We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 108
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 127
USD 123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Alma Hotel(Palermo)
USD 104
USD 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 216
USD 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 129
USD 106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 121
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 101
USD 98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 262
USD 179
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 430
USD 362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 343
USD 333
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
27
56
27
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
56
27
9
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Theres not easy access. Front door is always locked you must press a buzzer each time you want to get in.
theres an histerical woman . Who shouts at clients. Bother you with towels. We went there to relax .sleep
We was bothered by cleaner knocking a lot.
the area is well noisy by ballaro market...you wont get rest.
theres cocaraches and ants.
water come out of a plastic bottle that holds tube of air condicioning into your room floor..!!!.
Breakfast is basic.
they police you .make sure you all have proof id...or they wont let you stay .police stays in that b&b.
overall...i will never come back there ..at all !!!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank monika l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

My wife and I spent 7 nights in this simple, but charming hotel in the centre of Old Palermo.The owner signor Cortese is very helpful. Ask for a quiet room in the 4th floor. One discovers easily by foot the main topics of Palermo from this well situated hotel. The excellent restaurant Carlo V is nearby (avoid the "trattorias" in the Ballaro market, they have tourist prices).

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Marino_MFribourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We are travelling by bicycle and the very important thing for us a safe place for our bicycles. Hotel Cortese, has offered us a space in garage. Bikes are safe so let's see the rest. We have a room on the 4th floor. We have a tiny balcony and a large terasse. The room and the shared bathroom is clean. Super fast WIFI is great and the breakfast is really good (compered to the italian standard breakfast).
I would recommend Hotel Cortese to all the cyclists because all the assets you need is here: garage, internet and food.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pinar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Location:
In the old centre of Palermo. In daytime - close to market when you can see real Sicily, eat fresh fish, buy vegetables, traditional sausage and great wine for supper. On nighttime - place turns into some kind of African market. Can be very loud, and you can feel unsafe.

Room:
VERY CLEAN. Kinda dark. Tiny shower. But there is terrace on the roof where you can have your own supper.

Staff:
Helpful and friendly.

In general:
Good ratio of price to value.
When living there you can have a taste of real Palermo.
I think it's better to arrive there during daytime. The hotel is hidden among small narrow streets. Neighborhood looks pretty dangerous at night. Looking for your hotel then - not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krzysiek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Definitely, one of the most unpleasant hotels I have stayed in. I had a narrow, cramped room with single bed for the same price as one I had elsewhere in Palermo which was four times bigger. It's tucked away down some side streets from Via Maqueda which are not very pleasant and with cars and motorbikes streaking past, can be dangerous.
The hotel had a horrible pervasive smell of two-stoke diesel fuel which was unremitting. The noise at night was simply unbearable. Walk round the corner and you find students revelling into the wee, small hours. Extremely annoying!
The breakfast was described on their website as "And to ensure you start the day on a full stomach we serve a full continental breakfast including tea, coffe [sic], cappucino [sic], pastries, cereal, fruit juice and yoghurt in our breakfast room." Nothing doing! All you get is a flimsy croissant and poor coffee! Dishonest!
Unless I missed a trick, you had to buzz to be let in (a bit like a borstal) and you had better make sure you returned before midnight or you might not be let in at all (or face turning into a pumpkin!).
The WiFi was good but you had to sign in after not using it for a while.
On the plus side, it was close to the historic area and not far from the railway station but then you're never far away wherever you stay in Palermo.

Room Tip: The best tip would be to stay away!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azeemelixeroflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews