We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip to Taormina”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to Taormina”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

From the first welcoming cocktail, you know this place is different. Yes it is beautiful and yes it sits high above the plain with a clear view of Mount Etna ... fantastic enough. But the sense of dedication and care that the staff offers is in another realm altogether. They envelope you in their world and you won't want to leave. The food prepared onsite is wonderful and imagine eating on a beautiful evening watching the lava flow from the volcano. You know you want to go ... do it now.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building with small patios are a good bet. But its all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiorentinaMezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,823
    149
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
246
1,375
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

one of the most scenic hotels in italy.a true gem with excellent service especially paolo at the front desk and friendly sagar with the shuttle.the lobby with the views down to the bay is perfect with a nice bar.excellent breakfast. a true gem

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svohramd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

What a hotel it is! i have no words to explain my stay at the hotel....splendid! Perfect staff with the perfect scenery!
Thank you for making my trip so awesome guys!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manek g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albenga, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at Villa Ducale during the last two nights of our Sicilian tour. Everything is like you would expect following Tripadvisor's reviews: the location is stunning, with breathtaking views. Despite being up the hill, you can reach the centre with a 20 minutes walk (stairs going down) or with their efficient shuttle. All the lobby staff (reception, bar, bellboys) were excellent with familiar and friendly attitude. The room was nice, newly decorated. Only negative points: not spotlessly cleaned (dust in the bathroom, on the hairdrier and mold in the shower hanger), noisy air-con system, low water pressure and broken ceiling in the wardrobe.
Breakfast was very good with home-made products. A drink on the terrace watching the sunset and the Etna is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryhotelsdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear friend from Albenga, Italy,
thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and loved our breakfast so much as well as the nice feeling you had with our lovely staff.
I also wish to apologize with you for the unconvenience of your room as per your decription. You were right the room was just ok and not perfect as per our usual very high standard of quality. As you say this room had completely refurbished like most rooms and our lobby wich we enlarged and made it more comfortable and chic; what happened is that we had 48 hours of thunderstorm and strong rain just before your arrival wich prevented us from preparing the room as we normally do. This is our fault of course and again I truly apologize with you. The hotel was full as usual and could not move you to another room.
We kindly ask you to come again to Villa Ducale so that we can show you that it was only an exceptional event and we are well aware that this will never happen again in the future.
Myself and my wife want to thank you again for the praises and compliments and high mark you gave to us.
Kind regards,
Fam. Quartucci, the owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We arrived in Taormina for family holiday of 5 days with our two teenage boys, during Feb half term. From the outset all the staff at this stylish Sicilian villa made us feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The villa is run by a team of dedicated staff providing an attentive and personalised service . Our villa was set in a glorious hillside setting overlooking the bay of Taormina, complete with both outdoor heated jacuzzi and indoor whirlpool bath.The rooms were fully furnished luxuriously with authentic Sicilian furniture.
The breakfasts served on the main villa veranda were splendid with magnificent views of a snow capped Etna . Additional meals could be ordered in the villa lounge area on request.One evening we enjoyed specially ordered fresh fish which was sourced locally . Also the staff recommended several excellent local restaurants which can be easily accessed by their wonderful complimentary shuttle service into town and back. We would definitely stay at this villa again and would recommend it highly!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ROBO132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,780 reviews
0.9 km away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
835 reviews
1.8 km away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.5 km away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
876 reviews
0.6 km away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price range (per night): $288 - $906
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing