We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Taormina and Winery tour

This tour was top notch from when we got picked up at the port until dropped off at the cruise... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
cindygad
,
Indiana
A fabulous guide and a wonderful tour!!

We were a group of 8, arriving at the port of Messina. Roberto was our guide for the day. He was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
TinkBellaMom
,
Fort Myers, Florida
Read all 430 reviews
  
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
374
22
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
22
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews godfather tour gambino winery private tour day tour honey farm grand tour cruise ship mt etna great tour spoke excellent english olive oil driver guide taormina hotel church built friendly guide highly recommend this company forza d'agro
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This tour was top notch from when we got picked up at the port until dropped off at the cruise ship. We had a group of 8 from our ship the Jewel. Carmelo was our driver of the minivan. He gave us some great history of the island as we drove up the slopes of Etna to the winery. Gambino winery is beautiful and the tasting was exceptional. Our guide for the wines greeted us outside. Gave us some history while we sipped our first glass. Inside we were seated at a large table with a view of the winery,

After the winery, we went to Taormina and had free time to explore. and see the Belvedere square.

I was in charge of tour and Sicily life was very easy to work with

Thank cindygad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of 8, arriving at the port of Messina. Roberto was our guide for the day.
He was so informative, giving us information on each spot we would visit along the way. We chose a visit to Taormina and a wine tasting at the Gambino Winery on Mt. Etna.
We stopped several times to see the views and take photos on our tour. Taormina was a beautiful city, we had enough time there to walk around and enjoy. We arrived at the Gambino Winery where we enjoyed an amazing array of food, typical of Sicily and paired with the wine.
Roberto made the day interesting and fun, he had a great sense of humor. We would highly recommend this tour and especially Roberto.

Thank TinkBellaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us booked an all day tour of Etna, Taormina and the Gambino Winery. Our guide, Roberto was awesome. He picked us up just outside the port of Messina in a nice Mercedes van. His English was great. He was full of information and history on the area. We had a short stop at the beach town of Naxos to take some pictures on the way. We had a fabulous visit to Castelmola and Taormina. After that there was a stop at a little church built into a cave on the hillside. Fantastic viewsfrom an outlook and a small park. A wonderful lunch and wine pairing at the Gambino winery on the slopes of Mt. Etna. Our guide, Roberto was great. A nice guy with a great sense of humor. Te best tour on our cruise,

Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You know how good a tour guide you have when something goes awry and they don't even miss a beat. We were on a cruise scheduled to dock in Catania, and literally in the middle of the night the ship had to change ports to Syracuse, some 40 miles south. We learned of the change at 5AM and with our tour scheduled for 7:30am had some concerns. We contacted Sicily life and incredibly they were already aware the change in ports, and promptly 7:30 am we were met by our guide Carmelo from Sicily life. We ended up having to change our itinerary slightly, but no matter, we had a wonderful day discovering Ortigia and Modica thanks to Sicily Life.

1  Thank terrill03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a day tour for a small group of 8 from a cruise ship. Our Driver/guide was Antonio, and he was a great driver, and gave us a very interesting tour , starting with the Cathedral in Messina, then to Castelmola with beautiful views and scenery, dropped us in Taormina for time enjoying the pretty streets and shops and the ancient Greek and Roman theatre, and then to the Gambino Winery for a tasting with lunch. Lots of fun , and great views and sites of this area of Sicily. We enjoyed Antonio and the way he shared his knowledge and love of Sicily . We were picked up and dropped off at the ship at the agreed upon times, never felt rushed and really enjoyed our time with Antonio in Sicily. Thanks , Antonio and Sicily Life !

Thank Dogfacedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We were met onshore by Luca our driver & guide and taken on a wonderful tour of Mt Etna and Taormina. Luca explained a lot of the history as we drove along. He made stops at interesting places and provided us with toilet and food stops as required. We had adequate time at each stop and were returned to the ship in plenty of time. The highlight was definitely Taormina. A magnificent place with quaint shops, nestled on the mountainside and the amphitheatre with it's spectacular views of the coastline was incredible. Would definitely recommend Sicily Life to others.

Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

If you are cruising take and negotiate price with on of the many taxi drivers at the cruise terminal , friendly and knowledgeable fellas

Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Luca met us right at the dock with cold water and a warm smile. Luca is witty, knowledgable and a great tour guide.

He took us first to Savoca, , then Forza D’Agro, then Castlemona and finally, Taormina. Sensing that our group was not into the crowds in Taormina, Lucas suggested a quick way to tour and then took us down to the coast for a great lunch.

Luca's knowledge of the area, his good connections with many of locals made for a great journey.

A great day in Sicily!

Thank ChicagoCub_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Amazing experience! Our driver Luca was perfect! He was waiting for us, easy to find as we got off the cruise ship and exited the port. A comfortable and clean ( and private!!) car was waiting for us with cold bottled water. Leaving Messina, Luca gave us some Sicilian history and information as we talked about our plan for the day. On our way to Mt Etna we stopped at many beautiful panoramic views to take pictures get a closer look. Luca was always offering to take our pictures and knew where we should take them.
After 5 days in Greece burning in the sun, I forgot to dress for atleast 10 degrees cooler temperture at the ^1,900 we were going. Luca is the best and had an extra jacket (jumper) he let me wear. I am forever greatful!!!
He adviced us on hikes around the craters and was right there when we were back at the bottom. This was one of the best experiences and things I have ever viewed and wasn't even afternoon yet!!
After we were done exploring the craters and mt Etna, we went to a local farm where we tasted many flavors of the best, delicious honey I have ever had. They also had their wine, pesto, olives..etc. all delicious. I think we bought at least one of everything. The hard part was trying to not open it before we got home!
Our final stop was Taormina. He gave us a brief overview of the town and suggested where to go. With over 3 hours there and his guidance it was perfect and even had time for lunch.
Luca made this the perfect day! Stress free, comfortable and easy; with the most unbelievable views, history, food, and culture.

Thank emilynstaufffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Four of us booked an all day tour of Etna, Taormina and the Gambino Winery. Our guide, Antonio was awesome. Excellent English and knowledge of the area and history. We had a fabulous visit to Taormina. Don't miss the little church built into the top of the mountain. Fantastic views. A wonderful lunch and wine pairing at the Gambino winery on the slopes of Mt. Etna. Just a wonderful day with a nice guy. Hugs all around!

Thank ultrapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews