We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,363)
Filter reviews
1,363 results
Traveller rating
896
300
117
25
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
300
117
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer monasteryprincipe ceramistar michelin restaurantcentral courtyardleading hotels of the worldbeautiful hotellinen sheetsclassic roomsea viewbreakfast buffetpublic roomsold world charmlittle thingsluxury hotelgardens are beautifulshower curtainthe main street
Filter
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 1,363 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

What a delight! The staff is perfect. The Etna's view is amazing. We receive ungrade to jr.suite with sea view and Etna's View. The restaurant food is very good. The pool is great. The gardens is amazing. Oh my god this hotel is perfect. The hotel is close to the Corso Umberto and other attractions in Taormina! Everething is amazing!

Room Tip: Suite with sea view!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We spent one week traveling in Sicily in April 2012 and finished our trip in Taormina. We had booked for two nights at the San Domenico Palace because, on paper, it looked like a palace in an old historic building. The disappointment started right when checking-in at 1:00 pm when we were told that the rooms would not be ready before 2:00 pm. We went our for lunch came back at 2:30 pm and were told that we had to wait another 30 minutes. We discovered during our stay that the hotel was rather empty (not all tables on the breakfast terrace were occupied at 9:00 am) which makes this delay difficult to justify. Then we were told that WiFi access was charged 9 EUR a day per device. Hotels that charge for WiFi access seem to not understand that most clients see this as essential as TV and electricity in the room. When you pay 500 EUR per night for a room that has not be redecorated for 20 years, the WiFi surcharge is rather upsetting. It seemed that nothing in our bathroom had been changed since the early 90s and was not looking very clean.
On our last day, we assumed that check-out time was 12:00 pm. At 11:15 am, we received a phone call from reception asking us to leave our room since checkout time was actually 11:00 am. After the incident when we checked-in, this was really adding insult to injury.
The hotel has a few good things for it : the view on the Mediterranean Sea is fantastic, the terrace where breakfast is served is gorgeous.
The overall impression is that the staff of the hotel seems intent on making the life of their guests miserable, and they are good at it. I guess that people book there because the hotel has a reputation of a palace but once you stay there, you realize the reputation is vastly overblown and nothing is done to maintain it at a high level.
Friends of mine were planning to stay there in July. I strongly advised them to change their plans and try hotels such as the Timeo which also has a great view and, without having stayed there, seems to be much more modern.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StevenL245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

What a delight! Wonderful staff and all so helpful with recommendations for trips and restaurants.Breakfast was lovely..and view of Mt Etna from the pool ....amazing. Everywhere is within easy walking distance...excellent eating out and shopping if you want it. People say that Taormina is expensive but i don't think so really...no more than any other similar place in Italy. We have been to Venice and Florence in the last six months and it compares with either of those places... Only two moans really....no free wi fi access but not a problem if you're on holiday and the air con doesn't get turned on in April as it's not considered hot enough! We were there for several days when it was in the low 20's.One recommendation is to drive up to local hilltop village and eat in a small restaurant called Turrisi...an absolute gem!

Room Tip: Rooms with proper sea view overlook a road so probably noisy if you sleep with the window open.View of Etna comes with rooms overlooking garden with sea in distance.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for having taken the time to write your impression on our hotel during your last stay at the San Domenico Palace Hotel.
We were very happy to learn that you spent some magical moments on our terrace during breakfast time. We did take good note regarding the air condition and the Internet access that is not free .
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the San Domenico Palace Hotel

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A superb hotel ideally placed close to the Corso Umberto and other attractions in Taormina. Eating in is expensive so get breakfast deal and eat out. Internet access is expensive but OK for short spells.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room in the new annexe.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panasonicgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This outstanding location combined with a fantastic service makes this place a number 1 spot in Sicily. Luckily the Etna was calm during our stay.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Taormina with all interesting places in walking distance.Giardino di Naxos is a nice place to visit once you have explored the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews