We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2016

The hotel is situated in an ancient building, a bank dating back to about 1860.
Some areas have been preserved, it is worth visiting the vaults on the ground floor adjacent to the bar area, the original bank's safe deposit boxes and doors are still there.
Rooms are comfortable although beds would need to be revamped, and corridors are extremely large, unusual for a modern hotel but clearly showing the origin of the building.
Breakfast however is a problem: not only the quality of food is rather poor, very strange for a city where you can easily find a lot of fresh food, but also waiters don't wait: they prefer to chat among them, I had to move from my table, walk through the adjacent room and ask a waiter to bring a coffee, which he eventually did with a certain delay.
Hotel staff in general gives the impression of a lack of professional experience although they seem to try to accommodate guests.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are to be preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank giorgiod486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2015

This hotel has old school elegance. Big atrium in the center, good restaurant, and located close to the main sights. Staff are friendly and helpful (and patient dealing with people who are lost). But there are problems. Good luck if you are driving. The hotel is located in a small back alley my Garmin GPS could not find even though I updated its maps before our trip. We could not have found the hotel without a working phone. Eventually the hotel had to give me an address of a restaurant nearby then send someone from the hotel to guide us from there. The joys of driving in Palermo capped this adventure. Palermo surely ranks among the worst traffic cities in the world. The room was nice but the air conditioner did not work. It was a cold time of year so we opened the window but soon were plagued by mosquitos.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank George1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

We spent a week in Sicily using Palermo as our base and traveling with our guide, Sergio Morabito, throughout western Sicily. This hotel proved perfect for our needs. The hotel room was quite large with a couch, chairs, a desk, a refrigerator, and a large well appointed bathroom. It was quite far from the lobby and we did get lost once as the hotel can be confusing being in buildings that have been combined to form the hotel. However it was very quiet and had a small balcony overlooking a small street. Our only complaint was that the free Wi-Fi didn't work except close to the hallway.
A very nice self-serve breakfast was included in what we considered a very reasonable price of our room. A hint - when the waiters come around to take your coffee order, ask for a glass of orange juice. It was fresh squeezed and delicious. We also ate dinner in the hotel a couple of times and really enjoyed it. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a good location, we can recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Stayed: October 2015
3  Thank Truckee_Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Enjoyed the hotel very much....a bit dated but still very nice and comfortable. Cozy bar area and good breakfast in the morning. Very well located near restaurants and shops and sites. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

This hotel was a wonderful surprise! After hearing a lot of negative issues with the city of Palermo, we found the opposite to be true. Friendly people, beautiful sights and easy to transverse. But the Hotel Borsa was luxury beyond luxury. From the fantastic rooms that could have doubled for NYC apartment, to the excellent staff and hotel amenities. Really awesome breakfast buffets helped start the days of tourism off right. Convenient location to some of the finest european shops was a plus for me personally as I have some back issues and needed to skip one of the trips to hilly towns. But I was only a few blocks from some handmade shoe shops and fine tailors, so I was good. And, finally after several outstanding meals close by, we'd come back to the lounge bar for nightcaps in a nice quiet atmosphere. The Borsa is definitely worth of a five star rating.

Room Tip: Definitely the Camere De Luxe facing the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Ang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
507 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Porta Felice
#3 of 98 in Palermo
871 reviews
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Address: Via Dei Cartari 18, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palermo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $119 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing