We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,872)
Filter reviews
1,872 results
Traveller rating
1,455
326
70
18
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,455
326
70
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbulgari toiletriesbeautiful hotelfree mini barsea viewjunior suitenew buildinghotel restaurantbreakfast buffetcannolimain buildingour night staythree nightsloved this hotelsmall balconybeautiful roompastriesrestaurant recommendations
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,872 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

The hotel is very well located. The instructions to get there were clear and easy to follow. If you get there in a small car you have no problem to park. The breakfast is delicious. The room was clean and comfortable. The wifi worked perfect. The staff people was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Olaf d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

good location,very nice staff,free bikes, very good breakfast, our room was very disappointing ,our window looked out at a wall a couple of feet away.The website shows people sitting out on loungers but this facility is only available to people in the suites,there are no outside spaces available to anyone else and very limited seating inside.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jackmc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ortigiahotel, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Jack,
Thank you very much for the compliments about our professional and attentive staff, I'm pleased you found our hotel to be in an excellent location and beautiful and charming property, I'm sure you enjoyed the breath taking views of the sea in Ortigia.
Thank you also for highlighting delicious breakfast prepared with a rich variety of Sicilian flavours. It is served in our exquisite buffet style and guests have the option to order from our a la carte menu, with no extra charge.
We are sorry you didn't like your room, but when clients arrive and they do not like the room assigned they have the chance to choose another room if the hotel is not full. If you had expressed your disappointment at the desk we would have shown you another room.
About terrace, yes, it's at disposal of our Deluxe Spa rooms; these rooms have a private terrace with a jacuzzi and a terrific sea view.
But inside we have a lounge area in the main building and a large and elegant common area in the annex building of Palazzo Bongiovanni.
We look forward to welcoming you again to appreciate and experience a great stay with us.
Warmest regards
Algilà Ortigia Charme Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

So many great things to say about this hotel. First was the pre-trip communication, especially on how to get there by car. I was a little nervous driving through a ZTL but their directions took my to their front door and they moved our car to a safe spot once we removed our bags. Second, the location. Just picture perfect. You can easily walk the entire island (we did and we are 60+) from the hotel but you are right on the water and close to what passes for a beach club and plenty of restaurants, shops, museums etc near by. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Spoke perfect English. We had jr suite. Comfy and spacious for European hotel. Loved the free (non-alcoholic) mini bar, the self service wine and nuts in the afternoon along with espresso (also complimentary). Room had robes, slippers. Had bikes that one day we used instead of walking. Over the top breakfast buffet that had everything imaginable+ you can order eggs/omelettes. Made us dinner reservations at a great nearby place and even when we left made sure to have the car already turned around facing the way out so I wouldnt have to both back track and risk getting lost going the wrong way. We saw a little of Siracusa proper and there is no way we would stay there compared to Ortigia. Quiet, charming, beautiful

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sccrref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

The last week of July we spent 4 nights at this charming hotel highly recommended to us by a friend from Milan. Our experience in Ortigia was made more memorable due to our stay at the Algila. The staff for reception, cleaning and restaurant were welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. Our room in the annex building did not have a view (except by leaning out the window) but that didn't matter as it was, large, comfortable and the climate control worked beautifully, somehow not making a sound! All waters & sodas in the in-room fridge were complimentary and the annex had a large yet cozy lounge area that was always stocked with wine, waters and delicious local nuts (the almonds are wonderful). The generous continental style breakfast every morning was plentiful with attention to providing local fruits, cheeses, fill your own cannolo and the most delicious almond granita for our brioche. In addition, there is a menu offering complimentary hot dishes cooked to order. The days we walked to the nearby solarium for a swim, the hotel provided large beach towels. There were bikes if we wanted and the limo service to and from the airport was very reasonable and efficient. A perfect stay usually happens when the hotel focuses on the details. Lastly, the hotel was an old palace beautifully restored and located facing the sea. If you are looking for a resort with a pool + beach; this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a more local, less tourist experience then, you could not do better than staying in Ortigia, Syracuse at the Algila.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank bellegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Wonderful hotel,friendly staff and our room was nestled in corner on 2nd floor. High end toiletteries BVGARI, plush towels, minibar stocked up with bottles of water and drinks for your use and its free. Breakfast was such good spread . Hot breakfast is fresh,made to order. Choice of fresh juices and excellent coffee,which was not instant coffee for change. In public area they have water,coffee tea,wines and nuts and fruits for all. Hotel is situated historic town of beautiful Ortigia, walking distance to all attractions. Map they gave is marked well from good self guided walking tour with some history added to it in Ortegia and Syracusa. From Siracusa railway station, hotel is taxi ride away. It was about 10 euros.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews