We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring Holiday in Sicily”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minareto
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed here for a few nights as part of a holiday in Sicily. The setting and views were fantastic, on a headland overlooking the bay into Syracuse. The hotel is actually about 12 km from the city, and operates a free shuttle bus into the city centre. Our room was well equipped and quite spacious, and very clean. Dining was on a terrace overlooking the hotel beach, so was very atmospheric in mild evenings; the food was nice and well presented.. The hotel beach was very pretty, and quite safe - it was shallow for quite a distance

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank You for writing this feedback and sharing Your experience at Grand Hotel Minareto with all the readers.
We are very happy You appreciated, during Your stay, the services offered and the human qualities of our Staff : if this made Your stay unforgettable, we are glad and satisfied and we will do our best to offer better services and quality.
Hoping we will have the opportunity to host You once again as our kind Guest for the next seasons, we send

Best Regards
Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017

Outstanding location across from antique Syracuse, alias Ortygia, When we found about this place, we left the Borgo Pantano hotel, nice enough but set in a mediocre environment, and we were delighted with our choice: The GH Minareto is indeed luxurious, peaceful, and set on the delightful Plemmirio Marine Reserve.
Superb manicured gardens, private cove and beach with hamacs, lounge chairs and crystal clear water. As well as a beautiful wild promontory with more lounge chairs and a staircase leading to the sea. Also a huge pool, and a SPA with good massages. And two Jacuzzi with a superb view of Ortigia (however, the water was not warm at all). Small, delightful houses/cottages scattered through the gardens along the sea (the most expensive units have their own small pool).
We loved our room (#238), very private and quiet, next to the lovely red lighthouse: had a large bedroom, a sitting room, large bathroom and a lovely terrace (I think that all rooms have terraces). We did not want a sea view but privacy, as the sea is everywhere!
Yes, the décoration is a touch glitzy, or shall we say neobaroque ;-) but, thank God, nothing like Las Vegas… It is actually pleasant and a change from the anonymous beige/grey/white current decoration everywhere else. Wifi is great. Parking is free, and there is a free shuttle twice a day for Ortygia (takes 15mn; just need to reserve it). In the summer, I think they also have a private boat service.
The staff is attentive, well trained (unfortunately not the case in many Sicilian hotels). Breakfast is pleasant: I liked being able to eat every morning a large arugala salad sprinkled with pistachios, aside from the usual American and Sicilian fare; it was fun to have breakfast outside, on the terrace overlooking the beach, with the very well mannered and cute hotel cat. In October, the weather was still great and we were able to swim in the sea.
Thank you everyone! We’ll be back!

Room Tip: Room 238, a superior room was perfect: private, calm, at the end of the resort near the lighthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginsengNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank You for staying at Grand Hotel Minareto and for writing this feedback.
In Your feedback, You summed up all the key factors of the Resort, enhanced by the skills and the qualities of the Staff. Also, we are glad to know You consider Your stay, from different points of You, excellent and we really hope You will consider in the future the possibility to come back as our kind Guest. Feedbacks just like Yours are the best and greatest reward for our daily work. Thank You so much.

Best Regards
Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

I enjoyed my stay at the grand Minareto hotel in Sicily. The grounds of the hotel are exquisite the location is magnificent and the rooms are comfortable .although I found the lighting in the room not adequate. The people at the hotel are kind and very helpful.There is one thing I must mention and that is that in October the place is over run with flies for some reason it seems the is the month for flies so be warned . I found the breakfasts at the hotel very good with a large variety of items to choose from . However the dinner and lunch meals are expensive for what you get and the food is not as good as in the restaurants in town

Room Tip: the rooms are located in gorgeous gardens and the best ones are facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ilanaslomowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank You for choosing our resort for Your vacation and for writing this feedback about Your experience.
We are glad to read You enjoyed Your stay, appreciating the rooms, the surroundings, the kindness of th whole staff and the culinary breakfast offer. We are sorry to read that You can not extend this positive judgment even to lunch and dinner, but we hope that this small personal impression will not compromise the overall judgment about the resort.
Hoping will decide to come back as our kind Guest salso for the next season, we send

Best Regards,
Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

I stayed at the GH Minareto last week as part of a Yoga retreat with yoga-escapes.com and it was a wonderful experience. This review will only focus on the hotel itself and not the yoga.
Whilst at the hotel, I was able to enjoy a stunning view on their gardens, the stunning sea and the beautiful coastal surroundings from pretty much everywhere I was.
I only ate at their restaurant at breakfast because I like to explore local restaurants. The breakfast was very good and offerred a lot options but I can't comment on lunch, dinner or the pool bar as I haven't been there.
The service I received was also outstanding. The reception staff, the dining room waiting staff, the room cleaning personnnel, the pool and the private beach lifeguards were always friendly and helfpul.
In particular I loved their sandy beach (my favourite) and the rocky beach on the other side with the stunning view on the Siracusa historical town of Ortigia!
I had a rental car which was easy to park at the hotel premises. However I reccomend at least once to ask for a boat passage from the hotel to Ortigia, it takes only a few minutes to cross the bay but it is a memorable experience.
Overall definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tifereth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank You for staying at Grand Hotel Minareto and for writing this feedback.
In few words, You summed up all the key factors of the Resort, enhanced by the skills and the qualities of the Staff. Also, we are glad to know You consider Your stay, from different points of You, excellent and we really hope You could consider in the future the possibility to come back as our kind Guest.

Best Regards
Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

I came here with Yoga Escapes and lived a fantastic week of a genuine Sicily experience. The hotel is composed of beautiful bungalows allowing for a feel of privacy and comfort. My room had an extensive terrace with breathtaking views of the Mediterranean Sea and the city of Syracuse. The little villas are surrounded by typical Sicilian plants-a paradise on earth. The service was discrete and extremely friendly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank You so much for this wonderful feedback and for being our Guests!
What makes us happy is that, reading Your words, You can really feel the joy and the pleasure for having lived fully the “Minareto Life”.
For this reason, with the certainty You will keep a good memories of Your holiday, we wish to see You next year and we send our

Best Regards,
Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
2.3 km away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
2.6 km away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
2.5 km away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Caiammari
Hotel Caiammari
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
409 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,214 reviews
90.6 km away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minareto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minareto

Address: Via del Faro Massolivieri 26A, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $208 - $1,561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Minareto 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Minareto was born on a promontory which draws from the poetry of its natural beauty and the power of the charismatic history of the pride stand before the island of Ortigia, a masterpiece of art and history, heritage of UNESCO.has three different private access to the sea that allow our guests to enjoy of softy golden sand, that recalls classical caribbean little islands, or the rocky sea beds of the cliff, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Minareto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Minareto Syracuse, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing