We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place for relaxation and recuperation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Have just got back from a weeks stay at the San Domenico Palace. A truly delightful place, we went there for rest and relaxation and thats what we got. The situation of the hotel is idyllic and the buildings, which are an old monastary, are beautiful. The staff were helpful and friendly and not too pushy.
If you have problems with mobility then I would suggest that Toarmina is not the place to go as it is very hilly and the hotel is a long way from public transport. One can get a private car from the hotel but taxis have to be taken down in the town.
Breakfast was wonderful with so much to chose from and the views from the terrace are magnificent. Generally in the town the prices are a rip off and in the hotel also, for a meal of simple preparation the prices are ridiculous. WIFI is expensive also.
But inspite of my personal gripes I loved the place and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: View over the sea is spectacular and when we went was very quiet. We had a deluxe room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 671 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

What a delight! The staff is perfect. The Etna's view is amazing. We receive ungrade to jr.suite with sea view and Etna's View. The restaurant food is very good. The pool is great. The gardens is amazing. Oh my god this hotel is perfect. The hotel is close to the Corso Umberto and other attractions in Taormina! Everething is amazing!

Room Tip: Suite with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We spent one week traveling in Sicily in April 2012 and finished our trip in Taormina. We had booked for two nights at the San Domenico Palace because, on paper, it looked like a palace in an old historic building. The disappointment started right when checking-in at 1:00 pm when we were told that the rooms would not be ready before 2:00 pm. We went our for lunch came back at 2:30 pm and were told that we had to wait another 30 minutes. We discovered during our stay that the hotel was rather empty (not all tables on the breakfast terrace were occupied at 9:00 am) which makes this delay difficult to justify. Then we were told that WiFi access was charged 9 EUR a day per device. Hotels that charge for WiFi access seem to not understand that most clients see this as essential as TV and electricity in the room. When you pay 500 EUR per night for a room that has not be redecorated for 20 years, the WiFi surcharge is rather upsetting. It seemed that nothing in our bathroom had been changed since the early 90s and was not looking very clean.
On our last day, we assumed that check-out time was 12:00 pm. At 11:15 am, we received a phone call from reception asking us to leave our room since checkout time was actually 11:00 am. After the incident when we checked-in, this was really adding insult to injury.
The hotel has a few good things for it : the view on the Mediterranean Sea is fantastic, the terrace where breakfast is served is gorgeous.
The overall impression is that the staff of the hotel seems intent on making the life of their guests miserable, and they are good at it. I guess that people book there because the hotel has a reputation of a palace but once you stay there, you realize the reputation is vastly overblown and nothing is done to maintain it at a high level.
Friends of mine were planning to stay there in July. I strongly advised them to change their plans and try hotels such as the Timeo which also has a great view and, without having stayed there, seems to be much more modern.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StevenL245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

What a delight! Wonderful staff and all so helpful with recommendations for trips and restaurants.Breakfast was lovely..and view of Mt Etna from the pool ....amazing. Everywhere is within easy walking distance...excellent eating out and shopping if you want it. People say that Taormina is expensive but i don't think so really...no more than any other similar place in Italy. We have been to Venice and Florence in the last six months and it compares with either of those places... Only two moans really....no free wi fi access but not a problem if you're on holiday and the air con doesn't get turned on in April as it's not considered hot enough! We were there for several days when it was in the low 20's.One recommendation is to drive up to local hilltop village and eat in a small restaurant called Turrisi...an absolute gem!

Room Tip: Rooms with proper sea view overlook a road so probably noisy if you sleep with the window open.View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for having taken the time to write your impression on our hotel during your last stay at the San Domenico Palace Hotel.
We were very happy to learn that you spent some magical moments on our terrace during breakfast time. We did take good note regarding the air condition and the Internet access that is not free .
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the San Domenico Palace Hotel

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A superb hotel ideally placed close to the Corso Umberto and other attractions in Taormina. Eating in is expensive so get breakfast deal and eat out. Internet access is expensive but OK for short spells.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room in the new annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panasonicgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 km away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
918 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,890 reviews
1.7 km away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.2 km away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
676 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $86 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing