We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
50
8
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
8
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr fabbiano minute walk overlooking the bay mt etna apartment steps sea views terrace umberto corridor
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Pro's:

Beautifully building
Very clean
Great views from the pool area.

Con's:

Very unsafe for young kids, the safety barrier by the pool area is too far away from the tiled area meaning a little kid/toddler could fall through the gap down the side of a 100ft cliff.
Had to wait outside for half an hour as AirB&B gave us the wrong number to call.
Owner is incredibly rude, he will spend 20 mins telling you all the rules when you check in. For example: you have to take your rubbish out every day, you have to clean the shower, you have to pay extra for electricity. You are not allowed in the pool area after 7:30pm, you are not allowed to sit on the pool beds if you are wet.
Bad location, to get to the main part of the town, you have to walk up a very steep hill and then walk on a busy road which has no pavement. Most taxis won't drive down the hill as they struggle to get back up. We had to push our bags back up the hill when our airport transfer arrived.
A lot of steps in the apartment, it was 67 steps from apartment 7 to the front door, no lift in the building.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank SeanLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

It is undeniable that the view and situation of the apartments is luxury. The view is absolutely beautiful and on the whole it was peaceful as a setting. The apartment and common areas were very clean and clearly the owner takes great pride in his place.

However, there were several aspects that we found to be less than relaxing and luxury.

1- Our flight arrived two hours late meaning that we arrived at about 11pm. The sat nav could not find the apartments, and the directions were not clear that had been provided directly from the apartments meaning we got lost. We continually called the owner who at first wasn't answering and then when he did was not very helpful, seemed annoyed that we were arriving late, saying he was already in bed and pretended not to understand (as another review mentioned he decided not to understand English only when it suited him). On arrival he asked us just to take a couple of small bags to our room so that we kept quiet and not take all our luggage in. This was impossible with a case each and an 18 month old toddler in tow.

2- the room as very noisy when guests were staying in the room above. We could constantly hear scraping of furniture on the hard floors which was disturbing in the night. We had two separate guests during our stay - one set who arrived home at about 1am every night and stomped around getting ready for bed - the second set who also had a young child who woke early and ran around the apartment.

3- there wasn't anywhere comfortable to sit in the evenings in our apartment (number 4). The furniture was all very luxury and beautiful looking, but the hard upright sofa was not at all comfortable to sit in.

4- electricity restriction. The first 50kw was included in the price. Anything above this was charged for. We appreciate that for environmental reasons and for manageable costs perhaps why this is implemented. However, it doesn't make for a relaxing holiday when you are feeling that you should keep half an eye on whether you're running up a huge bill! This wasn't helped by the fact that just 9 hours after arriving the owner came back to see us and show us around the apartment, and told us that we'd already managed to use 10 of the 50 inclusive units and perhaps this was because the hot water immersion had been on all night (something of course we had no idea about!)

5- the pool is stunning! One of the nicest pools I've ever come across, and even my husband agreed (who dislikes swimming pools at the best of times!) However, the pool was cold - uncomfortably so. If it was just a few degrees warmer it would have been perfect. It was solar heated and it seemed like it would have benefited from a boost in heat to make it more useable.

6 - similar places we have stayed have had a cleaner each day to do the basics of a very quick clean, bed make, bin empty. There is no cleaner here at all which is not a major problem for a the week that we stayed. But, be warned you will need to carry your bin bag up the steep hill each day (as the owner advises you to do) or you gets ants. You will see the ants if you drop so much as a small morsel of food on the floor - they appear almost immediately. There is also no dishwasher, so you will need to do washing up.

7- it is a very steep hill to walk into town. This is fine and manageable if you're fit and healthy. If not, look for elsewhere to stay!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

I have stayed at the finest five star hotels in Taormina in the past, and after this experience, I would not stay anywhere else but here for our future return. The place was amazing and exceeded our expectations. We loved our apartment and Mr. Fabbiano was an exceptional host. The comfort, quality, security and tranquility of the place felt like home and we wished we could have stayed longer.

We rented a 2 bedroom apartment. Our terrace was huge and had the most spectacular view of Etna, the sea, and the towns below that sparkle in the night. Mr. Fabbiano showed me a local Market to buy fresh meats, fish and fruit/vegetables and I enjoyed the days that I learned to cook some traditional Sicilian dishes. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could need to cook a meal and eat on china and drink anything from espresso to wine.

The apartment was spotless and the grounds were immaculate. Everything is beautifully maintained. The decor is beautiful and there is so much antique beauty with modern day conveniences like A/C, gas stove and oven, Wifi, and a laundry room.

As a comment to the reviews about the walk to town, please do not let this deter you. The walk was no more then 10 minutes and we didn't mind it at all. If you didn't want to walk up the hill, just hire a taxi, it was only 10 euro to take a cab from the Corso Umberto to the apartment.

Cannot wait to return!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jend345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We stayed at the Luxury Residence Taormina for two nights during our honeymoon, it was exactly what we wanted! Tucked away down a quiet lane away from the hustle and bustle of the main town centre but only 5 minutes walk! Immaculate apartments kitted out with everything you need, romantic views of the coast and volcano and an extremely friendly and helpful owner. We had a great stay here and would highly recommend!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy021184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We had a wonderful week in Taormina staying at the luxury residence. Excellent apartment with stunning views of the bay and Edna. Very nice terrace to enjoy wine & snacks whilst enjoying the view. Too many nice resturants here to even think about cooking? But all facilities are there if you want. It's also very peaceful with the town a 10 minute walk away--perfect! Do not believe certain other reviews re the busy road. It is an easy short stroll. Yes it is steep for about 100 yard, but this is Taormina, the resort is built on a cliff? Everywhere in Taormina involves walking up & down? It is beautiful. The owner is on hand for any advice without being intrusive. We cannot recommend any higher!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkwithfaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews