We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
52
41
25
30
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
41
25
30
30
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We arrived at 12am and the receptionist on duty could not speak one word of english, did not know how to let us in the hotel parking, and could not care less about us. Moreover, the AC in the room did not work in a 37c/104f heat for the two whole days we stayed. There were no other rooms available to us, and other guests had a similar experience.
Never again - stay away!

Room tip: this hotel sucks, total waste of money
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Between the 20th & 27th June 2017 my wife and I were at this hotel in downtown Catania, Sicily. We were met by a most beautiful young girl who, though, hardly cared about the shortfalls of the azienda. Then came 2 men who seemed to spend much more time looking at this young lass then they spent trying to look after customers' needs. In Fact we had a very small tv which was not functioning and none of these 3 helped to improve the situation.
On the next day we met Simona and later on Massimiliano who both went out of their way to ensure that our stay was made worthwhile.
Pros:
- We were put in Room no. 4 which was very spacious and comfortable,
airconditioned & catering for 3 persons
- with a balcony on the popular Via Etnea & side view of Mount Etna
- Location: excellent. In the midst of Fashion shops & Restaurants(while other eating
places were a stone throw away).
- The bus-stop, from/to Fontanarossa Airport was just across the road.
- The hotel is situated only 5 minute-walk from the markets, where one could find
lots & lots of worthwhile bargains
- Breakfast was very good and included a variety of food which helped us start the
day on a bounce.
- As I commented above both Simona & Massimiliano helped make our stay much
easier.
Cons:
- No toileteries
- The 'welcoming' was not up to standard. Unusually, the reception was placed on the
third floor
- TV was not working and was very small for comfort
- The shower drain was still flooding(notwithstanding the various complaints indicated
by clients in previous reviews)
- Of the 3 electrical sockets, only one was functioning and this was being used for the
fridge. In fact we were compelled to switch off the fridge to charge our mobiles etc.
- Moreover these plugs/sockets were placed in a position far too low for comfort of
use.
- The rooms would do with a lick of paint
- In a room which which should have catered for 3 persons, we found only 1 chair
and no drawers at all.

Having said all this, though, the PRO's well outweigh the CON's and so we would not hesitate to return to this hotel in the future.

Room tip: Request a room with a balcony on Via Etnea
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TMizzi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The Domus Hotel, is in a very central area on Via Etnea and close to Villa Bellini and its Gardens. It is close to all amenities, restaurants, boutiques, shops and also the Sicily Culture. Castello Urisino is also within walking distance.

In the last three years, we visited Catania 4 times and three of our stays were at the Domus Hotel.

The staff are very professional, smart and on the alert for any need. The hotel rooms are very clean and the breakfast is also very good, excellent.

I would like to take the opportunity to thank Mr Omar and Ms Alessia for their prompt services at all times.

Mary and Paul Schembri Malta

Room tip: Rooms on the south are quieter Nice Views of Sicilian Roof tops
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 473Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We have been there in January. Very friendly staff. Very clean and a good breakfast. OMAR was amazing. he helped us in anything we needed. Very friendly and VERY VERY helpful !!

GRAZIE di tutto OMAR !! :)

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris19862014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The room was alright, the quality-price ratio was somewhat fair, but I couldn't sleep at all due to a terrible sound that was coming from the balcony I guess. My friend and I tried to locate the source of the noise, but we couldn't find it. It sounded as if a nuclear reactor was going on and off all night. Also, the members of the staff barely spoke any english, so we couldn't ask them about it. We just had to put up with it. If it weren't for that unbearable noise, my review would have been positive. I should mention that I stayed in room 16 and maybe the other rooms didn't have that problem....

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bianca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews