. It is situated so you look out and are set perfectly in the montains with the ocean below. Definitely grab a drink from the hotel bar and head up to the roof terrace for fantastic views. Room was nice with a fabulous shower!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank carlo678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews