We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveller rating
449
453
177
69
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
453
177
69
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus sea view cable car deep pool non swimmers bowl of fruit sicilian buffet hot and cold food short walk pool area the cliff half board lovely hotel hotel grounds corso umberto every evening plenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Overall I would recommend the Ariston, and would return. It is situated near to the shops and restaurants of Taormina and right next to the bus station which made travelling around very easy. Staff are very friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable.

One thing I would recommend is that if you have all your drinks and meals on a tab pay daily so you can keep a track or if paying before checking out scrutinise the invoice before paying as we returned to the UK to find they had charged 44 euros for something of which we have no idea what it was and know it was incorrect as that was the day we went to Etna so were not in the hotel for most of the day.

Room tip: Pay extra for a sea view room as the rear rooms face the hillside (feet from the balcony) with a wire mesh to prevent subsidance.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We spent one night at Hotel Ariston.
The location is lovely, views from the balcony more than stunning and we were very lucky to meet a very lovely receptionist man who helped us greatly.
It is very central and in walking distance to so many things
We didnt try the swimming pool but it did look lovely
Thank you all, we had a lovely time. (I hope you pay your reception team well! They do a fabulous job - amazing chap!)

Room tip: Stunning views from floor 1 upwards
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Excellent hotel. Although there are some steep slopes and stairs this is unavoidable due to the hotel being built into the side of a cliff face but it does have the advantage of beautiful views along the coast. Ideally located for the cable car [less than ten minutes walk] and bus station [ less than five minutes walk]. Staff do seem to be a little bit on the serious side, apart from Pepe in the dining room, but their professionalism, service and assistance is second to none. Rooms were clean and kept clean, well stocked, and the bowl of fruit with a bottle of sparkling was most welcome on arrival.
The food was very much to our liking with good hot and cold variety at breakfast and the best coffee I have had out of a machine. We ate out a few times for our evening meal in the main part of the town where you are spoilt for choice but found that the set five course menu at the hotel was good food,excellent service and comparatively excellent value for money.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank tomccafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Good location if able bodied. We had superior sea view rooms which had a great view but the beds and pillows were hard, and the towels poor quality. Breakfasts were plentiful but cheap products and the only fruits in abundance were melon, pineapple and kiwi. No fresh orange juice for the entire week. It was powdered from a machine.... when I asked for some fresh juice,we were told there was none.
When we stayed, there were terrific storms otherwise we would not have eaten in the hotel for our evening meal... the dining room and bar were dark and gloomy to say the least. The food not good. The hotel needs money spending on it and some pleasant front of house staff.Wouldn’t return.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ClaireLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

I have just returned from a weeks holiday staying at the hotel Ariston in Taormina.
There was 10 of us in our group all women aged between mid 50s to early 70s .
Some had booked a superior room which meant they had a sea view which was lovely I had a standard room which faced a cliff side . Our room was quite large compared to the others in the group even those that had a superior one . The room was cleaned daily but the coffee and milk were not always topped up . There were two bath towels and two what looked like tea towels which are classed as hand towels but are not adequate for use to dry your hair etc . I did ask for more towels but was told rather curtly that we had hand towels !
The hotel is situated behind the bus station so in a good position for catching buses and also for walking into Taormina .
We booked bed and breakfast and found the food to be ok . I didn't try the cooked food as it didn't appeal to me personally but there was plenty of fresh fruit and continental style breakfast . The coffee is out of a machine but was fine and there was fruit juices and iced (slush ) drinks . The waiters were polite but not over friendly .
The pool area was fine and was not over crowded when we were there and there were sun beds but the pool only opened at the discretion of the hotel so not always open in a morning as after the end of August the season is classed as over . The pool bar was also not open all the time which meant you have to go to the hotel bar which is on another level to order a drink . The hot tub wasn't very clean nor was the water hot . Towels were free but again not always any one available to ask for one .
Drinks had to paid using the room card and settled up at the end of the holiday so on our last day we couldn't buy a drink by the pool. One of the party stayed by the pool on her own but hadn't got the room card so couldn't have a drink at all from the hotel.
We didn't eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on that but we had drinks in the bar which were fine .
There was no courtesy room and as we left the room at 10am and wasn't picked up until 6pm we had to change in the toilets which was not ideal .

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 125francesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews