We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,363)
Filter reviews
1,363 results
Traveller rating
540
583
184
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
583
184
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace via roma train station fifth floor breakfast is served central location main sites charming hotel breakfast room room was large cakes major sights old city excellent breakfast the main street the air conditioning quattro canti
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 1,363 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

I was rather amazed at the size of the rooms in this hotel. Ours was very large as was the bath. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. A large flat screen, although there are no English speaking programs. The elevator is a typical European small one, two people and 3 bags are about it. Very nice roof top bar with great views of the city. The air conditioner is controlled by a remote control that has no instructions so a bit of a challenge. It is the white one with the tv remote. Rooms have new double Windows so even street side are quiet.
Very good staff that was helpful with requests.
Only problem reported by our friends was water on the floor after a torrential rain storm. To be fair though this was a huge storm that took out trees, mud slides and stopped traffic the next day. We were in a Cell phone store when power went off at 7:30 pm for a good part of the city. Fortunately the had back up power and we waited it out.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Vance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Stayed here for two nights at the start of a two-week Sicily trip, and would gladly have stayed longer! Although it doesn't look fancy from the outside, its convenient location and AMAZING views from the 7th floor rooftop restaurant/bar make it THE place to stay, in my opinion. Only a 5-minute walk from the Statione Zentrale where the airport bus arrives and leaves from, and 10 minutes to the Quatro Canti, so really perfect.

Our room on the 6th floor had no view (So what? We only slept there!), but was extremely quiet and very comfortable. What we liked most about the hotel, though, besides the mesmerizing views from the rooftop, was the service. The staff is young, speak excellent English, and each one of them went out of their way to be friendly and helpful! One of the waiters was actually a history grad and filled us in on all sorts of interesting info.

On our last morning I was unfortunately pickpocketed at the Piazza Independenzia, but in spite of this I shall keep excellent memories of Palermo, mostly because of the wonderful hotel and its staff! I found it difficult to pull myself away from that terrace! Can't imagine there's a better place to stay in Palermo!!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We arrived after midnight due to flight issues, and the hotel kept our pre-ordered food and wine on the terrace. All the food we had over 3 days was lovely, as were the staff. rooms were comfortable and spacious. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a delight. All in all a very nice choice for a few days exploring Palermo and then enjoying a relaxing evening.

Date of stay: October 2015
Thank number57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Ciao!

We stayed here for the first two nights of our two-week Sicily vacation and we are so glad we did. The Hotel Ambasciatori is centrally located about a five to ten minute walk from many of the main sites in Palermo... i.e. Four Corners, Duomo and Fontana Pretoria.

The room was a decent size with a comfortable bed and working a.c. unit. We stayed in room 202 in the back of the building so street noise was not an issue at all.

The key chain is quite possibly the heaviest we have ever had as a hotel guest. You certainly wouldn't want to walk away with it.

The bathroom was clean and well appointed, but was a tad on the small side... My girlfriend kept slamming her shins into the bidet. The shower was "extremely" tiny. There was no shelf to place your soap or shampoo either.

Breakfast was not included in the price of our stay, but was only 8 Euro. A small price to pay for a wide variety of breakfast foods, strong coffee and a jaw-dropping view.

You must climb a flight of stairs to reach the elevator. It is a charming, small antique elevator that lifts you to your floor.

We noticed that a Rick Steeves tour was staying at the hotel during our stay. We did not run into the group.

The view alone from the breakfast spot is worth staying here.

If you are arriving by bus, the hotel is only a six to ten minute walk from the station.

Enjoy your stay. We did!

Room tip: Room 202 is located in the rear of the hotel so the street noise was not an issue at all.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLoversRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

Overall a little gem in the heart of Palermo. Old city charm, palazzo feel with flomboyant flourishes , warm colours, victorian iron lift through central core of building ( avoid if trouble walking or hate shaky old elevators) and stairs to top terrace for breakfast buffet and incredible view of surrounding city architecture. Enjoy the hussle n bussle of a noisy old town in palatial antiquity with a theatrical twist. Parking can be fraught with only 2 spaces belonging to hotel which were occupied and we could not find the paid parking location. We ended up parking quite a few streets away in a zone which meant we had to get up early to move the car. Also the area felt dodgy at night with police everywhere, prostitutes on corners and groups of youngsters. This place is not for the fainthearted. Only one towel in bathroom and two measly tea bags felt mean but staff were very helpful with everything else !

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fussypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews