We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,362)
Filter reviews
1,362 results
Traveller rating
896
299
117
25
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
299
117
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews former monastery principe cerami star michelin restaurant central courtyard leading hotels of the world beautiful hotel linen sheets classic room sea view breakfast buffet public rooms old world charm little things luxury hotel gardens are beautiful shower curtain the main street
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,362 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

This wonderful old hotel is stunningly beautiful in the most perfect location in Taormina overlooking the sea. A gentle stroll takes you through cobbled streets to the main thoroughfare in Taormina.
Our bedroom was large and spacious with very high ceilings. The large balcony had two sun loungers, a table and two chairs and an adjustable umbrella. The room was spotlessly clean with fluffy white towels and Acqua di Parma toiletries. I really missed having a kettle and tea & coffee making facilities though.
Breakfast was superb with the best choice of hot and cold buffet I have seen. The Michelin star restaurant ( Principe Cerami) should not be missed. The service was out of this world and the food was divine.
We wandered around the hotel corridors, rooms and gardens discovering stunning secret chapels and cloisters and the most wonderful ceilings- look up as you walk through the rooms. The old monastery had secret chapels,ceiling frescoes and paintings above each of the old monks' cells. Beautiful antiques adorn the corridors and rooms.The gardens were a delight with pergolas and hidden seating. You could spend hours getting lost here and enjoying the monastic atmosphere.The main bar in the central courtyard filled with lime trees should not be missed. Drinks were always accompanied by exquisite nibbles. Even the cheesy piano music ( with obligatory background Eurotrash bass beats) will be missed.
The members of staff were wonderful- hard working and always helpful.
The hotel is very, very expensive but you are paying for a unique experience in a unique hotel with the most glorious sea views.
I had only one complaint- the toilet roll was jarringly out of character with everything else in the hotel. It's cheap, single ply and nasty. It screams budget supermarket rather than exclusive hotel. If management invest in double ply, quilted loo roll- everything would be perfect!

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor of the newer 19th Century hotel with sea view and balcony are superb. The views of the sunrise are memorable.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Dear Julie G,

thank you so much for your time to review your recent stay with us at the San Domenico Palace Hotel in Taormina, where we appreciate your kind words.

We are very glad that you have chosen to have shared your beautiful experience with us regarding your wonderful stay, where your feedback will be shared with our team.

The Hotel will undergo refurbishment starting from November this year where we will put forward your comments about the toilet roll.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the San Domenico Palace Hotel in Taormina in the nearest future.

Greetings,

Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This elegant gem of a hotel is spectacularly gorgeous. Every staff member that we came in contact with treated us wonderfully. A former monestary, it has a rich history, a peaceful courtyard, beautiful gardens and jaw-dropping views of Mt. Etna and the Ionian Sea. Our stay got off to a bit of a bumpy start, but everything turned out wonderful. Our beautiful room had a view of Taormina Bay, which I could stare at all day, it is that incredible. The hotel's location is perfect for enjoying Taormina on foot, which we love. After a very long journey, which started at 10:00pm on September 6th, we arrived at the Catania airport at 7:30pm on September 7th. We had arranged to have the hotel pick us up at the airport. What a welcomed sight to have Angelo waiting for us. He was very personable and we very much appreciated his service. Our stay was only two nights, so we were not able to enjoy all of the hotel services. We did enjoy eating breakfast each morning in such a beautiful setting. Cristian Russo, Assistant Head Concierge, had arranged for a rental car to be delivered to the hotel, which was a godsend. We would not have been able to do this on our own, thank you! We spent a week in Sicily away from Taormina knowing we would return to the hotel to enjoy the last night of our amazing Sicilian vacation. Again, Cristian Russo arranged for the car rental agency to pick up the car at the hotel, a service that is priceless! We were very surprised when we were given a suite on our last night. What a gorgeous room, complete with three balconies and more jaw-dropping views of the Ionian Sea and Antico Teatro. The exemplary customer service we received has us already planning a return trip next year. The hotel provides a well needed respite from the hustle and bustle of busy Taormina, which is appreciated. Next year, we hope to stay at San Domenico for the entire trip, and utilize all that the hotel has to offer. We also hope to stay in the same suite where we spent our last night, it was that amazing. Thank you for the warm hospitality and generous spirit of all we came in contact with. It is worth splurging on such a stunning, exquisite property.
Grazie mille per la straordinaria ospitalità siciliana!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 September 2017

Dear CMezz,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review your recent stay with us at the San Domenico Palace Hotel in Taormina. It was such a joy to read your kind words of appreciation regarding your wonderful stay and your positive feedback about the Hotel and our team.
It is nice to hear that you have appreciated the location of the hotel, enjoyed your last night in our suite, breakfast and Cristian's expertise.
We do hope to welcome you back very soon and thank you again for sharing your positive comments with us.

Kind Regards,

Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

This is a drop dead gorgeous hotel and deserves its 5 star rating! An ex-monastery has been lovingly restored and the feature rooms are stunning. The entrance and beautiful courtyard greet you and make you sigh at the elegance and ambience of this hotel. Our room had a stunning balcony view of the sea, manicured gardens and Mt Etna. Cost nor than we would normally pay but so worth it for a little nod to luxury.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ros147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 September 2017

Dear Ros147,

We thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
It was a great pleasure to hear that you appreciated the history of the Hotel and the ambience of the property. We will be sharing your nice compliments of your stay with our team and looking forward to welcoming you back again soon in the nearest future.

Greetings,

Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

One of the most pleasant hotels I have ever stayed. Food & drinks, service staff and comfortable premisses make this a unique experience coupled with Taormina, a city that you never end to discover. Strongly suggest for your next hollidays.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 858mgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2017

Dear 858mgt,

Thank you so much for your time to review your recent stay with us at the San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina.
We appreciate your kind words and compliments of your overall experience, which we are happy to share with our team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future to discover some more unique things in Taormina as well in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The property is stunningly beautiful, particularly the oldest part of the complex, the former monastery. The gardens are spectacular and well worth lingering for a few minutes. The level/standard of service is very high and food quality is excellent at breakfast. And, if you want a Michelin starred treat, the prix-fixe dinner at Principe Cerami is well worth a try. The pool is comfortable, but a bit small and oddly configured for a property of this quality.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blakew277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Dear Blakew277,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the San Domenico Palace Hotel in Taormina.
It was a pleasure to have read your positive feedback regarding experiencing our property, where we are happy to share your compliments with our team.
Please note that a refurbishment is being planned starting from November 2017, where we are happy to share your suggestions regarding our pool for improvement.

We hope to welcome you soon again in the nearest future.

Kind Regards

Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews