We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Pros:
Gorgeous water views
Grand, historic building
Attractive rooms
Excellent breakfast and restaurant
Pleasant staff

Cons:
Somewhat distant from central Palermo - 15 euro taxi
Not very attractive neighborhood

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mdrileynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,
thank You for Your feedback regarding Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, we apreciate Your comment and we thank You for thetime You spent for us, We hope to see You very soon in our property.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information You may need.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    397
    160
    77
    48
See reviews for
249
717
42
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sanctuary cove
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a grand hotel indeed. It has an impeccable pedigree, having been once the palazzo of an indisposed Prince and his family (hence the name), with art deco beauty still there for you to admire. Villa Igeia has all the amenities of a grand hotel, but in Palermo it's a treat, as you have a free shuttle service to and from the city centre - the hotel's sister hotel is the Et de la Palmes in town with a great bar (another former palazzo). So you can sightsee in the mornings, then come back to relax by the pool, read, dine at the truly excellent al fresco restaurant all afternoon. Dinner in the formal restaurant is also available for the 3 daily meals, also excellent. An afternoon drink on the terrace overlooking the Bay is one of Sicily's beautiful opportunities. Staff are attentive and 5 star; concierge services very complete eg arranging private tours, taxis, transport to the Aeolian Islands, and, importantly, up to the minute information about opening hours of sights in town (these can vary, regardless of what guidebooks tell you). You can dock your yacht in the full-service marina below the hotel if you need to. The pool is deep and beautiful for swimming. Half an hour by taxi to or from the airport. This is an especially good choice in high summer, as very few Palermo properties have onsite swimming, and, as just about all the sights close around lunchtime and do not reopen till around 4 or 5pm, you can escape from the heat, pleasurably, amongst all the beauty and facilities I've described until you want to go out again.

Room Tip: Request one of the rooms with a terrace - you can see them on the website pics of the hotel - they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,
The only word that we can tell You is " THANKS" a lot, Your description rewards us and gives us the will to improve more and more. We hope to welcome You back again as soon as possible.

Best Regarsd
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel is 5 minutes from downtown Palermo. He is in a beautiful park, have great views, amazing service! We had a very pleasant stay, everything was perfect. All the hotel staff is candy and helpful. The restaurant is very good, and have a nice view to the ocean. The room service was perfect. The breakfast was very complete. We really recommend this hotel! Thanks for the great days in your hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. Nothing gives us more pleasure than seeing that our guests are satisfied of their stay at our hotel . It is our aim to ensure that all our guests are well looked after and to read a review such as yours conferms that we are successful in achieving that aim.
We hope to welcome you back again at our hotel.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife, our two children aged 10&7 spent the first two nights of a two week tour of the Island here. Like PAlermo itself the Hotel is a little tired looking. However the HOtel like the city has a great deal of charm as a result. We stayed in a suite overlooking the water which was large with a even larger terrace. Dinner and breakfast were sensational. Old school service. It was so refreshing to be thanked for tipping regardless of the fact it was much deserved. One tip we were given is to order a car from the Airport and pick up your hire car when you leave Palermo as street signs and general driving in and around the city are a new experience to say the least.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMIEPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were booked into the standard room which was ok but tired looking. Taxi fare to and from the center is very expensive - EUR20. The best part was having a drink at the terrace with a view overlooking the Bay and the marina. Breakfast was good but dinner was the worst meal we had. I ordered Prosciutto to start and it was salty and difficult to chew because it was cut too thick.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a hotel to relax, this is a reasonable choice because it is quite but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_explorer_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,
thank You very much for Your comment regarding Your last stay at Villa Igiea, Your opinion is important for us because it gives us the posibility to grow and improve our services, in Your case the food at dinner, for whom we apologize for no being at Your expectation.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome You back and show You our improvement, in the mean while we remain at Your complete disposal for any further information or request You may need.

Best Regards
Keswan Monien
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price range (per night): $274 - $531
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing