We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Something special”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Ella

Seated area to front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seated area to front
Spacious and private roof terrace Teatro-Greco and Mount Etna
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Seated area to front
Spacious and private roof terrace
Teatro-Greco and Mount Etna
Taormina from Madonna della Rocca
Casa Ella
The house and street
Living room with balcony to front
Downstairs kitchen
Espresso time
Downstairs showeroom
Second floor hall landing
Large bedroom to rear
Large bedroom en-suite
Twin bedroom with balcony to front
Dining area to rear with kitchen and barbeque
Roof terrace kitchen
The neighbours, Erminia and Marcello
Bambar owner, Saro
The local baker
Cute
Isola Bella
Teatro-Greco
Piazza IX Aprile
The local cafe, Bambar. Try the granitas, buonissime!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
PFloody
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Something special”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our first time in Sicily and what a heavenly introduction Casa Ella provided. Right from the slow ascent to Taormina in our taxi, through the winding streets of the town that had outside diners moving their seats to allow the car to squeeze by, we knew we were in for something special.
And the accommodation, nestled in a lovely neighbourhood just moments from the shops, squares, bars and restaurants of Corso Umberto, was as impressive as the preview photos hinted – spotless, convenient, modern, equipped but with plenty of original-features charm.
You could happily spend a day at base, breakfasting on fresh rolls from the bakery, taking in the sounds and sights of the town from the roof-top terrace after stocking up on treats from the delicatessen below, beating the queues with an early granita at Bam Bar and then a lazy lunch at Myle next-door before a well-earned siesta.
Other adventures lie just yards away, with a pose on the promenade of Corso Umberto a must before and after a punt in the fabulous restaurants of Taormina. The cable car down to the stunning Isola Bella beach soon became a daily ritual – as did a rewarding beer after negotiating the many steps back up to the road.
I'd also recommend a hop-on hop-off tour, mostly for the breathtaking views from Castelmola, and, if the organised chaos of Isola Bella gets too much, a more relaxed day by the pool and beach at Paradise Beach Club in Letojanni.
A fantastic holiday destination made all the more special by Casa Ella.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge3886
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful property in a picturesque town.”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It was our first family holiday to Sicily and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Ella. It is a pretty house that blends traditional Sicilian features with just the right touches of modernity. Corso Umberto is moments away, however the house is at a perfect distance from this in a quieter part of town. We are a family of four and we found the house to be spacious and well equipped. The terrace is very large, has a great barbecue and separate seating area, which enabled us to spend some of our evenings 'in'. The owners of the house were very helpful and professional from the time of booking, to our return. Isabella is their representative in Taormina and she was very informative and able to answer any queries that we had during out stay. We ate at several of the recommended restaurants and visited the recommended beach clubs. We had a fabulous stay at Casa Ella and we hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: No wi-fi.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroofs1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location, beautifully maintained villa in the heart of Taormina”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Extremely comfortable and well equipped, with added bonus of air-conditioning in every room, which was well appreciated in the high season! Excellent location with shops, bakery and restaurants literally on your doorstep. The owners Chris and Pauline were very helpful and responsive throughout our stay. Overall highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and presentation of the villa
Liked least: Would be good to have wifi access in the villa
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugenot
UK
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We absolutely loved this beautiful, stylish townhouse. It is spacious, comfortable and fantastically well equipped. There’s an entryphone system on every floor, air conditioning, comfortable beds, ipod speakers in every room (even the roof terrace). The kitchen has everything you could possibly need down to a cooler box. What I particularly liked is that there were bits and pieces in the cupboard left from previous visitors so we didn’t have to go and buy all the basics like olive oil, salt & pepper, teabags when we might only cook the occasional meal in. Some holiday lets always throw away these leftovers. We left some Marsala wine and a bottle of white wine in the fridge – hope the people after us enjoyed them!

The only things which would improve this house are a retractable awning on the roof to give some shade as it is a mega suntrap and WiFi. It is possible to pick up WiFi from the Myle Restaurant or the Bam Bar if you stand on the 1st floor balcony but it is slow and a bit unreliable.

As some other postings say, there was some occasional noise from the bakery in the morning but this was not intrusive - the smell is divine and the convenience of being able to nip down first thing for freshly baked bread and croissants is worth it. If you think it might bother you, take earplugs or drink more wine.

If you fancy lunch in, the deli next door the other side makes up fresh paninis which are delicious. (3-5 euros). They also sell water, wine, staple ingredients and Sicilian specialities. There is a grocery store just around the corner and street stalls nearby selling fresh fruit and vegetables.

The location of the house is brilliant. The Greek Theatre, main shopping drag and bus station are all within easy walking distance.

We caught the airport bus from Catania to Taormina. Just turn right out of the arrivals hall and there is a booth to buy tickets. They run once an hour and take about 75 minutes. It is very reasonable. It detours a little round Catania and Giardini Naxos but we thought this a bonus to have a little tour. The only downside is the uphill walk from the bus station in Taormina but you can take your time. The views are fabulous. There are no toilets on the bus.

We would unreservedly recommend Casa Ella and would stay there again tomorrow!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Would have liked a little shade on the roof terrace to sit and watch the world go by
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelLas...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Taormina stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Casa Ella for 5 days in June while the Film Festival was on. The location could not be better, in amongst the lovely bars and restaurants and a short distance away from several beautiful beaches.

The house itself is equips with everything you could need, we loved that the roof terrace has it's own kitchen for when you want to do a BBQ (including a little fridge so you don't have to go downstairs for a prosecco top up!).

The local agent, Isabella, really looked after us and gave us tips of where to go. One of the air conditioning units stopped working but the owner had it fixed rally quickly, and even had the neighbouring bar owners check on us as we walked by to make sure it was ok and to see if they could do anything. We felt very looked after!

There's is a little shop next door for your every day supplies and even a gym a few doors down if you want to balance out all the good Sicilian food you will be consuming!

A lovely place to stay we couldn't believe our luck when we arrived, and we plan to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and equipment
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing