We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 392*
USD 380*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 486*
USD 440*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Hotel(Taormina)(Great Value!)
USD 121*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 371*
USD 330*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Paradiso(Taormina)
USD 275*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 214*
USD 196*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 151*
USD 114*
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panoramic Hotel(Taormina)
USD 301*
USD 259*
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 203*
USD 193*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 1,935*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveller rating
894
299
117
25
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
894
299
117
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer monasteryprincipe ceramicentral courtyardstar michelin restaurantbeautiful hotellinen sheetsclassic roompublic roomssea viewbreakfast buffetluxury hotelcommon areasshower curtainthe main streetjunior suitebars and restaurantsmount etna
Filter
Updating list...
662 - 667 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

my second stay in this former monastry, extraordinary period rooms, stunning views from the bar, restaurant and most rooms, antique furniture make a real old world charm. I am a fan!
I liked:
-Incredible breakfast buffet served in the terrace overlooking the bay,
-Parking on the property
-professional and kind staff under Enrico's management

Room Tip: I stayed in room 368, very spacious, little loggia overlooking the sea with a view on the Italian mainland
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RolfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Beautifully restored old monestary overlooking the deep blue Ionian Sea. Rooms look out over a gorgeous garden to the sea. Probably the biggest selection of food of any breakfast buffet I've seen short of a Sunday Brunch - and, you get to stuff yourself while sitting on a bougainvillia-draped terrace overlooking the sea far below. Hard to get to - my GPS refused to get me there - so be sure to get explicit instructions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joroahen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Look this is a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting that looks out on to the sea and to Etna. The art inside the hotel is stunning. The swimming pool great so why have I only given 3 out of 5? Well little things u may say but remember this is a 5 star hotel, a leading hotel of the world whatever that means and costs a lot! So I do expect the absolute best, I don't expect at quarter past 11 at night when no one else is in the cloisters bar that I can't sit at a certain table by the surly waiter, not that I just can't sit at it but that don't I understand what reserved is? Yes actually I do but the table didn't have a reserved sign on. Equally I don't expect my car to come back from the car park covered in mess. And I don't expect wifi to be charged. Petty and small minded.To be fair the duty manager listened and sympathised and as such this review is more tepid than it could have been and I would love to go back to this hotel but as the manager said 5 star service should be taken for granted by the guests not dragged out of people.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnswlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed here at the end of May with my boyfriend and we agreed that it was truly one of the most spectacular places we have ever stayed. As a lovers of history and architecture, we were delighted by the hotel's location within a former monastery. A very unique experience. The cloisters surround lush little courtyards overgrown with bougainvillea and creeping vines. The garden, perched on a cliff that overlooks the Mediterranean, was a flash of Eden: rose bushes, orange trees, birds of Paradise, hedges made of lavender. The smell! We found the room charming and clean if not huge. The service was excellent. We were very well taken care of and the staff was extremely helpful.

Note: I am not into swanky modern hotels with tons of amenities and huge suites. If you are, this might not be the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the hotel overlooking the garden and ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor your comments , I would like to thank you for having appreciated our services.
Your satisfaction is our best reward for the efforts we make to ensure that our Guests have a
comfortable and generally enjoyable stay in our Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you at the San Domenico Palace Hotel on your next visit in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

There is no doubt that this is a fantastic hotel. The public areas are beautiful – lovely lounges, exceptionally beautiful gardens and fantastic views. The staff are very courteous and attentive, if a little snooty from time to time. The food is first class. When we were there, breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the bay. We ate twice in Les Bougainvillées restaurant which was very good indeed and recommended.

The hotel is just a short walk to the centre of this charming and chic town. They picked us up from the train station.

However, we weren’t at all impressed by our room/suite. Certainly it was large and had a nice patio area but the carpet was old and stained, the furniture chipped and the plumbing very poor. The safe did not take a laptop which meant leaving it in reception every time you went out.

Still apart from the room, we really loved it.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before checking in.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews