We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,444)
Filter reviews
1,444 results
Traveller rating
870
315
153
68
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
315
153
68
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocky beachprivate beachpool areahotel beachon the rockscrystal clear watersea viewpoolside restauranta free shuttle busstar resortcost eurosmount etnashuttle servicesun loungersrental carrooms are comfortablefresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 1,444 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My wife and I were recommended The Grand Hotel Minareto by our travel agent. As we were just taking a break at short notice we decided to go to a hotel for the first time on holidays. This was also our first real holiday in 3 years. We traveled in October 2012. The weather was lovely and we got some lovely sunshine and warmth. The layout of the hotel was lovely and each room had a lovely veranda and private access. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff friendly and accommodating. The pool was excellent though the sea access was awkward and dirty. They should carry out some work in this area. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and the cafe / bar by the pool was heaven with snacks coffee and wine. The meals in the restaurant at night were average for the price which I felt was a little expensive. There is much better restaurants and bars in Ortigia and Syracuse. Here lies the big drawback for anybody staying at the hotel. You need to have your own transport. While the advertise a bus service it is quickly overbooked even in the off-season and is extremely limited. We had hired a car for the week and did not need the bus. We took a taxi one night and this worked out at €30 each way. On hiring the car I was asked for a deposit of €1,400 despite taking out extra insurance when booking the holiday. This is deducted from your credit card or you can pay an all-in waiver of €120.. a right con job.
We enjoyed our stay at the GHM and sampled the spa and other facilities which were excellent. During our stay i also sampled the Italian health service which was adequate as well.
I would prefer a self-catering holiday especially after experiencing the food markets in Ortigia. If I was to stay in a hotel again I would have no problem staying at the Grand Minareto Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you have your own transport as there is nothing close to GMH In the off seasons it can be quite breezy so avoid sea front rooms
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MayneJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I was in Syracuse, with my sweet heart for the Festival of the ancient Greek theater, tragedies ( Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides) performed in the astonishing set of the old Greek theater, 2500 years old. The performancies are played during the sunset (May-June): it' s real an experience. Unfortunately the tragedies are performed only in Italian and traslation is not available what a pity!!! The Festival Organization should evaluate the opportunity to performe the plays with English, German, French troupes, or at least making available the traslation. I have lots of friends that would flock in Syracuse to see these performancies, but unfotunately they do not know Italian.
Actually one year ago we spent 4-5 nights in this Great location, but I would like to acknowledge this gem of hotel and its staff
The setting is quite superb right across the bay to the old town of Siracusa,in front of Ortiggia island.
Beautiful layout and fabulous pool. Rooms spacious and well equiped excellent breakfast with a large variety and choice to suit every taste. We preferred to dine outside in Ortiggia, where there are a lot of faboulous resturants. I would reccomend Kalliope for the quality, the variety of food and for the superb location close to the Cathedral.
Further the fantastic swimming pool, a very nice private beach is available in a nice bay, on an other side of the hotel there is a cliff where you can lay down,swimming and snorkeling as well if you like.
The Hotel reception staff couldnt have been more heplfull and friendly.Taking into account all the above we decided to extend our stay and with the support of Mr. Sergio Campaila, the Reception Manager,we have found a very convenient solution with sea view.
Maybe some drowbacks might show up, for istance the management of the shuttle must be improved, but definetly this is a 5 star hotel, for location, for services, for rooms etc

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for You kind comment that You shared with the entire community of Tripadvisor.
We are glad that Your stay at Grand Hotel Minareto left You a good memory and You enjoyed the Buffet breakfast and the other restaurant services during Your stay, as well as the location and the room comforts.
The courtesy and the customer attention of our staff is something really important for us and we are glad that You noticed and appreciated it. Positive comments like Yours always give us the strength to do better and to offer always better services.

We really hope to welcoming You as special guest in the future.

Best Regards

The Manager - Dr. Antonio La Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

On the whole this was a super stay. The private beach was lovely and so clean. Facilties on site were more than adequate although the wifi was limited. The fitness suite was well equipped and the pool perfect. Breakfast was excellent but the dinner menu was uninspiring and not cheap and the poolside cafe was just ok. You really need a car. The free transport to Siracusa was on a first come first served basis - unfair for those left who had to pay for a taxi. Difficult to balance maybe as the location is so lovely but cut off from local sights.
The staff were very helpful. Simona and Fabio at reception were exceptional. Just a few niggles which means 4 star rather than five.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilarypony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We spent 4 nights here, great location across the bay from Ortigia. Lovely pool area, great little private beach/bay, our room was big and very comfortable. Just a quick 10min drive to downtown Syracuse, a great hotel

Room Tip: A view of Ortigia
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StewartRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank You for the time You spent to write this comment and to share Your feedback with us and with the entire community of Tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that You appreciated the quality of the services offered in our Hotel and its exclusive position.
We are looking forward to having You as our special guest in the future
Best Regards

Dr. Antonio La Spina – General Manager

“Hospitality means caring about every single detail and waiting for the Guest’ return”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Overall this hotel-resort is excellent. Warm, friendly and luxurious with a stunning view of the old city from the room terrace and a breathtakingly beautiful rocky beach/lagoon. So after a long day of sightseeing and when it suddenly started raining (early May), we had no problem amusing ourselves in the hotel. My husband and son even took a dip into the cold sw-pool. I still take one star away because of a few things that definitely could be better/improved - the internet connection was very poor, the fitness center too dark, restaurant just OK/pricey for dinner (breakfast was good), and our room was tiny - but overall we had a great time, so a thumbs-up!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peters09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank You for the time You spent to write this great comment and to give us Your positive feedback.
Comments of our guests about their stay are extremely important for us, in order to motivate the staff to offer always a better service.
We are looking forward to having You as our special guest in the future
Best Regards

Dr. Antonio La Spina – General Manager

“Hospitality means caring about every single detail and waiting for the Guest’ return”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews