We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little paradise.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
OttawaLin...
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Location and Introduction to Sicily”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Rented this apartment in this lovely town of Ortigia, an ancient site originally founded by the Greeks. Although, Ortigia is part of Siracusa, it is full of beautful old stone buildings like in the area of the Piazza Duomo and Roman ruins nearby. The apartment is not accessible by car but we were able to park close enough to pull our suitcases from a block away. Since we rented the apartment for one month, we were able to arrange parking for 40 Euros at the Teatro Municipal Parking lot on the island, about 10 mins walk from the Aapartment. Driving in Ortigia is restricted and with those narrow old streets, we didn't want to drive in that area at all. The apartment was comfortable but we found the lack of natural lighting and the dampness a bit much at times. Some of the furniture may need a little upgrade but we were pleased to be able to cook great meals there with the fresh food purchased from the local Market in Ortigia. Ortigia has lots of great restaurants and we enjoyed several as well. We got some great suggestions about places to visit like Noto and local beaches which we did. Used this place as our home base as we booked a few days visit by car to Palermo, Cefalu and Taormina. It seemed to help ground us by going back to one site. Make sure you get instructions on how the shower and washing machine works and the A/C unit that also heats and dries the apartment.

Since there is no clothes dryer, we also used a local Laundry Shop in Siracusa, a few times because we didn't want to wait a day or two for things to dry. Siracusa has many places to shop but there's lots on the island of Ortgia as well! The contacts for the apartment Roberta and her Mother were very helpful throughout our stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nel F
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect little paradise.”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This chic little home away from home has been cleverly and artistically renovated to respect the age and style of the building while having all mod cons (including an amazing massage shower). Is in a great location just minutes stroll from the sea, beautiful bars and retaraunts and the daily fresh markets. Eat out or eat in as you please and enjoy living in a quiet street with friendly locals. Easy bus to Syracuse to see wonderful sites including amazing San Giovanni catacombs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Dear Nel,thanks for your nice review.We are glad you have appreciated the style we choose to renovate the apartment and we were sure you liked the position of the flat, nearby services and restaurants.
It was a pleasure to host you and you are very welcome in the future.All the best from all of us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotler
Jerusalem
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful apartment in a wonderful town”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 3 very pleasant nights at the Pegaso apartment. We loved Ortigia and loved the apartment and its location. The neighborhood is going a fast process of gentrification. yet there is just enough of the old slum down the narrow alley to give the visitor a whiff of Old Times. The very spacious apartment was well appointed, the kitchen impressively so. The only serious weakness in this specific aparment was the bathroom. The toilet seat is not comfortable for people with longer than average legs. The shower appartus, which was a fancy piece of plumbing a few years ago, is now in a very sorry state and must be replaced. Yet we still recommend the Pegaso apartment wholeheartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinP875
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient for most things and an interesting place to visit.”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The one drawback with Ortigia if you have a car is the zonal traffic restrictions which may parking a bit tricky. Apart from that Ortigia and Syracuse are wonderful places to visit. The sea is never far away and the swimming is a delight. there are lots of interesting things to do and see, the eating places are abundant and cater for all tastes.
Our hosts Fabio and Roberta were helpful with communicating the traffic issues early on, and we were greeted by Sibana who gave us lots of useful information to make our stay as interesting as possible.
We both thoroughly enjoyed our time in Syracuse and had a great stay at the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the range of things to do and see on Ortigia.
Liked least: Messing about with parking the car
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiegan...
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment was lovely, everything you needed, spacious, and lots of character. Ideal location - one minute walk from sea, and a few minutes walk down lovely narrow streets to centre of town.Miss Ferrara, who met us on arrival, was very friendly and helpful. The town is beautiful, lots to see, and some fab restaurants. Would definitely recommend the apartment and Ortigia.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Dear Jackie thanks for taking time to review La Gorgone. We're glad you've appreciated our hospitality,we have a marvelous souvenir of your stay here :) We hope to see you soon! All the best e a presto!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing