We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Domus Hotel - Catania (Sicily)”
Review of Domus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domus Hotel
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Service -0, not helpful at all. Friend visited, told them i was out and wrong room number. Wifi was switched off most of the item. Had mosquitoes, was badly bitten, but they just shrugged their shoulders and were not willing to help. gave an Italian Cockroach spray. 43 Oct 2017

Room Tip: do not stay at this hotel if you do not speak Italian
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robyn31r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

We arrived at 12am and the receptionist on duty could not speak one word of english, did not know how to let us in the hotel parking, and could not care less about us. Moreover, the AC in the room did not work in a 37c/104f heat for the two whole days we stayed. There were no other rooms available to us, and other guests had a similar experience.
Never again - stay away!

Room Tip: this hotel sucks, total waste of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Between the 20th & 27th June 2017 my wife and I were at this hotel in downtown Catania, Sicily. We were met by a most beautiful young girl who, though, hardly cared about the shortfalls of the azienda. Then came 2 men who seemed to spend much more time looking at this young lass then they spent trying to look after customers' needs. In Fact we had a very small tv which was not functioning and none of these 3 helped to improve the situation.
On the next day we met Simona and later on Massimiliano who both went out of their way to ensure that our stay was made worthwhile.
Pros:
- We were put in Room no. 4 which was very spacious and comfortable,
airconditioned & catering for 3 persons
- with a balcony on the popular Via Etnea & side view of Mount Etna
- Location: excellent. In the midst of Fashion shops & Restaurants(while other eating
places were a stone throw away).
- The bus-stop, from/to Fontanarossa Airport was just across the road.
- The hotel is situated only 5 minute-walk from the markets, where one could find
lots & lots of worthwhile bargains
- Breakfast was very good and included a variety of food which helped us start the
day on a bounce.
- As I commented above both Simona & Massimiliano helped make our stay much
easier.
Cons:
- No toileteries
- The 'welcoming' was not up to standard. Unusually, the reception was placed on the
third floor
- TV was not working and was very small for comfort
- The shower drain was still flooding(notwithstanding the various complaints indicated
by clients in previous reviews)
- Of the 3 electrical sockets, only one was functioning and this was being used for the
fridge. In fact we were compelled to switch off the fridge to charge our mobiles etc.
- Moreover these plugs/sockets were placed in a position far too low for comfort of
use.
- The rooms would do with a lick of paint
- In a room which which should have catered for 3 persons, we found only 1 chair
and no drawers at all.

Having said all this, though, the PRO's well outweigh the CON's and so we would not hesitate to return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony on Via Etnea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TMizzi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The Domus Hotel, is in a very central area on Via Etnea and close to Villa Bellini and its Gardens. It is close to all amenities, restaurants, boutiques, shops and also the Sicily Culture. Castello Urisino is also within walking distance.

In the last three years, we visited Catania 4 times and three of our stays were at the Domus Hotel.

The staff are very professional, smart and on the alert for any need. The hotel rooms are very clean and the breakfast is also very good, excellent.

I would like to take the opportunity to thank Mr Omar and Ms Alessia for their prompt services at all times.

Mary and Paul Schembri Malta

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are quieter Nice Views of Sicilian Roof tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 473Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We have been there in January. Very friendly staff. Very clean and a good breakfast. OMAR was amazing. he helped us in anything we needed. Very friendly and VERY VERY helpful !!

GRAZIE di tutto OMAR !! :)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris19862014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Hotel Catania Town
#25 of 49 in Catania
176 reviews
Stesicorea Palace
#29 of 49 in Catania
157 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Rubens
Hotel Rubens
#43 of 49 in Catania
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#7 of 49 in Catania
604 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Agathae
Hotel Agathae
#24 of 49 in Catania
113 reviews
Centro Catania
San Demetrio Hotel
San Demetrio Hotel
#41 of 49 in Catania
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Hotel

Address: Via Etnea 270, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Price Range: $64 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domus Hotel is a new and welcoming hotel, located in the heart of Catania, on the high main street Via Etnea. Thanks to its location, the Domus Hotel has a beautiful view of the sumptuous Baroque architecture, of the imposing and ancient Palazzo delle Poste, of the magnificent Public Garden Villa Bellini. Domus Hotel provides 18 comfortable rooms, furnished with care and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Domus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing