We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
309
52
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
52
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge swimming pool close to the airport catania airport industrial area convenient breakfast shared kitchen short drive separate building following morning coffee machine cakes stayed one night mount etna property accommodation outbuildings annex
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Having thought we'd booked into your typical airport B&B we were very happy to find that the Castello d'Urso Somma was a small Italian manor, in large grounds, near the sea, with no airport noise (despite being only a couple of minutes from the terminal).

Our room was in a purpose-built annex. It was large, with a very comfortable bed. We had a shared kitchen with a 24 hour buffet. The kitchen was well equipped with a coffee machine, kettle, toaster and juicer (fresh oranges available for juicing too). The slight downside of a 24 hour buffet is that the cakes and pastries are in plastic packets (and no cheese or meats), but it was perfectly adequate when you want a quick, convenient breakfast before catching a plane.

There is a large swimming pool (being filled during our stay), and beautiful grounds which our lovely hostess invited us to enjoy.

Great place to stay if you are travelling to or from Catania.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smallh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We wanted a relaxing and no stress last day stop before heading home the following day. We didn’t want to have to travel through Catania on the last morning – too stressful! We thought we would arrive around lunchtime at the B&B and then head out for the day.

When we arrived we were astonished by the property and grounds. They were fabulous. We loved it so much so we decided to buy a couple of beers (at the B&B) and just relax in the gardens for the rest of the day. If we had arrived 2 weeks later we would have enjoyed the pool – which is huge! Full 25 metre pool!

Given the proximity of the B&B to the airport we wondered if it would be noisy. We stayed at the property from mid-day through the following morning (9.00am) and didn’t hear a single plane. Very peaceful.

Facilities are superb. They have everything you need and nothing is too much trouble.

An excellent base to discover the area or just sit around and enjoy the view of the ‘castle’ or mount Etna.

Really excellent stay and far exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Excellent facilities and comfy bed. Whilst they provide free oranges to make your own fresh juice I would buy more and sit out in the sun and enjoy :-)
Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kieran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We arrived from our late flight at Catania to the B&B, to be greeted with kindness and an offer to order and pick up pizza for our hungry family. The accommodation was clean and the breakfast also very good. We were there in March so we did not use the lovely pool but I think it must be fantastic in hot weather! I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: The standard rooms were absolutely fine, large and comfortable.
Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike01938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Guest,

We are grateful to you for taking the time to share your experience at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B!
We are pleased you had a good time, although short.
We hope we can welcome you all again soon, maybe in summer, so that you can head to the pool and enjoy the sunny Sicilian weather!

We'll do our best to improve our services meantime, and deserve a 5 score next time!

Thank you for being with us!

Best Wishes


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

As other reveiwers have stated the approach to this fantastic B & B is not the best. However, once you drive off the road & into the grounds it is astounding what you find.
The welcome that we had from Santuzza was amazing & she is so helpful & approachable. The room we had overlooked the massive pool & the gardens are large & very well maintained. The room itself was beautiful & extremely clean with a self serve breakfast area shared by 2 rooms.
We had a lovely relaxing afternoon by the pool following a long lunch @ a family run trattoria recommended by Santuzza. On the way you pass by all the many lidos in this area with Mount Etna gently smouldering in the background.
Although, you can see & hear the planes coming & going, when sat by the pool, the noise is not enough to distract you. The amazing thing is that although when you turn off the main road you are virtually next to the runway, we had a fantastic nights sleep. Aircraft noise is not a problem at all.
Following breakfast we followed Santuzza's simple directions for the airport, 2 rights & the only left by the red aeroplane, & about 5-8 minutes later we were stood in the car rental returns office. The easiest & most stress free journey to an Italian airport ever in our vast experience.
Thanks very much Santuzza for all your excellent advice & you should be very proud of the facilities that you provide @ your wonderful B & B. We would definitely stay here again but for longer next time. A fantastic end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bergkamp616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dearest Guest,

I was so pleased to read your excellent review on your stay here at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B!

It fills me with great joy to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much, that you would choose to stay with us for your next visit to Catania.

We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The area certainly doesn't prepare you for such a beautiful gem rising out of the rough,absolutely tip top service, attention, and accomadation with a fabulous swimming pool, tennis court, easy parking thrown in........hotel airports will never be the same again!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lso270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at Castello D'Urso Somma!

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had a wonderful experience with us.
We take great pride in our personalized service here and I’m thrilled to read your comments.

Again, thank you for your fantastic review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our B&B in the very near future.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews